DORE_LIFESTYLE_BLACKBERRY_FARM_-2

Blackberry Mountain

2 months ago by

Depuis que je me suis installée à New York, je me suis rendu compte d’une chose : j’adore le grand air, j’ai besoin d’être dans la nature.

Je sais, c’est un peu ironique.

Mais c’est logique quand on y réfléchit. On ne peut pas vivre trop longtemps au milieu du béton sans avoir besoin d’un peu d’air frais.

C’est le seul moyen que j’ai trouvé pour ralentir le rythme. Partir faire une randonnée, aller dans l’eau, respirer. Et puisque c’est le mois de la “slow life” sur le site, je me suis dit que c’était le moment idéal pour vous faire découvrir un endroit vraiment unique, imaginé précisément pour ça.

Blackberry Mountain est un hôtel, ouvert depuis peu, perché au milieu des rochers et des collines des Monts Great Smokey, dans le Tennessee. C’est une création de Blackberry Farm, le haut lieu de bien-être réputé pour son hospitalité et sa cuisine qui a imposé l’expression “de la ferme à la table” auprès de tous les cuisiniers d’Amérique et inspiré des centaines de boards Pinterest sur le thème chic modeste.

La propriétaire, Mary Celeste Beall, est au coeur des lieux. Elle a hérité de ce rôle après la mort tragique et prématurée de son visionnaire de mari, Sam Beall, en 2016. Au milieu de son immense chagrin, elle a transformé son souvenir en un héritage qui continue à fournir un service innovant et récompensé par des prix – tout en ajoutant sa touche gracieuse et réfléchie. Le tout en élevant les quatre enfants du couple. Son secret ? Elle l’explique : “s’accorder en priorité des moments de paix”.

J’ai récemment eu le plaisir de passer quelques jours dans cette oasis des montagnes. Et dans l’esprit Blackberry, j’ai transformé ça en voyage familial – j’ai emmené mon frère pour qu’il prenne ces sublimes photos. Et j’ai parlé avec Mary Celeste de sa propriété récemment ouverte, de son amour de la nature et de ce que les montagnes du Tennessee ont d’unique pour sa famille et elle.

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

Quelle a été ta source d’inspiration pour l’esthétique des intérieurs de Blackberry Mountain ? C’est à la fois incroyablement élégant et familial…

Je suis heureuse que vous en fassiez cette description parce que nous avons vraiment aménagé la propriété pour qu’elle soit élégante et belle tout en étant accueillante pour toutes les générations de la famille. C’était incroyable de travailler avec l’équipe de designers de Blackberry Farm, ils ont un sens aigu du détail et des côtés pratiques tout en gardant toujours une vue d’ensemble. Cet endroit est différent de Blackberry Farm et nous avions envie de refléter ça à travers un design plus moderne.

Blackberry Mountain intègre certains éléments artistiques très forts – des couleurs intenses de pierres précieuses, un mélange d’oeuvres d’art espiègles et modernes, des lampes très design. C’est un équilibre intéressant de vieilles pièces rustiques et de contemporain. Ce mélange respecte l’esprit des lieux dans leur ensemble. Nous voulons que nos invités sortent, explorent les environs et puissent s’intégrer dans l’environnement qui les entourent mais nous avons également envie qu’ils se sentent tout aussi à l’aise et émerveillés quand ils sont à l’intérieur.

On dirait que tu embrasses vraiment ce mouvement de bien-être qui encourage un retour à la nature. L’expérience offerte à Blackberry Mountain ne ressemble pas à celle des autres hôtels de luxe. Pourquoi est-ce si important pour vous, dans l’expérience que vous souhaitez offrir à vos invités, de mettre l’accent sur l’extérieur ? On dirait que ça a toujours fait partie de la vision Blackberry, depuis le début…

Nous avons la chance de vivre dans un environnement naturel magnifique. La splendeur naturelle des Great Smoky Mountains et de la région de l’est du Tennessee est d’une beauté à couper le souffle, même quand on vit là depuis des années. Avec toutes ces ressources naturelles qui nous entourent, c’est l’endroit parfait pour encourager un retour à la nature qui a toujours été important pour Blackberry. La nature est puissante. Elle fait appel à tous nos sens et elle a le pouvoir d’attirer notre attention, même avec les vies chargées de technologie que nous menons aujourd’hui. Quand les invités arrivent à Blackberry Mountain, nous les encourageons à mettre leur vie quotidienne sur pause. Pour sentir la force et les bienfaits qu’il y a à prêter vraiment attention au monde qui nous entoure et tout ce qu’il a à offrir. Ça a toujours été important pour moi et ma famille de passer du temps dehors et je veux partager cette sensation et cet émerveillement avec nos invités.

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

A quel point est-ce que ton travail d’aujourd’hui s’inscrit dans la stratégie de long terme de Sam, et en quoi as-tu imprimé ta propre marque sur les choses ?

Sam a toujours eu une vision incroyable. Lui et ses parents ont toujours pensé au futur et ils ont un enthousiasme contagieux pour les idées et rêves innovants ! Par exemple, l’idée d’ouvrir un deuxième espace a plus de dix ans. Sam a passé tellement de temps à réfléchir à ce qui est aujourd’hui Blackberry Mountain, à rêver de ce que ça allait devenir, à développer un lien avec les lieux.

En tant que propriétaire, c’est un honneur pour moi de poursuivre le travail de Sam et de notre famille – de soutenir notre équipe en franchissant des jalons incroyables. Et donc j’utilise toute cette positivité, cet esprit créatif pour avancer vers nos buts, travailler et rendre justice à chaque projet de Blackberry. Je crois que tous les leaders impriment leur marque sur les choses. C’est formidable pour moi d’avoir une position où je peux utiliser ma créativité et mes idées et atteindre un équilibre grâce à la réputation bien établie de cette entreprise et de ses talentueux membres.

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

Quelles sont tes plus grandes sources d’inspiration et d’influence ?

Ma mère a toujours été une incroyable source d’inspiration et d’influence. Son talent artistique m’a inspirée depuis toute petite à utiliser mon côté créatif. Le fait d’avoir une mère forte, gracieuse et inspirée m’a vraiment définie en tant que femme. C’est un exemple merveilleux pour savoir comment être une mère aimante, encourageante, qui travaille et je lui suis encore reconnaissante pour son influence en grandissant.

Ma belle-mère, Kreis Beall, est une autre femme incroyable qui a de l’influence dans ma vie. Elle m’a tant appris sur le fait d’accueillir avec générosité. Elle m’a guidée de manière incroyable à Blackberry. C’est une vraie bénédiction d’être entourée par des femmes fortes, réfléchies et charismatiques.

Et ensuite, mon défunt mari, Sam. Il profitait au maximum de chaque journée à Blackberry avec nos invités, l’équipe et notre famille. Ce qui m’a le plus influencée, c’est de prendre conscience que chaque journée est un vrai cadeau donc j’essaie de profiter de chaque journée au maximum.

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall
dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall
dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

Que signifie pour toi et ta famille l’aspect unique de cet endroit ? Et qu’en perçoivent les invités selon toi ?

C’est difficile d’exprimer la place unique qu’occupe Blackberry pour moi – les terres, les invités, l’équipe, tout. C’est tellement plus qu’un “travail”. Je suis chez moi à Blackberry. C’est là qu’on grandi mes enfants, et c’est là que j’ai vécu les expériences les plus belles et les plus difficiles de ma vie. J’espère que nos invités peuvent ressentir ce lien partout.

Toutes les actions de notre équipe sont tellement significatives. Nous prêtons attention aux petits détails et nos invités le remarquent. Nous continuons à tout faire pour créer un endroit et une expérience qui permettent à nos invités de se sentir uniques, d’avoir l’impression qu’on prend bien soin d’eux. Chaque fois qu’un invité est surpris par un petit détail dans le service, qu’il se sent inspiré par un cours auquel il a participé ou par une activité qu’il a essayée, qu’il se sent pleinement satisfait après un repas délicieux, il comprend ce que nous cherchons à faire à Blackberry.

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

0 comment

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Pardon My French
  • Pardon My French
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
Stephanie Danan: Conscious Creation

Stephanie Danan: Conscious Creation

Ian Schrager: Boundary Pusher

Ian Schrager: Boundary Pusher

Carte Blanche: Turning a Creative Passion into a Business - Clare Vivier, Tina Frey and Ellen Marie Bennett garance dore pardon my french

Carte Blanche: Turning a Creative Passion into a Business

atelier dore eric ripert pardon my french podcast garance dore

Eric Ripert: The Fire Inside

Perla Servan-Schreiber: Growing Joy

Perla Servan-Schreiber: Growing Joy

Veronica Poblete: Mother of the Desert

Veronica Poblete: Mother of the Desert

Caroline Belhumeur: A Quiet Sophistication

Caroline Belhumeur: A Quiet Sophistication

CASSANDRA GREY: The Confidence Code

CASSANDRA GREY: The Confidence Code

Fran Hauser: Leading with Kindness

Fran Hauser: Leading with Kindness

DORE_LIFESTYLE_BLACKBERRY_FARM_-2

Blackberry Mountain

1 month ago by

Since moving to New York City, I’ve realized one thing to be true: I love the outdoors, I crave being in nature.

I know, it’s a bit ironic.

But when you think about it, it makes sense. You can’t live inside all that concrete for too long without needing a little fresh air.

It’s the only way I’ve found to truly make things slow down. Go for a hike, get out on the water, breathe. And since it’s “Slow Living” month on the site, I thought it an apt moment to introduce you to a truly special place, made specifically to do just that.

Blackberry Mountain is a recently opened resort perched into the rocks and hillsides of Tennessee’s Great Smokey Mountains. It’s an offshoot of Blackberry Farm, the famed hospitality, culinary, and wellness destination that put the term “farm to table” on the tongues of every chef across America and inspired thousands of shabby chic-themed Pinterest boards.

As Proprietor, Mary Celeste Beall is the woman at the heart of it all. She inherited the role after her visionary husband, Sam Beall’s, tragic and untimely death in 2016. In the wake of unimaginable grief, she took his memory and transformed it into his legacy by continuing to innovate and provide award-winning service—with her own graceful and thoughtful touch. All the while, raising the couple’s five children! Her secret? She shares, “prioritizing a moment of peace.”

Recently, I had the pleasure of spending a few days at the Mountain oasis. In true “Blackberry” fashion, we turned it into a family affair—I brought my brother along to shoot these gorgeous photos. And, I chatted with Mary Celeste about the newly opened property, her own love of nature, and what the magic of the Tennessee mountains means to her family.

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

What is the inspiration behind the interior aesthetic of Blackberry Mountain? It feels both incredibly elegant and family-friendly…

I love that you describe it that way, because we absolutely designed the property to feel elegant and beautiful while being a place that every generation of your family will enjoy. Working with the Blackberry Farm Design team is incredible, because they have an amazing ability to pay attention to every small detail and function, while always maintaining an eye for the overall vision. This property is different than Blackberry Farm, and we wanted that to be reflected in the more modern design.

Blackberry Mountain incorporates some really striking artistic elements – rich jewel tones, a playful and modern mix of art, bold light fixtures. There’s an interesting balance of rustic heritage and contemporary flair. That mix matches the philosophy of the property as a whole. We want our guests to get outside, explore and really connect with the environment around them, but we also want them to feel completely comfortable and equally wowed when they’re inside.

It seems like you’re tapping into this moment within the wellness movement that is encouraging a back-to-nature mentality. Why is the focus on the outdoors so important to you and the experience you’re cultivating for your guests? It feels like its always been part of the initial Blackberry vision…

We’re fortunate to live in such a naturally beautiful environment. The natural splendor of the Great Smoky Mountains and the East Tennessee region really is breathtaking, even after living here for years. With all of the natural resources surrounding us, the location is perfect for encouraging a connection to nature that has always been important to Blackberry. Nature is powerful. It appeals to all of our senses, and it has the power to capture attention even with the busy, technology driven lives we lead today. When guests come to Blackberry Mountain, we’re inviting them to take a break from their normal. To feel the power and benefit of really noticing the world around us and what it offers. Being outside has always been important to me and my family, and I want to share that sensation and wonderment with our guests.

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

How much of what you’re working on now was a part of Sam’s long-term goals and in what ways have you added your own take on things?

Sam always had incredible vision. He and his parents were always thinking about the future, and their excitement for innovative ideas and dreams was infectious! Opening a second property, for example, was a goal for more than a decade. Sam spent so much time exploring what is now Blackberry Mountain, dreaming of what it could become and connecting to the place.

As Proprietor, it’s an honor for me to continue Sam’s and our family’s legacy – to be supporting our team as we accomplish incredible milestones. So, I channel that positivity and creative spirit to push our goals, dive in, and do every Blackberry project justice. I think naturally every leader puts their own take on things. It’s really special to be in a position where I can channel my creativity and ideas, and balance that with the established reputation of this company and its talented team members.

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

Who/ what are your greatest sources of inspiration and influence?

My mother has always been an incredible inspiration and influence. Her artistry inspired me from a very young age to tap into my creative side. Having a strong, graceful, inspiring mother has helped shape me as a woman. She’s a wonderful example of how to be a loving, hardworking and encouraging mother, and I’m thankful for her influence as I continue to grow.

My mother-in-law, Kreis Beall, is another incredibly influential woman in my life. She taught me so much about hosting from the heart. She’s been a wonderful guide during my time at Blackberry. I’m really blessed to be surrounded by strong, thoughtful, charismatic women.

And then, there’s my late husband, Sam. He made the most of every day at Blackberry with our guests and team, as well as with our family. My greatest influence comes from the realization that every day is truly a gift, so I try my best to make every day count.

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall
dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall
dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

What does the specialness of this place mean to you and your family? And, in what ways do you think that comes across for your guests?

It’s hard to put into words how special Blackberry is to me – the land, the guests, the team, all of it. This is so much more than a “job”. Blackberry is my home. It’s where my children grew up, and it’s where I have faced the most beautiful and the most challenging experiences of my life. I hope our guests feel that connection at every turn.

There is so much purpose behind what our whole team does. We pay attention to the little details, and our guests notice. We continuously strive to create a place and experience where the guest feels special and taken care of. Each time a guest is surprised by an extra little touch in service, inspired by the class they took or activity they tried, or completely satisfied after a delicious meal, they are feeling the heart of what Blackberry is about.

dore blackberry mountain lifestyle mary celeste beall

0 comment

Add yours

From the Archives

Career Stories
  • Career Stories
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
On Career…

On Career…

dore career profile elizabeth roberts architect

Career / Elizabeth Roberts

10 Rules of Being A Creative

10 Rules of Being A Creative

atelier dore 5 women on monetizing creativity shapes

5 Women on Monetizing Creativity

atelier dore jamia wilson career interview feminist press

Career / Jamia Wilson

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

Will Guidara Daniel Humm Atelier Dore

Will Guidara and Daniel Humm Make It Nice

private investigator atelier dore

Careers / Private Investigator

Career / BJ Topol

Career / BJ Topol