karlie kloss loréal cannes beauty garance dore photos

Karlie On Beauty

6 years ago by

J’ai rencontré Karlie à Cannes et je vous le dis tout de suite, c’est absolument impossible de ne pas tomber sous son charme.

En plein milieu d’un shooting avec d’autres égéries L’Oréal, elle était détendue, souriante, elle a pris son temps. Souvent, quand on rencontre des célébrités, on se rend aussi compte à quel point elles vivent dans leur bulle, ce qui n’est pas du tout le cas de Karlie. Elle est hyper en phase avec son époque. En plus, elle parle français (elle l’a appris sur les shootings) et va à NYU.

Une super rencontre, dont voici un extrait…

————-

Je suis ravie de te rencontrer et de prendre un peu de temps pour échanger avec toi sur la beauté ! Tu es un modèle pour beaucoup de femmes, ça m’a donné envie de partager ce que tu as à dire sur le blog.
 
C’est un honneur pour moi ! J’adore ce que tu fais. Tu es une pionnière mais en plus, je trouve que tu es la meilleure. J’adore l’esthétique du blog mais aussi sa richesse… je trouve que tu es vraiment très douée.
 
Merci ! Moi, je t’admire, je trouve que tu as parfaitement compris le rôle des réseaux sociaux ; tu n’en fais pas trop, et ce que tu fais, tu le fais bien. J’aimerais qu’on parle de ça aussi, mais d’abord, est-ce que tu peux me dire comment le secteur de la mode – dans lequel tu travailles – a forgé ton idée de la beauté ?
 
J’ai commencé à l’âge de 15 ans en défilant pour Calvin Klein à la New York Fashion Week, je crois que c’était en 2007. J’ai l’impression que c’était il y a une éternité et quand je revois les photos de cette époque, je me dis : « Oh là là, mais pourquoi est-ce qu’ils m’ont choisie comme mannequin ? Je ressemble à une enfant un peu mutante ! J’ai l’impression que c’était il y a super longtemps, et c’est vrai, mes débuts remontent à loin, mais j’ai aussi l’impression d’avoir énormément appris sur ce milieu. Pour l’ado qui avait grandi dans le Midwest, l’industrie de la mode ou de la beauté étaient des univers qui semblaient très lointains. J’ai grandi dans le Missouri, une enfance américaine typique. Je ne me maquillais jamais, je ne portais de grandes marques. Le monde dans lequel je vivais était très simple, très normal.
 
Tu lisais des magazines de mode ?
 
De temps en temps, je feuilletais les Vogue de ma mère, mais j’étais quand même assez refermée sur mon petit monde. Donc ces huit dernières années ont été fantastiques, elles m’ont permis d’ouvrir les yeux sur cette industrie et d’en connaître les rouages, j’en apprécie tous es aspects. Je travaille avec les meilleurs, et quand je suis entre les mains d’un make-up artist, je sens le poids des pinceaux sur mon visage, la technique qu’il utilise. Je vois quels produits il choisit, je sais ce qui marche et ce qui ne marche pas… J’ai découvert comment on se maquillait et en plus, à force d’être restée des heures entre les mains de maquilleurs et de coiffeurs, je sais exactement ce qui me va. Donc j’ai vraiment beaucoup de respect pour tout ça.
 
Est-ce qu’il t’arrive d’avoir des moments genre «Je crois que je vais pas y arriver, je me trouve moche, ou comment je vais gérer ce truc ? »
 
Bien sûr, ça m’arrivait quand j’avais 15 ans, et maintenant que je suis vieille, à 22 ans, aussi… [rires]  Ces 7 ou 8 dernières années ont été incroyables, de 15 à 22 ans. C’est une période ingrate, cet âge-là, qu’on soit sous les spotlights, sur un podium, scrutée au moindre faux pas, ou qu’on soit juste une lycéenne qui mène une vie « normale ». Je crois que j’ai grandi dans un environnement très équilibré. Donc au lycée, et depuis le premier jour de ma carrière de mannequin, j’ai été exposée à tout cet univers de défilés, de voyages, de travail, de rencontres exceptionnelles mais après, je rentrais chez moi et je retournais à l’école, sans maquillage, en jean et t-shirt. Donc j’ai appris à séparer très clairement ma vie professionnelle de mannequin.

En fait, c’est presque comme jouer un rôle, et je crois que j’ai toujours abordé ce boulot comme ça. Si quelqu’un fait un commentaire sur moi ou me critique sévèrement – ça arrive à tout le monde – je prends ça avec du recul.  Je ne prends pas ça comme un compliment ou une insulte pour moi, en tant qu’individu, et c’est quelque chose de que j’ai appris à développer avec les années. C’est un peu une carapace ! Je sais aussi qui je suis sous ces coiffures et ce maquillage fabuleux, et j’aime bien continuer à faire des trucs qui m’enrichissent, c’est pour ça que je garde cette envie d’apprendre… et bien sûr, rester en forme et faire du sport, c’est quelque chose qui me fait me sentir bien à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur. 

A l’intérieur et à l’extérieur. C’est intéressant, parce que j’ai l’impression qu’on souffre un peu d’une crise d’identité entre ce qu’on est vraiment et la façon dont on apparaît sur les réseaux sociaux, comme Instagram. Et en fin de compte, je crois qu’il faut juste savoir ce qu’on a envie de laisser filtrer… Mais ce n’est pas toujours évident.
 
Les réseaux sociaux, et surtout Instagram, c’est vraiment intéressant, parce qu’on contrôle complètement la façon dont on veut que le reste du monde nous voit. Toi, tu n’es pas uniquement dans l’ombre comme l’artiste derrière son blog, tu écris, tu dessines, tu crées des choses que les gens interprètent à leur manière, et tu es aussi la colonne vertébrale de ta boîte en plus d’être une figure publique. Moi, j’ai toujours fait attention : j’incarne cette image bien lisse, la photo glamour, mais aussi ce qu’il y a en-dessous. Et je fais en sorte d’utiliser les réseaux sociaux pour montrer ces deux facettes.
 
Est-ce qu’il y a des gens qui t’ont aidée à faire ton chemin ? Conseillée ?
 
Bien sûr ! Christy Turlington. Elle est fabuleuse. C’est vraiment une amie très chère, une personne que j’ai toujours admirée mais qui est devenue une très bonne amie. Elle m’aide beaucoup dans mes choix. Quand j’ai postulé à l’Université de NY, c’est elle qui m’a écrit ma lettre de recommandation.
 
C’est adorable ! Pour finir, de quelle manière ton rôle d’ambassadrice de beauté te donne-t-il du pouvoir, celui de t’exprimer différemment ?

Travailler avec L’Oréal, c’est un rêve, parce que leur équipe d’ambassadrices est vraiment dynamique et belle, de plein de façons différentes. Il y a des femmes de tous âges, de toutes origines ethniques, de milieux différents, qui incarnent toutes cette notion sous-jacente qu’elles « le valent bien ». Je crois que ça va bien au-delà de notre apparence. Toutes les femmes qui représentent L’Oréal ont tant de choses à apporter en tant qu’individus, beaucoup plus que leur plastique… elles sont intelligentes, bosseuses et passionnées par ce qu’elles font.

45 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

La Plage
  • La Plage
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
The Swimsuit

The Swimsuit

Clémentine. In Her Own Body.

Clémentine. In Her Own Body.

dore swim beach rockaway summer imani randolph

Monochrome Swim

Beach on the Brain

atelier dore market story hats summer swim

Summer Hats

The Surf Lodge

The Surf Lodge

Net A Porter Atelier Dore

A L.A. Holiday

Down to Earth Swim

Down to Earth Swim

The Sun

The Sun

karlie kloss loréal cannes beauty garance dore photos

Karlie On Beauty

5 years ago by

I met Karlie in Cannes, and let me tell you right now, it’s absolutely impossible to avoid falling under her spell.

Right in the middle of a photo shoot with other L’Oréal muses, she was relaxed, she was smiling, and she took her time. Often when you meet celebrities, you notice how much of a bubble they live in, but that’s not how Karlie is at all. She’s really tuned in to the world around her. Plus, she speaks French (she learned it on photo shoots) and she goes to NYU.

It was really great meeting her. Here’s a little glimpse of our time together…

————-

It’s so good to meet you, and I’m so glad I can talk to you a little bit about what beauty means to you!  You’re a real role model to so many women and girls, so I want to share what you have to say on the blog.

That’s a huge honor! I really love what you do – you were not only the first but you’re, in my opinion, the best. It’s so beautiful aesthetically but also so rich…I think you’re incredibly talented.

Thank you! I feel like you’re talented – you’re so perfectly in tune with the tides of social media; you don’t overdo it, you do it well. I want to talk about this too but, first, how did the industry you’re working in shape your idea of beauty?

I started really at age 15, walking Calvin Klein for New York Fashion Week – I think it was 2007. Not only does it feel like a lifetime ago but, when I look at pictures I think, “Oh my goodness, why did anyone think that I should be a model? I look like a child alien! And it feels like a lifetime – and it has been a lifetime since it all started – but I really have learned so much about this industry. I was never really conscious of the fashion industry or the beauty industry as a teenage girl in the Midwest. I grew up in Missouri, very American; I never wore makeup, I never wore high fashion labels. My world was very simple and normal.

Did you read fashion magazines? 

On occasion I would flip through my mom’s Vogue, but I really didn’t have much exposure to too much outside my little bubble of a world.  So it has been such an amazing, eye-opening experience over the last eight years to learn this industry inside out, and I really appreciate every component of it. I get to work with the best of the best and, when I’m sitting in a makeup artists’ chair, I can feel the weight of their brush, the technique they’re using. I can see exactly what products they’re using, and I see what works and what doesn’t work, so I’ve learned not only how people apply makeup but what looks best on me from years and years in the makeup and hair chair. So it’s definitely something I really respect.

Do you ever have moments when you’re like, “I don’t know if I can do it, or if I’m beautiful, or if I can deal with this”?

Of course, I did when I started at 15 and also now, at the old age of 22… [Laughs]  The last 7 or 8 years have been formidable, from 15 to 22.  There are a lot of growing pains that happen between 15 and 22, whether you’re in the spotlight, on a runway, criticized for every hair on your head, or if you’re a teenage girl in high school, living a more “normal” life. And I think the thing is that I had a really unique balance in my life growing up. So all through high school, since day one of my career, I was half exposed to this world and traveling and working; runway shows and being exposed to the tip top of the; but then, at the same time, I would go back at home and be back in school with no makeup on my face, wearing jeans and a t-shirt. So I think I very much separated in my mind the identity I would take on for work, and being a model.

You almost sort of play a role in a way, and I think I’ve always approached it in that way. If somebody critiques, if somebody says something really criticizing — which happens to everyone – I take it with a grain of salt.  I don’t really take it as a compliment or an insult to me, as an individual – I think that’s something I’ve just developed over the years. I guess you could call it thick skin!  But I also know who I am underneath all of the fabulous hair and makeup, and I like to do things to continue to enrich myself, which is why I’m also passionate about continuing to learn – and health and fitness because it’s something that makes me feel good from the inside out. 

The outside and the inside. It’s interesting because I feel like it’s almost an identity crisis between who we really are and who we are on social media, like Instagram.  I suppose, in the end, you just have to decide what filters through…. But it’s not always so easy.

Social media, Instagram specifically, is so interesting because you are in complete control of how you want the world to see you. You have a role where you’re not only behind the scenes, the artist behind your blog – you write, create art, create things that people interpret in their own ways; you’re also the figurehead for your business and a public figure. I think for me, I’ve always been clear to identify a polished exterior, the glamorous photo – but also the me underneath. And so I think I use social media to show both sides.

Do you have people who have guided you along the way?

Definitely! Christy Turlington. She is amazing. She is a dear, dear, dear friend of mine – somebody I’ve always looked up to from day one, but also have become close friends with.  She very much mentors me. When I applied to NYU, she actually wrote the college recommendation letter.

That’s so nice! And, finally, how do you feel like your role as a beauty spokesperson gives you power, or a voice, in a different way? 

I think working with L’Oréal was the absolute dream because the roster of spokeswomen they have is so dynamic and beautiful in so many ways. They have women of all ages, of all ethnicities, different backgrounds, all representing this underlying notion that “they’re worth it”. I think that has so much more meaning than just how all of the spokeswomen look.  All of the women that represent L’Oreal have so much to bring as individuals, so much more than just their beauty — they’re smart, they’re hard working, they’re all passionate about what they do.  

45 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

This or That
  • This or That
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
atelier dore this or that summer sandals chunky sandals vs. delicate sandals

This or That / Sandal Edition

This or That: American or Française?

This or That: American or Française?

atelier dore this or that lingerie lace or cotton sex month

This or That / Lingerie Edition

This or That / Blush vs. Bronzer

This or That / Blush vs. Bronzer

This or That: The Beanie

This or That: The Beanie

This or That: Nails

This or That: Nails

This or That

This or That

This Or That

This Or That

Silja Danielsen Photo

This Or That: Low Knot or Top Knot