garrett borns bowery ballroom music musician singer band style garance dore photos

BØRNS

5 years ago by

Vous savez, ce truc qu’on se dit parfois en écoutant un groupe ou un musicien “Alors, lui, il va cartonner ! » ? Et après , on est trop fiers de l’avoir découvert , avec juste un petit sentiment de supériorité, parce qu’on est allé l’écouter avant qu’il cartonne AUTANT ? Eh bien, pour moi, ça a été BØRNS.

garrett borns bowery ballroom music musician singer band style garance dore photos

Il rappelle l’époque où les musiciens avaient du talent, mais étaient aussi de vrais performers, … des gens inventifs, énergiques, qui mettent une ambiance de feu pendant les concerts. Donc, quand on a eu la chance de rencontrer Garrett (BØRNS est son nom de famille… et de scène) en backstage avant son concert au Bowery Ballroom, une salle de concert mythique de downtown New York, Erik et moi, on a pris ça super sereinement… ;)

Même si la carrière de Garrett commence tout juste à décoller (guettez-le sur le défilé Victoria’s Secret diffuse mardi !), ce qui est palpable, au-delà de son talent, c’est l’énergie et le magnétisme qui l’animent. Et puis il a le parfait look de la rock-star : des tonnes d’humour, des chaussettes à pois, des tops glitter vintage qui rappellent un Mick Jagger jeune,  et bien sûr, des cheveux longs. Une approche de la mode super authentique et originale, mâtinée d’influences 60s et 70s. Après tout, sa garde-robe regorge de trouvailles vintage excentriques…

garrett borns bowery ballroom music musician singer band style garance dore photos

garrett borns bowery ballroom music musician singer band style garance dore photos

garrett borns bowery ballroom music musician singer band style garance dore photos
garrett borns bowery ballroom music musician singer band style garance dore photos

Words: Neada Jane | Photos: Erik Melvin

16 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Holiday Gifting
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
Hill City

Hill City

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

lessons in gifting steven alan presents expert series garance dore photos

Lessons In… Gifting

garrett borns bowery ballroom music musician singer band style garance dore photos

BØRNS

6 years ago by

Ok, so you know that feeling you have when you hear a band or musician and think, “Oh, they are going to be BIG!” ? And you love that you discovered them, but you also feel a little tinge of smugness that you heard them before they became that BIG DEAL? Yeah, well, for me, that’s BØRNS.

garrett borns bowery ballroom music musician singer band style garance dore photos

He harks back to the days when musicians were talented, yes, but also true performers — creative and energetic, and inspiring their audience to go totally crazy at shows. So, when we had the chance to hang out with Garrett (BØRNS is his last – and stage – name) backstage before his recent show at the Bowery Ballroom, one of downtown New York‘s most iconic music venues, Erik and I were totally cool and nonchalant about it… ;)

Even though Garrett’s career is just taking off (look out for him when the Victoria’s Secret show airs on Tuesday!), you can see that, beyond the talent, it’s his energy and magnetism that drives so much of what he does. And he has that complete rockstar style — doses of humor with bright polkadot socks and vintage glitter tops that are reminiscent of a young Mick Jagger’s wardrobe, and, of course, the long hair. Garrett’s approach to fashion is so genuine and original, with a little influence from the 60s and 70s. After all, his wardrobe is filled with many eccentric vintage finds…

garrett borns bowery ballroom music musician singer band style garance dore photos

garrett borns bowery ballroom music musician singer band style garance dore photos

garrett borns bowery ballroom music musician singer band style garance dore photos
garrett borns bowery ballroom music musician singer band style garance dore photos

Words: Neada Jane | Photos: Erik Melvin

16 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

The Beach
  • The Beach
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
The Swimsuit

The Swimsuit

Clémentine. In Her Own Body.

Clémentine. In Her Own Body.

dore swim beach rockaway summer imani randolph

Monochrome Swim

Beach on the Brain

atelier dore market story hats summer swim

Summer Hats

The Surf Lodge

The Surf Lodge

Net A Porter Atelier Dore

A L.A. Holiday

Down to Earth Swim

Down to Earth Swim

The Sun

The Sun