ATELIER_DORE_LIFESTYLE_NAPA_VALLEY_SCRIBE_WINERY_-5

On Location at Scribe

5 months ago by

Ce n’est une surprise pour personne : j’ai eu mon compte de visites de vignobles. Mais Scribe Winery ne ressemble à aucun des autres vignobles que j’ai vus. Christina, Bogdana, Mary et moi avons eu la chance de visiter Scribe le mois dernier et nous continuons toutes les semaines à évoquer certains points de l’expérience.

Le vignoble Scribe Winery a été fondé en 2007 par les frères Andrew et Adam Mariana, qui se trouvent être des fermiers californiens depuis la quatrième génération – on peut donc dire que leur amour pour le sol californien et tout ce qu’il a à offrir est profond. En lien avec leurs racines familiales, leur soeur Kelly Mariani, une cheffe formée Chez Panisse dirige la cuisine de Scribe. A notre arrivée à Scribe, on nous a rapidement demandé d’abandonner nos sacs et de nous asseoir pour une dégustation de vin avec un repas d’inspiration perse, parce que c’était la semaine du nouvel an perse (voilà le genre de détails attentionnés qui se produisent si naturellement à Scribe).

atelier dore on location scribe napa

atelier dore on location scribe napa

atelier dore on location scribe napa

atelier dore on location scribe napa

Au début, nous nous sommes senties un peu submergées et confuses mais nous ne comprenions pas vraiment pourquoi jusqu’à ce que les mots sortent tout seuls de ma bouche : “Tout le monde a l’air tellement heureux et sain ici”. Je ne suis pas du genre à commenter l’énergie d’un lieu mais l’énergie à Scribe est tellement… bonne. Je ne sais pas si c’est à cause du sol, du vin produit ou simplement de l’air de la Californie du Nord mais je vous promets que j’ai grandi de quelques centimètres quand je me suis assise le dos droit pour la première fois depuis des mois.

Oh. Et le vin est délicieux. Faites-moi confiance, nous avons ramené plusieurs bouteilles à New York (sans doute dans l’espoir de rapporter un peu de ce sol / air / énergie qui rend tout le monde tellement heureux et sain).

atelier dore on location scribe napa
atelier dore on location scribe napa
On Location at Scribe
atelier dore on location scribe napa

Sisters-in-law, Lia Ices and Kelly Mariani

On Location at Scribe

Mais ensuite, on nous a encore plus gâtées. On nous a fait à manger. Avec encore plus de vin. Et des gens géniaux qui travaillent à Scribe ou y sont liés sont venus nous rejoindre pour un repas en famille.

Vous voyez, le repas en famille dont vous rêvez et que vous vous promettez de faire un jour ? Un jour, vous aurez la place / l’argent / l’énergie de préparer sans efforts trois à quatre plats parfaitement assortis au vin et les nappes seront parfaitement repassées, le vin à la parfaite température, les lumières tamisées, les fleurs arrangées mais sans trop en faire parce que ça ne vous demande pas d’efforts de recevoir et tous vos amis vont le faire remarquer ?

Voilà encore une journée parfaite à Scribe. Et maintenant que je n’ai plus besoin d’essayer de définir le repas en famille de mes rêves puisque je sais à quoi il ressemble, il faut juste que j’essaie de recréer notre expérience à Scribe.

atelier dore on location scribe napa

atelier dore on location scribe napa

atelier dore on location scribe napa

atelier dore on location scribe napa

Scribe Co-owner and Vintner, Andrew Mariani

Parmi tous les gens cools qui sont venus nous rejoindre pour le dîner, la personne la plus populaire de la soirée a sans doute été l’adorable fille d’Andrew, Una, deux ans, qui a guidé la tablée pour une superbe chanson Doe a Deer pendant le dessert. J’étais sous le choc en entendant la voix de cette enfant de deux ans jusqu’à ce que j’apprenne que sa mère, Lia Ices, est une chanteuse incroyable. La nuit s’est achevée sur quelques chansons que Lia nous a chantées dans la cave de Scribe (oui, il y a juste un piano à queue là) pendant que Una (et nous) regardait avec admiration…

atelier dore on location scribe napa

Lia Ices performing in the Scribe basement

3 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Career Stories
  • Career Stories
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
On Career…

On Career…

dore career profile elizabeth roberts architect

Career / Elizabeth Roberts

10 Rules of Being A Creative

10 Rules of Being A Creative

atelier dore 5 women on monetizing creativity shapes

5 Women on Monetizing Creativity

atelier dore jamia wilson career interview feminist press

Career / Jamia Wilson

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

Will Guidara Daniel Humm Atelier Dore

Will Guidara and Daniel Humm Make It Nice

private investigator atelier dore

Careers / Private Investigator

Career / BJ Topol

Career / BJ Topol

ATELIER_DORE_LIFESTYLE_NAPA_VALLEY_SCRIBE_WINERY_-5

On Location at Scribe

2 months ago by

It’s probably no surprise that I’ve been to my fair share of wineries, but Scribe Winery in Sonoma, California, is unlike any other winery I’ve visited. Christina, Bogdana, Mary and I were lucky enough to visit Scribe last month and we still find ourselves referencing some aspect of the experience on a weekly basis.

Scribe Winery was founded in 2007 by brothers Andrew and Adam Mariani, who also happen to be fourth generation California farmers — so their love for California soil, and all it has to offer, runs deep. Keeping with their family roots, their sister, Kelly Mariani, a Chez Panisse trained chef heads up the kitchen at Scribe. Upon arrival at Scribe, we were promptly instructed to drop our bags and sit for a wine tasting, along with a Persian inspired meal to celebrate the Persian new year (one of Scribe’s employees is Persian and was homesick for the food). This is the kind of caring and thoughtful attention to detail that comes so naturally to Scribe.

atelier dore on location scribe napa

atelier dore on location scribe napa

atelier dore on location scribe napa

atelier dore on location scribe napa

At first we were all a bit overwhelmed and confused, but couldn’t quite figure out why until I finally blurted it out, “everyone just looks so happy and healthy here.” I’m not one to comment on the energy of a place, but the energy at Scribe is just… good. I don’t know if it’s the soil it sits on, the wine they provide, or simply the Northern California air, but I swear I gained at least an inch in height as I sat up straight for what felt like the first time in months.

Oh. And the wine is delicious. Trust me, we brought back many a bottle to New York (also, probably in the hopes we’d bring back some of that soil / air / mojo that makes everyone look so dang happy and healthy).

atelier dore on location scribe napa
atelier dore on location scribe napa
On Location at Scribe
atelier dore on location scribe napa

Sisters-in-law, Lia Ices and Kelly Mariani

On Location at Scribe

But, then we were spoiled even further. They made us dinner. With more wine. And more cool people, that work with or are connected to Scribe, came to join us for the family meal.

You know that family meal you day-dream of and that you promise yourself one day you’ll throw together? One day when you have the space / time / money / energy to effortlessly whip up three to four courses paired expertly with wine, but the linens will be perfectly crumpled, the wine always chilled, the lights dimmed, the flowers done, but not overly done, because entertaining is effortless for you and all your friends will comment on it as such?

That’s just another day at Scribe. And now I no longer have to try and day-dream about what my perfect family dinner would look like, I just have to try and recreate what we experienced at Scribe.

atelier dore on location scribe napa

atelier dore on location scribe napa

atelier dore on location scribe napa

atelier dore on location scribe napa

Scribe Co-owner and Vintner, Andrew Mariani

Of the cool people that joined us for dinner, the most popular person of the night was probably Andrew’s adorable two year old daughter Una, who lead the table in a rousing rendition of Doe a Deer while we all ate our dessert. I was shocked by the two year old’s pitch until I learned her mother, Lia Ices, is an incredible singer. The night concluded with Lia singing a few songs for us from her forthcoming album, coming this fall! Gathered around in the basement at Scribe (where, yes, there just so happens to be a grand piano) Una (and the rest of us) watched on in awe…

atelier dore on location scribe napa

Lia Ices performing in the Scribe basement

3 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Shoes!
  • Shoes!
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
DAD SNEAKERS

DAD SNEAKERS

The Shoes Have It

The Shoes Have It

Socks Atelier Dore

Sock it!

Mules Atelier Dore

Mules Made for Walking

If the Sneaker Fits

If the Sneaker Fits

Let it Slide

Let it Slide

fashion essential the espadrille atelier dore photo

The Espadrille

bye bye heels garance dore illustration

Bye Bye Heels

White Hot!

White Hot!