ATELIER_DORE_FASHION_STYLE_STORY_MARIA_CORNEJO_4

Studio Visit / Maria Cornejo

7 months ago by

Photos Anna Wolf

Maria Cornejo connaît le métier. Depuis la fin des années 90, quand elle a ouvert son atelier à Nolita, elle s’est concentrée avec sa marque sur des valeurs de base que beaucoup d’autres maisons de mode ont encore du mal à comprendre en 2019. Depuis le début, Zero + Maria Cornejo veut redonner du pouvoir aux femmes grâce à un luxe accessible et portable, de manière responsable.

Maria est membre fondatrice du comité pour le développement durable CFDA et elle s’est engagée depuis longtemps à produire sur place et à avoir des créations responsables. Elle a en conséquence inspiré et catalysé de nombreux débats sur le changement dans l’industrie de la mode aux États-Unis.

Puisque c’est le mois du Renouveau à l’Atelier, j’ai pensé qu’elle serait la parfaite interlocutrice. Anna et moi sommes allées dans son studio il y a quelques semaines pour parler de son style et de son processus de travail, et prendre quelques photos. Retrouvez notre conversation ci-dessous…

atelier dore studio visit maria cornejo

Décris ton style en trois mots ou phrases.

Jeune, moderne, intemporel.

Ta tenue ou ton uniforme idéal ?

Une combinaison.

D’après toi, en tant que designer, que veulent porter les femmes modernes aujourd’hui ? A quoi font-elles attention ?

Je crois que nous voulons nous sentir forte et à l’aise. On veut presque oublier ce qu’on porte. Se sentir comme si on ne portait rien. Comme si, pour être plus précise, on se sentait si bien qu’on ne pensait pas à nos vêtements. Il faut mettre en valeur les femmes et leur donner du pouvoir.

Penses-tu que la marque reflète ton style personnel ? Est-ce qu’elle t’influence ? Ou est-elle influencée par toi ?

Je crois que la marque – c’est moi. C’est mon influence parce que je l’ai créée dès le début, c’est ma vision des choses qui a créé la marque, tu vois ? Et bien sûr, tout le monde aide à la faire évoluer mais le coeur et le centre de la marque datent de ce début, c’est ce sur quoi elle s’appuie.

Sur quels principes de base la marque a-t-elle été fondée au début ?

Produire localement, faire des vêtements qui soient intéressants et flatteurs, se concentrer sur les femmes qui travaillent dans les arts, donner du pouvoir aux femmes, soutenir la communauté et le développement durable. Avec les années, avec les successions de différentes équipes, certaines choses sont oubliées et je crois que c’est toujours bien de rassembler encore tout le monde autour de ces mêmes concepts pour se concentrer à nouveau dessus. Parce que, après 20 ans, en se développant, certaines choses changent. Tout le monde apporte quelque chose, mais la marque est née de ces idéaux.

atelier dore studio visit maria cornejo

atelier dore studio visit maria cornejo

atelier dore studio visit maria cornejo

En parlant de production locale et de conscience aiguë du développement durable depuis le début… quelle est pour toi la définition de vêtements responsables ?

Cela signifie prêter attention à la planète, à la société, à l’écologie. Éliminer des processus, éliminer le gaspillage, produire de manière verticale. Je ne comprends pas pourquoi il faudrait faire venir un tissu d’Italie ou du Japon à un autre endroit pour la production. Je crois que cette attitude produit beaucoup de gaspillage. J’ai travaillé pour de grandes entreprises donc je sais ce qui se passe. Nous essayons de limiter nos processus au strict minimum et nous faisons tout localement. 85 % de notre collection est encore produite à New York.

Waouh. C’est incroyable. Je sais que le jean est très important pour toi en ce moment – est-ce que tu utilises du jean bio ?

Oui, je trouve que c’est une manière de ramener la collection vers ses racines. Pour moi, quand j’ai commencé à faire des vêtements, je voulais des vêtements intéressants qui soient portables au quotidien. Je travaillais dans la mode, je ne voulais pas porter du Gap. Mais je venais juste d’avoir deux enfants donc je voulais pouvoir courir partout, je ne voulais pas de tenue ennuyeuse. Je crois qu’on peut avoir des vêtements intéressants et être quand même à l’aise. C’est simplement qu’il faut avoir des vêtements adaptés à son mode de vie, qu’on peut porter tous les jours. Je ne suis pas une grande partisane des choses qu’on ne porte qu’une fois, vous savez, ces vêtements dans lesquels on se fait prendre en photo une fois avant de les jeter, ou les robes de soirée qui coûtent $10 000 et qu’on ne reporte jamais. Je trouve que c’est du gaspillage.

J’espère que mes vêtements semblent intemporels. Selon moi, ils feront de belles pièces vintage, ils seront transmis à quelqu’un qui les utilisera. Ils ne sont pas jetables. Les tissus sont de très bonne qualité.

C’est drôle de penser qu’on fabrique du beau vintage… C’est cool…

C’est amusant parce que je me surprends à chercher l’inspiration dans mes propres archives. Parfois, j’arrive au bureau avec une certaine tenue et les filles sont là “qu’est-ce que c’est ?” et je réponds “vous le savez…”

C’est du Maria Cornejo vintage !

Oui ! Je crée des vêtements depuis que j’ai 21 ans, c’était il y a 35 ans, donc ça fait un moment…

atelier dore studio visit maria cornejo

Tu as ouvert en 1998 ? L’industrie a clairement beaucoup changé depuis. D’après toi, comment a-t-elle changé ? Qu’est-ce qui t’enthousiasme ? Qu’est-ce qui ne t’enthousiasme pas ?

Quand je me suis lancée, on avait le choix entre des vêtements très chers, et Gap ou bien Club Monaco. Maintenant, il y a H&M, COS, Forever 21, beaucoup de fast fashion. Je crois qu’il y a un peu trop de tout, mais je crois que c’est le cas dans toutes les industries, pas seulement la mode. Que ce soit la musique, le maquillage ou même les soins pour la peau – il y a à peu près 20 millions de marques de soins pour la peau en ce moment. On dirait qu’internet a boosté tout le monde aux stéroïdes, au point que les gens ne savent plus quoi acheter parce qu’il y a trop de choix. A moins d’être vraiment différente, beaucoup de ces marques ne vont pas survivre – il y en a tant qui luttent pour attirer l’attention. C’est pour ça que les marques accordent plus d’importance à leur communication qu’à la qualité pour se faire remarquer.

Penses-tu qu’il va y avoir une réaction dans le sens inverse ?

Je crois que c’est déjà le cas. Je vois la manière dont mon fils voit les choses, la manière dont les gens plus jeunes voient les choses. Ils sélectionnent beaucoup plus et ils ne veulent pas acheter trop de choses, il ne sont pas dans cette attitude du jetable. Beaucoup de magasins le voient dans le retail, les gens consomment moins et font plus attention. Selon moi, c’est une bonne chose, les gens devraient acheter les choses qu’ils aiment vraiment, celles qu’ils vont porter sans cesse, pas seulement ce qui est en solde. Il y a une vraie tendance “touche à tout/bon à rien en ce moment” qui fait un peu peur.

Qu’est-ce qui est le plus important pour toi : le confort, la beauté ou l’innovation ?

Pour moi, tout est lié. L’innovation est importante mais si ce n’est pas porté, si ce n’est pas agréable, ça ne sert à rien. Il faut que ça soit agréable, que ça soit porté. Je crois qu’un vêtement n’est pas réussi s’il est juste là dans un placard. Il faut qu’il soit agréable et donne des forces à la femme qui le porte.

Quel style admires-tu ? As-tu des figures de référence ?

Honnêtement, c’est dur de ne choisir qu’une seule personne. Quand j’étais jeune, à la fac, j’étais très inspirée par Rei Kawakubo et Vivienne Westwood. Deux créatrices. C’est dur à dire, je trouve l’inspiration dans l’architecture, dans l’art. Nos clientes m’inspirent parce qu’elles font des choses géniales en portant nos vêtements. Je répète toujours que les vêtements ont des vies très intéressantes… Si les vêtements pouvaient parler, ils auraient beaucoup d’histoires à raconter.

atelier dore studio visit maria cornejo

15 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • Holiday Gifting
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
dore the outnet sophie auster

A Creative Life: Sophie & Spencer

Julie Houts Atelier Dore

The Crown Julie

Sag Harbor Summer

Sag Harbor Summer

A Brand and a Soul: Phillip Lim

A Brand and a Soul: Phillip Lim

Pardon my french pat cleveland garance dore photo

Embracing Your Freedom: Pat Cleveland

Mating in Captivity: Esther Perel

Mating in Captivity: Esther Perel

Friendship, Support and Self-Deprecation: Rose & Laura

Friendship, Support and Self-Deprecation: Rose & Laura

Episode 5: Art of Entertaining: Gad Elmaleh and Alireza Niroomand

Episode 5: Art of Entertaining: Gad Elmaleh and Alireza Niroomand

Pardon My French Garance Dore Isabel Marant Caroline de Maigret photo

Episode 4: La Parisienne with Isabel Marant & Caroline de Maigret

ATELIER_DORE_FASHION_STYLE_STORY_MARIA_CORNEJO_4

Studio Visit / Maria Cornejo

3 months ago by

Photos Anna Wolf

Maria Cornejo walks the walk. Since the late 90s when she opened her Nolita atelier, she has centered her brand around core values that, in 2019, many other fashion house are still scrambling to catch up with. From day one, Zero + Maria Cornejo has been about empowering real women with attainable, wearable luxury, and doing so responsibly.

Maria is a founding member of the CFDA’s sustainability committee, and has long been committed to local manufacturing and responsible design. As a result, she’s inspired and catalyzed many conversations about change in the American fashion industry.

Since it’s renewal month over here at the Atelier, I thought she would be the perfect person to have a conversation with. Anna and I went to her studio a couple of weeks ago to talk about her style and her process, and to take some pictures. Our conversation below…

atelier dore studio visit maria cornejo

Describe your style in three words or phrases.

Youthful, modern, ageless.

What is your ideal outfit or uniform?

A jumpsuit.

As a designer, what do you think modern women want to wear right now? What do they care about?

I think we want to feel empowered and comfortable. You almost want to forget about what you’re wearing. You want to feel like you’re just wearing nothing. By that, I mean, you feel so good about yourself, that you aren’t thinking about your clothes. It’s about flattering and empowering women.

Do you think the brand reflects your own personal style? Are you influenced by it? Is it influenced by you?

I think the brand– it’s me. It’s my influence because I created it from the beginning, it’s my way of thinking that formed the brand, you know? And of course everybody helps evolve it, but the heart and core of the brand is from that beginning point, that’s what it was always based on.

What are the core principles that the brand has been based on from the beginning?

Producing locally, making clothes that are interesting and flattering, focusing on women that work in the arts, empowering women, supporting your community, and sustainability. Through the years as you accumulate different teams, things sometimes get forgotten and I think it’s been really great to regroup everybody around the same concepts again and to refocus it all, you know? Because after 20 years, of course, as you grow things are going to change. Everybody brings something to the plate, but the brand started very much with these ideals.

atelier dore studio visit maria cornejo

atelier dore studio visit maria cornejo

atelier dore studio visit maria cornejo

Speaking of producing locally and being very conscious of sustainability from the beginning…. what does responsible design mean to you?

Responsible is being mindful of the planet, being mindful socially, mindful of ecology. Eliminating processes, eliminating waste, producing vertically. I don’t see the point of flying a fabric from Italy or Japan somewhere else to be made. I think there is a lot of waste in doing that. I have worked for big companies, so I know what happens to things. We try and keep the processes to a minimum and keep everything local. 85% of our collection is still made in New York.

Wow. That’s amazing. I know denim is a big thing for you right now–you’re doing organic denim?

Yeah, I think it’s a way to bring the collection back to its roots. For me, in the beginning when I started making clothes, I wanted interesting clothes that you could wear everyday. I was in fashion, I didn’t want to wear Gap. But, I just had two kids so I wanted to run around, I didn’t want to look boring. I think you can still have interesting clothes and be comfortable. It’s more about having clothes that support your lifestyle, that you can wear everyday. I am not a great believer in things that you wear once, you know the things that people get photographed in and then they throw away, or the ball gown that they buy for $10,000 and then never wear again. I think that that is really wasteful.

Hopefully, my clothing will feel quite timeless. The way I look at it is that they will make good vintage, they’ll get passed on to somebody and they will get use out of them. They’re not disposable. The fabrics are really good quality.

It’s funny to think of something making good vintage. It’s cool…

It’s funny because now I find myself going back to my own archives for inspiration. Sometimes I’ll come into the office wearing something and the girls will go, “what is that?” and I’ll go “you know–,”

It’s vintage Maria Cornejo!

Yes! I’ve been designing since I was 21, that’s 35 years, so quite a while…

atelier dore studio visit maria cornejo

You opened in 1998? Obviously, the industry has changed a lot since then. How do you feel that it’s changed? What are you excited about? What are you not excited about?

When I started, there was either really expensive clothing or there was the Gap and Club Monaco. Now, there’s H&M, COS, Forever 21, there’s a lot of fast fashion. I think there is a little bit too much of everything, but I think that’s with every industry, not just fashion. Whether it’s music or makeup, even skincare– there’s like 20 million skincare brands now. I think the internet has amped everything up on steroids to the point where people don’t know what to buy anymore because there’s just so much of it. Unless you have a real point of view, a lot of brands are not going to survive–there is a lot of stuff out there competing for attention. I think that’s why brands focus now on being loud and making a lot of noise, rather than quality.

Do you think there’s going to be a backlash?

I think there already is. I see the way that my son looks at things, the way that some younger people look at things. They’re much more edited and they don’t want to shop that much, it’s not this disposable mentality. A lot of stores are seeing it in retail, people are consuming less and being more mindful. I think it’s good, people should buy things because they really love them and they’re going to wear them again and again, not just because they’re on sale. There’s a lot of “jack of all trades” and “masters of none” at the moment, which is a bit scary.

What is most important to you: comfort, beauty, or innovation?

For me, they’re tied together. It’s about innovation but if it’s not worn, if it doesn’t feel good, it’s not relevant. It needs to feel good, it needs to be worn. I think a piece of clothing is not successful if it sits in somebody’s cupboard. It needs to feel good and empower the woman who wears it.

Whose style do you admire? Do you have icons?

It’s hard for me to single one person out, to be honest. When I was growing up, during college, I was very inspired by Rei Kawakubo and Vivienne Westwood. Two female designers. It’s hard to say, I mean, I’m inspired by architecture, by art. I’m never inspired by fashion, per se. I don’t really look at fashion for inspiration. I am inspired by our clients because our clients do the coolest things wearing the clothes. I always say that the clothes have the most interesting lives, you know? If clothes could talk, they would be telling many stories.

atelier dore studio visit maria cornejo

15 comments

Add yours
  • Juliette May, 20 2019, 10:30 / Reply

    Thank you for making me discover Maria… She is beautiful, and a real inspiration. I don’t know, she just glows and glows… I keep going back to this article just to feel her vibe !

  • AnnaQS May, 21 2019, 3:47

    I second that!

  • The real deal. And great clothes. She can show women how to age beautifully, among all her other talents. I’m off to the website to see the new stuff……

  • Cass Estes May, 20 2019, 11:47 / Reply

    I love her! And her clothes are gorgeous : )

  • Great post ! The only thing I question is that the younger generation is consuming less. The coalition is that many young people have very low incomes , and only purchase inexpensive, not responsibly made products !
    Jandrew
    Dress The Part
    http://www.jandrewspeaks.com

  • Jorge Alexandre Teixeira May, 21 2019, 3:22 / Reply

    *_*

  • Jorge Alexandre Teixeira May, 21 2019, 3:25 / Reply

    *_* !

  • Sharon May, 21 2019, 8:30 / Reply

    Inspiring in so many ways, love her

  • I love her designs and she seems to be a wonderful woman, but most of her clothes are made of, or include synthetic materials- which is a bummer, for me it takes away from the specialness of a piece. Hopefully with her work towards making her brand more sustainable, she will become interested in leaving plastics out of it

  • She’s amazing. I enjoy reading her interview!

  • Great interview! Loved reading about Maria and her approach to design and fashion.

  • I loved this interview. So relevant in every way.

  • Sarah Becker May, 29 2019, 2:01 / Reply

    Thank you for this feature. Beautiful, genuine lady.

  • kimberly hall May, 29 2019, 12:02 / Reply

    This is a great article with beautiful clothing but who can afford a $1000 jumpsuit?????

  • Kimberly, you probably could afford the jumpsuit if you saved up and reduced the amount of purchases you make in a year. Unless of course if you are really struggling to make ends meet. Been there!

From the Archives

The Beach
  • The Beach
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
dore swim beach rockaway summer imani randolph

Monochrome Swim

Beach on the Brain

atelier dore market story hats summer swim

Summer Hats

The Surf Lodge

The Surf Lodge

Net A Porter Atelier Dore

A L.A. Holiday

Down to Earth Swim

Down to Earth Swim

The Sun

The Sun

Sun

Sun

body happy garance dore photo

Body Happy