DORE_BEAUTY_MINUTE_DANA_OLIVER-1

A Beauty Minute with Dana Oliver

2 months ago by

Le matin :
L’année dernière, je suis devenue mère et le temps que j’avais à consacrer à ma routine beauté matinale a drastiquement changé. Mon fils est tout petit donc il fallait que j’adopte une routine ultra efficace (il peut débarquer à n’importe quel moment dans la salle de bain) ou trouver une manière de l’intégrer à ma pratique pour prendre soin de moi.

En général, je me réveille à 5h du matin (ou au moment où mon mini réveil humain roule dans le lit, se lève et me prévient en frappant joyeusement des mains). Je l’habille et ensuite nous passons à l’étage pour que je puisse me préparer. J’enlève mon bonnet en satin, je pschitte mon afro ratatinée avec le spray sans rincage The Mane Choice Hair Type 4 Leaf Clover, j’utilise mes doigts pour me démêler les cheveux et remettre mes boucles en place. Ou, si j’ai la flemme, je vais me couvrir les cheveux avec un turban chic de The Wrap Life ou Fanm Djanm. Ensuite, je me lave les mains et je me nettoie le visage avec l’eau micellaire Earth Therapeutics. Ce produit doux mais efficace me rafraîchit parfaitement la peau.

Ensuite, en guise de tonique, j’utilise la Lotion P50 PIGM 400 Biologique Recherche. Les lotions P50 de la marque sont mon arme secrète pour avoir un teint unifié. Je ne dors pas autant que je le souhaiterais en ce moment donc j’utilise des crèmes pour les yeux pour avoir l’air reposée. La crème pour les yeux Banana Bright Eye Ole Henriksen est ma préférée en ce moment. Et elle est aussi parfaite en tant que primer pour me maquiller sous les yeux.

Je me brosse les dents, je pschitte l’essence en brume hydratante Olay sur mon visage puis j’applique le sérum hyaluronique pour peaux sombres Dr. Barbara Sturm et le système de sérum Vita Botanical Mela-Fade Environ (pour traiter les quelques taches sombres sur mon menton). A ce moment-là, j’essaie d’empêcher mon fils de soulever la lunette des toilettes ou bien de jouer avec la poubelle. Je l’attrape dans mes bras et nous allons jusqu’au miroir de l’entrée pour réciter nos affirmations quotidiennes (“Tu en vaux la peine. Tu es brillant. Tu es beau. Tu es génial. Tu es chanceux.”) sur le chemin pour attraper le sérum de jour C-Firma Vitamin C Drunk Elephant dans le frigo. Je l’étale avant la dernière étape, qui est sans doute la plus importante, la crème solaire. J’adore la crème solaire SPF 50 Youth-Extending Daily Hydrating Paula’s Choice et la crème solaire Black Girl est indispensable.

Le jour :
– Pour mes sourcils, Benefit Precisely, My Brow Pencil Ultra-Fine Shape & Define Pencil
– Le rouge à lèvre Pat McGrath Labs MatteTrance Extravaganza
– Le baume solaire Kiss My Face Sport SPF 30
– La crème pour les mains Love Beauty & Planet Coconut Water and Mimosa Flower
– Le fond de teint Bobbi Brown Skin Long-Wear Weightless Foundation SPF 15 ou le fond de teint en poudre BareMinerals Bare Pro Performance Wear Powder Foundation (quand je veux quelque chose d’un peu plus couvrant)

Le soir :
Une fois que j’ai mis mon fils au lit (il ne fait pas encore ses nuits… aidez-moi !), je peux vraiment me concentrer sur ma routine beauté. Je me douche en général le soir, avec l’exfoliant pour le corps Luv Scrub Mesh et un gel douche hydratant. Dès que je sors de la douche, je m’hydrate avec la lotion pour le corps Purple Rice Water Velvet Skin SheaMoisture ou de l’huile de jojoba. Quand je porte du maquillage, je fais attention à me laver deux fois le visage avec l’huile nettoyante hydratante Julep Love Your Bare Face. Je me sèche doucement le visage avec une serviette blanche puis j’utilise la lotion Biologique Recherche P50 PIGM 400 (elle est géniale pour s’assurer que j’ai bien enlevé tout le maquillage et que j’ai nettoyé ma peau en profondeur).

Je continue avec le système de sérum Vita Botanical Mela-Fade Environ (mon esthéticienne, du Rescue Spa à Philadelphia, m’a conseillé d’utiliser ce traitement en deux étapes le matin et le soir). Puis la crème Contour des Yeux VIP O2 Biologique Recherche. Et pour finir, je m’hydrate le visage et le cou avec la crème pour le visage pour peaux sombres Dr. Barbara Sturm ou le masque de nuit à la pastèque Glow Recipe.

Et avant de me coucher, je fais toujours attention de protéger mes boucles naturelles avec un bonnet en satin ou un foulard.

Qu’est-ce que tu fais chaque mois, au nom de la beauté ?

Je fais de mon mieux pour aller me faire faire une pédicure et une manucure au moins une fois par an – courir après un petit enfant n’est pas vraiment bon pour les pieds. J’apporte même mes propres vernis pour pouvoir faire des retouches sur mes ongles.
J’ai vraiment eu du mal avec les chutes de cheveux après l’accouchement mais je fais confiance à la jeune maman Rimmy Sparkles pour s’occuper de mes cheveux. Je me suis récemment fait faire des tresses par Tori McCutcheon et elle m’a beaucoup appris sur la meilleure façon d’utiliser la mousse et pourquoi je ne peux pas me passer de traitements hebdomadaires en profondeur.

Comment définis-tu la beauté et qu’est-ce qui inspire ta relation à la beauté ?

Pour moi, la beauté, c’est ce qui me permet de me sentir et d’avoir l’air aussi bien que possible. Que ce soit une crème solaire qui ne semble pas blanchâtre sur ma peau sombre, un cours de méditation en pleine conscience qui m’aide à surmonter les journées chaotiques ou un rire partagé avec mon fils, voilà ce qui me permet de me sentir belle.

Les femmes noires qui m’ont élevée, tout comme mes soeurs et amies, ont eu un impact profond sur ma relation à la beauté. Des manières simples de nous occuper de nos cheveux, de notre peau et de nos corps, des mots encourageants pour nous encourager et nous inspirer mutuellement (Yasss, Queen!). La beauté noire est incomparable.

______

Dana Oliver est la directrice beauté du contenu marque à Yahoo Lifestyle et c’est l’esprit créatif qui s’occupe du blog beauté, bien-être et self-care Beauty for Breakfast, dans lequel elle parle de beauté, a une approche principalement végan et inspecte les ingrédients un peu plus attentivement.

Shop the story

4 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • Holiday Gifting
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
dore the outnet sophie auster

A Creative Life: Sophie & Spencer

Julie Houts Atelier Dore

The Crown Julie

Sag Harbor Summer

Sag Harbor Summer

A Brand and a Soul: Phillip Lim

A Brand and a Soul: Phillip Lim

Pardon my french pat cleveland garance dore photo

Embracing Your Freedom: Pat Cleveland

Mating in Captivity: Esther Perel

Mating in Captivity: Esther Perel

Friendship, Support and Self-Deprecation: Rose & Laura

Friendship, Support and Self-Deprecation: Rose & Laura

Episode 5: Art of Entertaining: Gad Elmaleh and Alireza Niroomand

Episode 5: Art of Entertaining: Gad Elmaleh and Alireza Niroomand

Pardon My French Garance Dore Isabel Marant Caroline de Maigret photo

Episode 4: La Parisienne with Isabel Marant & Caroline de Maigret

DORE_BEAUTY_MINUTE_DANA_OLIVER-1

A Beauty Minute with Dana Oliver

2 months ago by

Morning:
One year ago, I became a mother, and the time I have to spend on my morning beauty routine has drastically changed. My son is now a toddler, so I have to either be super efficient about my regimen (he’ll run into the bathroom at any moment) or find ways to incorporate him into my self-care practice.

I usually wake up around 5am (or whenever my mini human alarm clock rolls over in the bed, sits up and alerts me with his happy clap). I get him dressed for the day and then we make our way upstairs so I can get ready for the day. I remove my satin bonnet, spritz my shrunken Afro with The Mane Choice Hair Type 4 Leaf Clover Leave-In Spray and use my fingertips to detangle and fluff my curls into shape. But if I’m feeling lazy, I’ll cover my locks with a chic turban from The Wrap Life or Fanm Djanm. Then, I wash my hands and cleanse my face and neck with Earth Therapeutics Micellar Cleansing Water. I like how gentle, yet effective this product is at refreshing my skin.

Next, I tone with Biologique Recherche Lotion P50 PIGM 400. The brand’s P50 lotions are my secret weapon to achieving an even complexion. I don’t get as much sleep as I’d like to these days, so I fake that well-rested look with eye creams. My current favorite is Ole Henriksen Banana Bright Eye Crème. It also makes for a great makeup primer for the under-eye area.

I’ll brush my teeth and then spritz my face with Olay Mist Ultimate Hydration Essence before I apply Dr. Barbara Sturm Darker Skin Tones Hyaluronic Serum and the Environ Vita Botanical Mela-Fade Serum System (to tackle a few pesky dark spots along my jawline). Around this time, I’m trying to keep my son from lifting the toilet seat or messing with the bathroom garbage can. So I’ll pick him up, stop by the hallway mirror to recite our daily affirmations (“You are worthy. You are brilliant. You are beautiful. You are awesome. You are blessed.”) and grab Drunk Elephant C-Firma Vitamin C Day Serum out of the refrigerator. I smooth that on before my last skincare step, and frankly the most important, applying sunscreen. I’m loving Paula’s Choice Youth-Extending Daily Hydrating Fluid SPF 50 and Black Girl Sunscreen is a staple.

Day:
– Benefit Precisely, My Brow Pencil Ultra-Fine Shape & Define Pencil
– Pat McGrath Labs MatteTrance Extravaganza Lipstick
– Kiss My Face Sport Balm SPF 30
– Love Beauty & Planet Coconut Water and Mimosa Flower Hand Lotion
– Bobbi Brown Skin Long-Wear Weightless Foundation SPF 15 or BareMinerals Bare Pro Performance Wear Powder Foundation (for those days I desire a bit more coverage)

Evening:
Once I put my son down to bed (he still doesn’t sleep through the night… help me!), I can really focus on my beauty routine. I typically shower in the evenings and reach for the Luv Scrub Mesh Body Exfoliator and a hydrating body wash. As soon as I hop out of the shower, I moisturize with SheaMoisture Purple Rice Water Velvet Skin Body Lotion or jojoba oil. Next, I wash my face with Bolden Skin Clarifying Cleanser or Dr. Barbara Sturm Darker Skin Tones Foam Cleanser. Whenever I wear makeup, I make sure to double-cleanse with Julep Love Your Bare Face Hydrating Cleansing Oil. I lightly pat my face dry with a white towel, then I tone with Biologique Recherché Lotion P50 PIGM 400 (great for making sure I remove all makeup and deep cleansing my skin).

I follow up with Environ Vita Botanical Mela-Fade Serum System (my aesthetician at Rescue Spa in Philadelphia recommended using this 2-step treatment in mornings and evenings). Then I apply Biologique Recherche Crème Contour Des Yeux VIP O2. To finish, I moisturize my face and neck with Dr. Barbara Sturm Darker Skin Tones Face Cream or Glow Recipe Watermelon Sleeping Mask.

Before I lie down, I always make sure to protect my natural curls with a satin bonnet or scarf.

What do you do monthly in the name of beauty?

I try my very best to get a salon manicure and pedicure at least once a month — running around after a toddler does quite a number on your feet. I even take my own nail polishes so that I can touch up my nails.

Postpartum hair loss has been a struggle, but I trust fellow new mama Rimmy Sparkles for professional wash and gos. I also recently had my tresses styled by Tori McCutcheon and she taught me a lot about how best to use mousse and why I can’t afford to skip out on weekly deep conditioning treatments.

How do you define beauty and what inspires your relationship to beauty?

My definition of beauty is what makes me feel and look like my best self. Whether that’s a sunscreen that doesn’t make my dark skin look ashy, a mindful meditation class that helps to ground me on a hectic day or a hearty laugh shared with my son, these are all things that make me feel beautiful.

The Black women who raised me, as well as my sister-friends, have had the most profound impact on my relationship to beauty. From the simple to ornate ways we adorn our hair, skin and bodies to the encouraging words we use to uplift and inspire each other (Yasss, Queen!), Black beauty is incomparable.

________

Dana Oliver is the beauty director of branded content at Yahoo Lifestyle and the creative behind beauty, wellness and self-care blog Beauty for Breakfast, where she writes about beauty from her perspective as a mostly plant-based new mom who inspects ingredient labels a little bit more carefully these days.

Shop the story

4 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Holiday Gifting
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

lessons in gifting steven alan presents expert series garance dore photos

Lessons In… Gifting