DORE_FASHION_STREET_STYLE_GABE_KENNEDY

A Street Style with Gabe Kennedy

2 years ago by

Ton style en quelques mots ?
Pratique, durable, éclectique.

Un mélange entre l’Espagne, le Colorado et Tompkins Square Park.

Est-ce que ton style a évolué en vieillissant ?
Je ne me suis jamais considéré comme une personne particulièrement “stylée” – ce n’est que quand j’ai arrêté ma recherche de ce que je pensais devoir porter que ma vraie personnalité a émergé en matière de style. Maintenant, je suis à la recherche de ce qui me fait plaisir – parfois je trouve quelque chose et il y a une étincelle, je suis enthousiaste, inspiré. Mon style est constitué de ces différents moments dans le temps. J’ai réussi à trouver du réconfort et de l’enthousiasme dans le fait d’utiliser mon style comme une humble représentation de qui je suis et de la manière dont je choisis de consommer. De manière consciente et avec parcimonie, en me concentrant sur la qualité et l’intégrité.

La pièce la plus précieuse de ta garde-robe ?
En ce moment, ça se joue entre une belle chemise en soie à imprimé de Bruta et cette veste de mécanicien Huf que m’a offerte mon ami Cesar Villalba – c’est aussi ma figure de référence personnelle en matière de mode.

Ce sont deux pièces fortes, chacune dans un style différent et elles parlent à ma personnalité.

Des conseils aux hommes qui ont du mal à trouver leur style ?
Je leurs conseillerais de trouver ce qui leur permet de se sentir à l’aise, ce qui leur donne confiance en eux. Le style est l’expression d’une individualité donc allez-y – l’étrange est bien, le bizarre est génial, il suffit de suivre l’excitation. Une fois que j’ai enfilé des vêtements, je veux pouvoir oublier ce que je porte et simplement aller vivre ma vie. Je trouve que quand je suis trop conscient de mon apparence ou des vêtements que je porte, je perds le plaisir simple d’apprécier là où je suis.

__________

Gabe Kennedy est un Chef, un entrepreneur et un globe-trotter. Il est le co-fondateur de Plante People, une entreprise de bien-être autour du cannabis. Il a grandi dans le Colorado et vit à New York, il défend l’environnement et il tient vraiment à créer des relations intimes entre notre monde naturel, la nourriture que nous mangeons et nous !

Shop the story

1 comment

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Friends!
  • Friends!
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
Holiday Gift Guide, For Your Girlfriends

Holiday Gift Guide, For Your Girlfriends

Magogodi Makhene, Wayétu Moore, female friendship, dore

How to Make Grown Woman Friendships—A Conversation with Wayétu Moore

Curating Copenhagen’s Art Scene: Anne & Mette Helena’s Kunstsalonen

Curating Copenhagen’s Art Scene: Anne & Mette Helena’s Kunstsalonen

atelier dore clothing renewal

Clothing Renewal

Carte Blanche: Turning a Creative Passion into a Business - Clare Vivier, Tina Frey and Ellen Marie Bennett garance dore pardon my french

Carte Blanche: Turning a Creative Passion into a Business

A Weekend With Disposable Magazine

A Weekend With Disposable Magazine

atelier dore 6 designers on creativity moodboard

7 Designers on When They Feel Most Creative

Sophie On Tour

Sophie On Tour

atelier dore studio visit streicher sisters striiike beauty

Three Sisters on Creative Entrepreneurship

DORE_FASHION_STREET_STYLE_GABE_KENNEDY

A Street Style with Gabe Kennedy

1 year ago by

How would you describe your style in three words?

Functional, Sustainable, Eclectic.

Spain meets Colorado meets Tompkins Square Park.

How has your style evolved as you’ve gotten older?

I never thought of myself as a particularly ‘fashionable’ person – It wasn’t until I stopped looking around for what I thought I should be wearing that my own personality of style emerged. I now look to what gives me delight – every now and then I see something and feel a spark, excited and inspired. My style is made up of those moments in time. I have found comfort and excitement in using my style as a humble representation of who I am and how I choose to consume. Consciously and sparingly, with an emphasis on quality and integrity.

Favorite item of clothing in your closet?

Right now it is between this beautiful patterned silk shirt from Bruta, or this mechanic’s jacket from Huf, that my friend, Cesar Villalba, gave me – he also happens to be my personal fashion icon.

Both make a statement in their own way and speak to my personality…

Any advice to men still struggling to hit their own style strides?

I would encourage them to connect with what feels comfortable and instills a sense of confidence. Style is an expression of individualism, so go for it – quirky is good, weird is great, follow the excitement. Once I put something on, I want to forget that I am wearing it and just go do my thing. I find that when I am too conscious about my appearance or the clothing I am wearing it takes me out of simply enjoying where I am.

__________

Gabe Kennedy is a Chef, Entrepreneur, and world traveler. He is the Co-Founder of Plant People, a Cannabis wellness brand. Colorado-raised and NYC-based, he is an environmental advocate and passionate about creating intimate connections between our natural world, the food we eat, and each other! Follow along with him on Instagram here.

Shop the story

1 comment

Add yours

From the Archives

Holiday Gifting
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

lessons in gifting steven alan presents expert series garance dore photos

Lessons In… Gifting