amanda chase holiday tales christmas garance dore photos

Holiday Tales / Amanda

5 years ago by

Décembre, un mois magique ! Celui de mon anniversaire, des vacances, des bonnes choses à manger ! En gros, c’était le mois que j’attendais toute l’année.

Noël. Les traditions. Les jolies robes. Tout !! Mes souvenirs préférés, ce sont ceux des préparatifs de Noël. Maintenant que je suis adulte et que je commence moi aussi à établir quelques traditions, ces souvenirs me sont encore plus précieux.

Chez moi, on commençait à préparer Noël dès le lendemain de Thanksgiving, avec des chants de Noël ! Ma mère adorait ça (cf. la playlist ci-dessous). On en écoutait dans la voiture, à la maison, absolument partout. Le premier samedi de décembre, ma mère prenait sa journée pour décorer la maison. Ça a l’air tout bête comme tradition, mais ma mère était (et reste) quelqu’un qui était par monts et par vaux ! Ce qui rendait ce fameux samedi d’autant plus précieux.

Au rythme des chants de Noël, ma mère, encore pyjama, prenait son café tout en accrochant les décorations, et peu à peu, notre petit pavillon de banlieue se métamorphosait en une espèce de maison de conte de fées. Quand j’arrivais dans le salon, il y avait des petites lumières sur la rampe de l’escalier, des branches de sapin autour de la cheminée, des décorations qui attendaient d’être accrochées au sapin, et chaque porte de placard avait sa petite déco. J’étais aux anges.

J’admirais tout ça en espérant faire moi aussi la même chose un jour. Ma mère avait l’air tellement épanouie et belle que c’est mon plus beau souvenir d’elle. Maintenant, j’ai moi aussi un sapin (microscopique), un chandelier pour mon copain qui fête Hanoukka, des pommes de pin décoratives, et des petites branches de sapin sur les portes… J’écoute les mêmes morceaux… Bref, à mon tour, j’invente mes propres traditions.

19 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
accessorizing outerwear atelier dore coats and jewels

Put an Earring On It

Coats, Coats, Coats!

Coats, Coats, Coats!

Winter Skincare

Winter Skincare

Rebecca on Mercer

Rebecca on Mercer

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

amanda chase holiday tales christmas garance dore photos

Holiday Tales / Amanda

5 years ago by

December, such a magical month! I would turn another year older, we would have two weeks off school, and I got to eat a lot of sugar cookies. Basically, I live for December.

The holidays. The traditions. The dressing up. Everything!!! My favorite memories are actually the events that led up to Christmas day. And now, as an adult, I’m able to hold on to these memories as I begin my own traditions.

In my house, holiday celebrations started the day after Thanksgiving, and it all started with Christmas songs! My mom loved Christmas songs (playlist below!). She would play them in the car, at home, and everywhere in between. On the first Saturday of December, my mom would stay home and decorate our house with christmas decorations. It sounds like such a simple tradition, but I must explain that my mom was (and still is) always on the go! So this particular Saturday morning in December was my favorite.

Christmas songs playing downstairs, my mom would still be wearing pajamas, one hand holding a coffee and an ornament in the other, our house would transform from a regular suburban house to a magical gingerbread house. I would walk downstairs and there would be lights hanging on banisters, wreaths above the fireplace, christmas tree ornaments laid out on the floor in anticipation of being hung, and every cabinet door had its own ornament. I loved it.

I would watch her and just be in awe, taking mental notes on how I should do this one day. She looked so happy and beautiful; my favorite memory of my mom. Now, as I decorate my house with a much smaller Christmas tree, a menorah for my jewish boyfriend, homemade pine cone ornaments, and mini wreaths hanging on doors, I play these same songs while I dance in my pajamas, happy to be starting these new traditions.

 

19 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Holiday Gifting
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

lessons in gifting steven alan presents expert series garance dore photos

Lessons In… Gifting