FASHION_STREET_STYLE_JULIANA_SALAZAR

A Street Style with Juliana Salazar

4 years ago by

Je porte une robe blanche très légère avec de la broderie anglaise de Sandy Liang avec des baskets Adidas, des chaussettes blanches hautes et un sac en paille. Je trouve que le contraste entre la robe très féminine et le bas du corps plus masculin (chaussettes blanches + baskets) + le sac en paille reflète assez fidèlement mon style. L’ensemble ne semble pas très réfléchi mais c’est un parfait équilibre de tout ce que j’aime. J’adore assortir des choses qui ne vont normalement pas ensemble, et plus généralement les contrastes, par exemple la manière dont les longs fils noirs de la robe Sandy Liang rendent cette robe, qui serait sinon très angélique, plus stylé. Ou le fait que mon sac style plage n’a rien à voir avec mes baskets sportives. Je dis toujours en riant que ce qu’il y a de plus Miami chez moi c’est que j’adore être habillée tout en blanc, donc vous me verrez souvent comme ça.

Malgré la quantité de choses dans mon placard, si je suis pressée je fais toujours confiance à une chemise oversize. Elles s’adaptent à tout, j’adore ! Et si pratiques ! Elles peuvent être portées pour un look parfait dans quasiment toutes les occasions possibles, et ne semblent jamais dépassées.

Je dirais que la mode c’est ce qu’on vous présente tandis que le style, c’est la façon dont tu interprètes et appliques cette information. Le style, c’est la manière dont tu choisis de suivre ou non une tendance, ou dont tu intègres certaines pièces (la mode) proposées par les designers dansce ce qui est déjà dans ton placard. Ton style est unique tandis que la mode s’applique à tous.

Depuis que je vis à New York, j’ai des vêtements beaucoup plus pratiques. J’ai toujours fait le choix du confort et du polyvalent dans les vêtements que je porte et achète mais il est certain que je possède beaucoup moins de talons hauts qu’avant. J’ai grandi à Miami donc avant j’étais à fond sur les très hauts talons. Et l’autre jour j’ai pris conscience alors que je me préparais pour une soirée habillée que je n’ai quasiment plus de talons. A New York, je cours toujours à travers la ville et j’adore marcher donc il me faut des chaussures qui me le permettent. En plus, je déteste porter trop de choses donc je ne veux pas prendre des baskets pour le trajet et changer ensuite.

_________________
Vous pouvez suivre Juliana Salazer et son style ici.

Shop the story

2 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
accessorizing outerwear atelier dore coats and jewels

Put an Earring On It

Coats, Coats, Coats!

Coats, Coats, Coats!

Winter Skincare

Winter Skincare

Rebecca on Mercer

Rebecca on Mercer

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

FASHION_STREET_STYLE_JULIANA_SALAZAR

A Street Style with Juliana Salazar

2 years ago by

I am wearing a very airy white eyelit Sandy Liang dress with Adidas sneakers, white calf socks, and a straw bag. I think the contrast between a very girly dress and my more boyish lower half (white socks + sneakers) + straw bag reflects my style pretty accurately. It seems pretty random but just the perfect amount of all the things I love. I love pairing things that wouldn’t normally go together and contrasts in general, for example how this sandy Liang dress has long black string accents that give an otherwise very angelic dress some edge. Or how my rather beachy bag has nothing to do with my sportier footwear choice. I always joke around that the most Miami thing about me is that I love to wear all white, so you’ll often see me in that.

No matter how many other things I have in my closet, if I’m ever in a rut an oversized button down saves the day. I love how versatile they are. And so reliable! You can style it to be perfect for almost any occasion and they never feel old.

I would say fashion is what is presented to you, and style is how you interpret or apply that information. Style is whether you choose to follow a trend or not, or how you incorporate the items (the fashion) designers are putting out there into your existing wardrobe. Your style is unique whereas fashion is for everyone.

I’m a much more practical dresser living in New York. I’ve always opted for comfort and versatility when it comes to the things I wear and buy, but I definitely do not own as many heels as I used to. I grew up in Miami so I used to be all about super high heels. I actually realized the other day as I was getting ready for a formal party that I barely own heels anymore. In New York I’m always running around the city and I love to walk so I need to be in shoes that allow me to do that. I also hate carrying around too many things so I don’t do the whole sneakers for my commute and then change thing.

_________________
Follow along with Juliana Salazer and her style here.

Shop the story

2 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Holiday Gifting
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

lessons in gifting steven alan presents expert series garance dore photos

Lessons In… Gifting