20190730_JR_Dore_NatalieK_004_edit

Natalie Kuhn on Leaning into Discomfort

2 months ago by

Photos Julia Robbs

Natalie Kuhn a grandi à LA avant de passer 14 ans à New York pour étudier le théâtre et la danse, travailler off-Broadway et danser dans les tournées de musiciens comme David Byrne et Karen O. Devenue aujourd’hui vice-présidente de la programmation et professeure fondatrice à The Class by Taryn Toomey, elle enseigne au moins 4 fois par semaine tout en supervisant des centaines de cours par an, sur place et à l’international, avec des cours en studio ou des rassemblements de presque 1 500 personnes.

J’ai rencontré Natalie pour la première fois dans un cours à Santa Monica et je suis tout de suite tombée sous son charme. Sa voix rauque, hypnotisante de “fille cool” donnait le ton tandis que son charme Côte Ouest et son humour new-yorkais me motivaient (en riant) même si l’entraînement était extrêmement physique. En partant, elle a partagé avec nous l’oeuvre d’un de ses auteurs préférés, le poète David Whyte. J’étais émue aux larmes (tout le monde sait qu’on pleure beaucoup à The Class), pas seulement par ses mots mais aussi par la profondeur et la présence qu’elle dégageait à cet instant précis. Après cette expérience, j’ai voulu en savoir plus. Où avait-elle acquis cette sagesse ? Comment fait-elle pour rester toujours présente, à la fois pour elle-même et pour les autres ? Quel est son secret ?

_____________

D’où viens-tu et comment as-tu rejoint The Class ?

En ce moment, j’ai l’impression que personne ne vient vraiment de LA. Je suis une Los Angelino, j’y suis née et j’y ai grandi dans une famille travaillant dans les métiers du service. Ma mère était religieuse et s’est reconvertie plus tard en maîtresse d’école tandis que mon père est un médecin incroyablement brillant et généreux. Notre famille a un penchant naturel à la psychologie : mon père a d’abord fait des études de psychologie avant de choisir la médecine et ma mère s’est plongée pendant 25 ans dans le travail de Jung, ma soeur est une psychanalyste disciple de Jung et même si mon frère travaille dans la tech, il fait partie des gens les plus clairvoyants et intuitifs que je connaisse. J’ai étudié le théâtre à la fac, et plus précisément les différentes manière de découvrir et exprimer des émotions à travers le mouvement dans le monde entier. Après avoir passé des années dans les théâtres off-Broadway ou à danser pour des groupes de rock, j’ai rencontré par hasard en 2013 une femme appelée Taryn Toomey à Lululemon. Ma vie a changé à ce moment-là. Je suis devenue adepte de cette pratique qui est aujourd’hui connue comme The Class.

Comment peut-on être en quête d’authenticité et de vérité à une époque où tout est si visible et filtré ?

On dirait que tout le monde fait tout en ce moment – et le fait bien – et en plus, oui, ils se sont réveillés avec cette tête. Alors nous faisons pareil parce que, comme tous les êtres humains, nous voulons nous intégrer. Nous faisons “tout ce qu’il faut” – nous écoutons le podcast d’Oprah, nous buvons du matcha et nous méditons avec Headspace 5 minutes par jour. C’est comme ça qu’on soigne sa #spiritualité à notre époque moderne, n’est-ce-pas ?

Nous avons tendance à toujours faire ou dire les choses qui vont préserver l’image que nous voulons donner de nous-même au monde. Avec l’avènement d’Instagram, nous avons commencé à faire comme si nous avions à gérer nos propres campagnes de PR. Mais le moment où nous arrivons vraiment à mieux nous connaître, à savoir ce à quoi on tient ou à quoi on s’identifie vraiment, c’est lorsque le merveilleux matcha éclabousse toute notre chemise… ou encore pire.

Nous pensons peut-être consciemment que nous avons une certaine caractéristique. Mais c’est dans les moments de trouble que nous pouvons vraiment réussir à nous connaître. Quand la voiture ne démarre pas, quand on perd un contrat, quand nos proches tombent malades. “Je vais bien, je vais bien, je vais bien” jusqu’à ce que je ne me sente plus en sécurité, protégé et aimé. “Je vais bien, je fais de la méditation”, jusqu’à ce je perde le contrôle de la situation. Et là, on réagit.

Quel a été un des “pires” moments de ta vie ? Qu’est-ce qui t’a poussée à réagir ?

Le moment de ma vie le plus extrême – un de mes “pires” moments – c’est quand ma mère est morte. On ne s’y attendait absolument pas. Elle n’était pas à l’hôpital. Elle n’était pas malade. Elle n’était pas blessée. Elle s’apprêtait à faire une sieste et quelque chose s’est passé, dans son coeur ou dans son cerveau (nous ne saurons jamais), et elle est morte d’un coup, dans sa chambre.

Dans ces moments extrêmes, on n’a pas d’autre choix que de se faire face à soi-même. J’ai vu toutes les manières dont j’ai exprimé ou non ma souffrance. J’ai vu comment j’ai laissé d’autres personnes prendre soin de moi, comment j’ai pris soin d’autres personnes. Dans les semaines qui ont suivi, j’ai vu comment nous avons pris soin les uns des autres en famille et comment nous nous sommes éloignés. C’est sûr que renverser du matcha va révéler votre tendance à l’agacement et à la frustration, mais un événement qui change votre vie va révéler vos caractéristiques pures, brutes, indubitablement humaines, de celles qu’on ne peut pas cacher sous un filtre. Quand ce qui faisait partie de votre quotidien n’est plus disponible, c’est là qu’on en apprend beaucoup sur qui nous sommes et ce vers quoi nous nous tournons pour nous ressourcer. Pour apprendre à vivre tout en sachant que notre vie ne sera plus jamais la même.

Quelle leçon en as-tu tirée qui pourrait aider d’autres personnes ?

Nous avons tous des histoires différentes mais je pense que tout le monde peut se souvenir d’un moment de réaction inconsciente – que ce soit quand quelqu’un remet en cause votre opinion dans une réunion, vous fait une queue de poisson ou quand votre partenaire oublie de faire telle chose. La révélation ne tient pas à la réaction elle-même mais à ce que la réaction protège : l’idée que vous avez de vous-même. Quand l’idée qu’on se fait de nous-même est mise en danger, nous faisons ce qu’il faut pour la protéger. Donc, si vous renversez du matcha, ça vous donne l’air imparfaite, ce qui déclenche votre besoin d’être perçue comme stable, compétente, accomplie, ce qui rend l’image que vous avez de vous-même instable, ce qui déclenche une réaction.

Cette chose qui nous dérange, c’est nous, sous sa forme la plus pure. Elle ne nous montre pas la personne que nous pensons consciemment être, mais la personne que nous pensons inconsciemment être.

Et c’est le début du travail.

Sous mon masque de “personne spirituelle”, je suis quelqu’un qui a besoin d’être aimée de tous. J’ai besoin d’avoir encore plus de succès. J’ai besoin de souffrance parce que sa familiarité me rassure. Et si vous OSEZ remettre en cause cette idée que j’ai de moi, l’environnement rassurant que je me suis créé, alors vous allez connaître mon courroux.

C’est dans la réaction que nous pouvons découvrir ce à quoi nous tenons vraiment. Qu’est-ce qui se manifeste ? La part de nous qui tient désespérément à la perfection ? Celle qui rabaisse les autres pour se protéger ? Ou celle qui a honte au lieu de s’accepter ? Quelle part de nous était mise en danger. C’est la part de nous encore identifiée avec quelqu’un ou quelque chose au-delà de notre vraie nature.

Comment appliques-tu ces leçons à The Class ?

L’objectif de The Class, c’est de faire attention au moment où ça devient difficile. Nous utilisons la difficulté physique : burpees, jumping jacks, musculation. L’inconfort physique est identique à l’inconfort que nous ressentons au quotidien. Nous le répétons en permanence : on s’entraîne pour la vraie vie à The Class. Nous amenons les étudiants au moment où ils réagiraient et nous leur demandons d’être attentifs à ce moment précis. C’est là que nous avons une chance de pouvoir abandonner notre attachement inconscient à une fausse image de nous-même. L’attention déjoue l’identification.

Et cette partie de nous qui observe depuis un point de vue éloigné peut se détendre parce que nous avons créé une distance entre nous et le trouble plutôt que de nous laisser encercler par lui. Nous sommes en train de grandir. Et il faut le célébrer.

Et vous n’avez pas besoin de faire face à une crise de premier plan pour tirer profit de The Class. Toute cette pratique est centrée sur votre capacité à grandir, à vous développer – à tout moment, tout âge, dans toutes circonstances.

Que penses-tu du bien-être aujourd’hui ? D’après-toi, que signifie ce mot lourd de sens et cette industrie de milliards de dollars ?

Difficile à dire. On peut trouver plein de choses qui promettent le “bien-être”. Mais les coûteux sels pour le bain ne servent pas à grand chose si vous vous contentez de ressasser vos préoccupations dans le bain. En réalité, le bien-être est avant tout une question de présence. Donc si vous voulez en boire, en mettre dans votre bain ou sur votre corps, faites-le consciemment.

Quelle est ta méthode, ton raisonnement pour t’aider à rester positive ? Et est-ce que ça pourrait aider d’autres personnes à suivre ton exemple ?

Parfois, je regarde mon emploi du temps et je me sens tout de suite anxieuse. Pour m’aider à rester positive et saine d’esprit dans ces moments, je me souviens que je fais tout ce que je peux à ce moment précis – pas plus, pas moins. Je ne crois pas au multi-tasking, le cerveau ne marche pas comme ça. Donc je me redis que “cet instant est comme ça”, et pas autrement. C’est quand on voudrait qu’il soit différent qu’on commence à souffrir. C’est un début.

11 comments

Ajouter le votre
  • What a great interview. Thank you.
    ‘Reacting’ is when we are coming from the head and thinking, and ‘Responding’ is from the heart and feeling, and The Class seems to me to be helping one with the acceptance of ‘what is’ rather than resisting it. What a wonderful programme to have started up. I try to do this consciously as often as I identify the uncomfortable/painful situation and it takes practise! However, it really is worth getting this as otherwise we can end up carrying around SO much stuff that doesn’t serve us and then just going into the usual default action of reacting and resisting. It’s feeling the feelings as they come up and just observing them and sometimes its painful but it doesn’t last. Those situations we deal with in this way, came in with pain and they have to go with pain too but it’s so worth learning how to accept this and then not attaching to it and letting it go.

  • check JING’s New In clothes.

  • Anna Soko?owska 8 août 2019, 3:16 / Répondre

    What a great interview with a great person.

    This is why I come here :)

  • Jorge Alexandre Teixeira 8 août 2019, 3:17 / Répondre

    If you ever stop by Lisbon… just give me a holler !!!
    Just Kidding !!! GOD Bless you , Natalie !!!

  • Great information sharing and very useful tips i really inspire after reading this post.

  • Thank you for a great interview. Getting to know ourselves in this thoughtful and insightful way changes and gives us a better relationship with ourselves and the people in our lives. Thank you!

  • Love this so much. Thank you!

  • Crystal Tejera 8 août 2019, 2:02 / Répondre

    So inspired by the class and founders. It’s a wonderful, wonderful tool! Love this article! Truth!

  • Loved this article. Thank you!

  • Such a deeply resonant and beautiful interview, Thank you. Natalie, especially love your returning us to our true selves and questioning the root of the reactive ego self. More Please!!! ????

  • Ben Sherman 24 août 2019, 6:44 / Répondre

    What a great interview. Thank you. Good work!

From the Archives

DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
dore the outnet sophie auster

A Creative Life: Sophie & Spencer

Julie Houts Atelier Dore

The Crown Julie

Sag Harbor Summer

Sag Harbor Summer

A Brand and a Soul: Phillip Lim

A Brand and a Soul: Phillip Lim

Pardon my french pat cleveland garance dore photo

Embracing Your Freedom: Pat Cleveland

Mating in Captivity: Esther Perel

Mating in Captivity: Esther Perel

Friendship, Support and Self-Deprecation: Rose & Laura

Friendship, Support and Self-Deprecation: Rose & Laura

Episode 5: Art of Entertaining: Gad Elmaleh and Alireza Niroomand

Episode 5: Art of Entertaining: Gad Elmaleh and Alireza Niroomand

Pardon My French Garance Dore Isabel Marant Caroline de Maigret photo

Episode 4: La Parisienne with Isabel Marant & Caroline de Maigret

20190730_JR_Dore_NatalieK_004_edit

Natalie Kuhn on Leaning into Discomfort

2 weeks ago by

Photos Julia Robbs

Natalie Kuhn grew up in LA, spent the next 14 years in New York where she studied theatre and dance, followed by several years working off-Broadway and dancing on tours for musicians like David Byrne and Karen O. Now, as the VP of Programming and Founding Teacher at The Class by Taryn Toomey, she teaches at least 4 times a week while also overseeing hundreds of activations per year both locally and internationally, ranging from studio classes to mass gatherings for close to 1,500 people.

I first met Natalie through one of her Santa Monica class sessions and was immediately enthralled. Her hypnotic “cool-girl” throaty voice set the tone while her combined West Coast high vibes and New York humor kept me going (and laughing) my way through the extremely challenging physicality of the practice. In closing, she shared a work by one of her favorite authors, the poet David Whyte. I was moved to tears (it’s no secret that The Class is an ugly-cry kind of place), not only by the words, but by the depth and presence that I felt she exuded in that moment. The experience left me wanting to know more. Where did all that wisdom come from? How does she stay so “on” for both herself and for others? What’s her secret?

_____________

Where do you come from and how did you become part of The Class?

These days, it feels like no one is actually from LA. I am a Los Angelino, born and raised, by a family steeped in service. My mom was a nun and later a middle school teacher, and my father is the most brilliant and generous doctor. We’re a family that has a natural propensity for psychology: my dad studied it before choosing medicine, my mom was deep in Jungian work for 25 years, my sister is a Jungian analyst, and though my brother is in tech, he’s one of the most intuitive and insightful people I know. In college I studied theater – but more specifically, modalities from around the world that discover and express emotion through movement. After years of off-Broadway theater and dancing for rock bands, in 2013 I met, by happenstance, a woman named Taryn Toomey at Lululemon. From there, my life pivoted on a dime. I became dedicated to the practice that would eventually become known as The Class.

How can we strive for authenticity and truth in these times of such heightened visibility and filters?

These days, everyone seems to be doing it all – and doing it well – and p.s., they woke up like that. And so we play along too, because belonging is a human need. We do all the “right” things – we listen to Oprah’s podcast, drink matcha, meditate with Headspace for 5 minutes a day. These are the makings of the modern-day hashtag spiritual being, right?

Our tendency is always to do and say the things that will continue to proliferate the image we want of ourselves out into the world. In the advent of Instagram, we operate like our own personal PR campaign. But we really get to know ourselves, what we are attached to, what we truly identify with when the proverbial matcha spills right down our shirt…or much worse.

We may consciously believe ourselves to be one way. But who we really are reveals itself in the moments of disturbance. When the car won’t start, when the contract doesn’t go through, when our loved ones fall ill. “I’m fine, I’m fine, I’m fine,” until I don’t get that thing I need to feel safe, secure and loved. “I’m good, I’m great, I meditate,” until the circumstances breach my control. And then we react.

What is one of your “much worse” moments? What causes you to react?

The most extreme time in my life – my “much worse” – was when my mom passed away. It was completely unexpected. She wasn’t in the hospital. She wasn’t sick. She wasn’t hurt. She was about to take a nap and something either happened to her heart or her brain (we’ll never know), and she died instantly in her bedroom.

In those extreme moments, you have no choice but to meet yourself. I saw all the ways in which I did or did not want to express my grief. I saw how I allowed myself to be cared for and how I cared for others. In the weeks after, I saw how my family leaned on each other and how we grew distant. Sure, spilling matcha will show you your propensity for irritation and frustration. A major life altering event will show you the purity, the rawness, the unmistakably human side of you that no amount of “filtering” can mask. When what is familiar to you is no longer available, you learn a lot about who and what you turn to in order to resource yourself. Ultimately, I grew from the not knowing. Not knowing how life would go on. From learning to live my life knowing only that it would never be the same.

What can you share from this to help others?

We all have different stories, but I believe everyone can relate to a moment of reacting unconsciously – whether it’s someone challenging your opinion in a meeting, or being cut off in traffic, or your partner forgetting to do that thing. The revelation isn’t the reaction itself but what the reaction is protecting: our sense of self. When our sense of self is confronted, we’ll do what’s needed to safeguard it. So, you spill matcha, which makes you look imperfect, which triggers your need to be perceived as put together, competent, and successful, which causes your sense of self to feel unstable, which sets off a reaction.

The very thing that disturbs us is actually us in its raw form. It reveals not who we consciously believe ourselves to be, but who we unconsciously believe ourselves to be.

And there begins the work.

Under our modern day “spiritual being” persona, who we are might be someone who needs to be liked by everyone, or we need to achieve the next level of success, or we need suffering because the familiarity of it is comforting. And should anyone dare challenge that sense of self, that sense of security we have cultivated for ourselves, they will feel the wrath of our reaction.

It is in the reaction that we discover our deeper attachment. Who shows up? The part of us that must maintain perfection? Or who puts down another in order to protect oneself? Or who self-shames instead of self-soothes? What part of us was challenged? This is the part that is still identified with someone or something beyond our true nature.

How do you apply this to your teachings at The Class?

The Class is about paying attention when the going gets tough. The container we offer you is that of physical difficulty: burpees, jumping jacks, strength training. Physical discomfort is no different than the discomfort out there in everyday life. We say this all the time: The Class is about practicing life. We guide students into the moment where they would react and ask them to pay attention in the midst of it. It is there we have a chance at dissolving our unconscious attachments to a false self. Attention thwarts identification.

We cry. The work isn’t to stop crying. It is to watch ourselves cry with compassion and curiosity. What identity was threatened that caused the reaction? And is that identity the real me?

And the part that watches ourselves from that eagle-eye vantage point can relax because we have created some distance between us and the disturbance rather than become enveloped by it. We are in a moment of growth. And that ought to be celebrated.

Incidentally, you don’t have to be going through something life altering to get the benefits of The Class. This practice is about your ability to evolve and awaken – at any stage, at any age, under any circumstance.

What are your thoughts on wellness these days? What do you see and believe behind this super-charged word and this multi-trillion dollar industry?

It’s tricky. There are a lot of things to buy out there promising “wellness.” But those expensive bath salts don’t do much if you’re sitting in the bath recounting all the things you are worried about. Ultimately, wellness comes down to presence. So if you’re going to drink it, bathe in it, lather it and so on, do so consciously.

What’s a method or thought processes that helps you stay well? And can help others do the same?

Sometimes I look at my schedule and immediately feel stressed. Something I do to help myself stay well or sane in those moments, is to remember that all I can do is what is possible in that moment – no more, no less. I don’t believe in multi-tasking, that it’s possible for the brain. So I remind myself that “this moment is like this,” it is no other way. Wishing it to be different is where all suffering lives. Start there.

10 comments

Add yours
  • What a great interview. Thank you.
    ‘Reacting’ is when we are coming from the head and thinking, and ‘Responding’ is from the heart and feeling, and The Class seems to me to be helping one with the acceptance of ‘what is’ rather than resisting it. What a wonderful programme to have started up. I try to do this consciously as often as I identify the uncomfortable/painful situation and it takes practise! However, it really is worth getting this as otherwise we can end up carrying around SO much stuff that doesn’t serve us and then just going into the usual default action of reacting and resisting. It’s feeling the feelings as they come up and just observing them and sometimes its painful but it doesn’t last. Those situations we deal with in this way, came in with pain and they have to go with pain too but it’s so worth learning how to accept this and then not attaching to it and letting it go.

  • check JING’s New In clothes.

  • Anna Soko?owska August, 8 2019, 3:16 / Reply

    What a great interview with a great person.

    This is why I come here :)

  • Jorge Alexandre Teixeira August, 8 2019, 3:17 / Reply

    If you ever stop by Lisbon… just give me a holler !!!
    Just Kidding !!! GOD Bless you , Natalie !!!

  • Great information sharing and very useful tips i really inspire after reading this post.

  • Thank you for a great interview. Getting to know ourselves in this thoughtful and insightful way changes and gives us a better relationship with ourselves and the people in our lives. Thank you!

  • Love this so much. Thank you!

  • Crystal Tejera August, 8 2019, 2:02 / Reply

    So inspired by the class and founders. It’s a wonderful, wonderful tool! Love this article! Truth!

  • Loved this article. Thank you!

  • Such a deeply resonant and beautiful interview, Thank you. Natalie, especially love your returning us to our true selves and questioning the root of the reactive ego self. More Please!!! ????

From the Archives

The Beach
  • The Beach
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
dore swim beach rockaway summer imani randolph

Monochrome Swim

Beach on the Brain

atelier dore market story hats summer swim

Summer Hats

The Surf Lodge

The Surf Lodge

Net A Porter Atelier Dore

A L.A. Holiday

Down to Earth Swim

Down to Earth Swim

The Sun

The Sun

Sun

Sun

body happy garance dore photo

Body Happy