commissions_final_capitol_atelier_dore_1 (1)

Capitol’s Capsule Collection

2 years ago by

Maintenant que vous avez découvert le pouvoir de séduction de Laura et de Capitol, vous ne serez pas surpris pas d’apprendre qu’elle s’est associée à une vingtaine de designers, dont Rosie Assoulin, Olympia Le-Tan, the Elder Statesman et Tabitha Simmons (pour n’en citer que quelques-uns), pour produire une Capitol Capsule Anniversary Collection avec Farfetch. Évidemment, on mourait d’envie de s’amuser avec cette capsule, alors on vous a concocté un petit Fashion Edit.

Capitol Atelier Dore

Capitol Atelier Dore

Capitol Atelier Dore

On a voulu mettre en scène quelques-unes de nos pièces préférées et on a tout de suite pensé à notre chère Pia Mechler pour les sublimer. Pia a beau être née en Allemagne, elle possède ce « charme du Sud » que Laura devrait apprendre à capturer pour qu’on puisse lui en acheter des flacons. Pia est bienveillante, drôle et surtout, c’est une femme indépendante, on l’a découvert dans son In Her Words. J’ai remarqué que cette dextérité et cette force sont des qualités que Laura cherche à tout prix à encourager chez les jeunes femmes qui travaillent pour elle à Capitol.

Capitol Atelier Dore

commissions_final_capitol_atelier_dore_15

Capitol Atelier Dore

« Cette robe est un clin d’œil à une période que j’adore, les seventies. Harley Viera-Newton a imaginé une nouvelle version de sa célèbre robe chemise avec un imprimé végétal qui évoque le jardin vertical conçu par Patrick Blanc pour la cour intérieure de Capitol. » – Laura

Capitol Atelier Dore

Capitol Atelier Dore

Capitol’s Capsule Collection

commissions_final_capitol_atelier_dore_11

commissions_final_capitol_atelier_dore_12

Pour cette robe, Laura souhaitait une pièce fonctionnelle qui puisse être portée la journée comme le soir – Peter Pilotto s’est vraiment montré à la hauteur de ses attentes.

Quand elle évoque sa garde-robe, Laura admet n’avoir aucune affinité pour les décolletés et les jupes courtes. Pour elle, les femmes ont bien plus que ça à offrir. Elle achète (et désormais, avec cette collection, crée) pour la femme du Sud, une femme à la fois forte et douce, drôle et réservée, tendre mais aussi un peu rebelle. Et par dessus tout, complexe. Et c’est probablement ce qui fait tout son charme.

Capitol Atelier Dore
Capitol Atelier Dore

6 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • Holiday Gifting
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
dore the outnet sophie auster

A Creative Life: Sophie & Spencer

Julie Houts Atelier Dore

The Crown Julie

Sag Harbor Summer

Sag Harbor Summer

A Brand and a Soul: Phillip Lim

A Brand and a Soul: Phillip Lim

Pardon my french pat cleveland garance dore photo

Embracing Your Freedom: Pat Cleveland

Mating in Captivity: Esther Perel

Mating in Captivity: Esther Perel

Friendship, Support and Self-Deprecation: Rose & Laura

Friendship, Support and Self-Deprecation: Rose & Laura

Episode 5: Art of Entertaining: Gad Elmaleh and Alireza Niroomand

Episode 5: Art of Entertaining: Gad Elmaleh and Alireza Niroomand

Pardon My French Garance Dore Isabel Marant Caroline de Maigret photo

Episode 4: La Parisienne with Isabel Marant & Caroline de Maigret

commissions_final_capitol_atelier_dore_1 (1)

Capitol’s Capsule Collection

1 year ago by

Now that you know the charm power of Laura and Capitol, I’m sure it’s no surprise she was able to team up with twenty different designers, including Rosie Assouline, Olympia Le-Tan, the Elder Statesman and Tabitha Simmons, (to name a few) and produced a Capitol Capsule Anniversary Collection in partnership with Farfetch. We obviously had to have our fun with the capsule and shoot a little fashion editorial.

Capitol Atelier Dore

Capitol Atelier Dore

Capitol Atelier Dore

We wanted to highlight a few of our favorites from the collection and couldn’t think of a better model than our very own, Pia Mechler. Pia may be German born but she possesses the exact same “Southern Charm” that Laura should learn how to bottle and sell. Pia is gracious, funny, but most importantly, a woman who takes care of herself as evident by her In Her Words. I came to find out that this type of dexterity and strength is something Laura goes out of her way to teach every young woman who comes to work for her at Capitol.

Capitol Atelier Dore

commissions_final_capitol_atelier_dore_15

Capitol Atelier Dore

As Laura explains about the above dress, “this dress is a nod to my favourite decade, the seventies. Harley Viera-Newton created a fresh version of her best-selling shirt dress with a custom botanical print that references the Patrick Blanc-designed vertical garden in Capitol’s courtyard.”

Capitol Atelier Dore

Capitol Atelier Dore

Capitol’s Capsule Collection

commissions_final_capitol_atelier_dore_11

commissions_final_capitol_atelier_dore_12

For the above dress Laura wanted a function piece that could transition from day to night — and Peter Pilotto definitely delivered.

The collection isn’t limited to clothes. It also includes jewelry, shoes, bags, and even a perfume.

When talking about clothes, Laura says short hemlines and cleavage don’t personally interest her because she thinks women have so much more to offer than that. She buys (and now designs, with this collection) for the southern lady that is both strong and soft, funny and reserved, sweet but also a little bit deviant. Above all, she’s complicated, and that’s probably the best thing about her.

Capitol Atelier Dore
Capitol Atelier Dore

6 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Career Stories
  • Career Stories
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
On Career…

On Career…

dore career profile elizabeth roberts architect

Career / Elizabeth Roberts

10 Rules of Being A Creative

10 Rules of Being A Creative

atelier dore 5 women on monetizing creativity shapes

5 Women on Monetizing Creativity

atelier dore jamia wilson career interview feminist press

Career / Jamia Wilson

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

Will Guidara Daniel Humm Atelier Dore

Will Guidara and Daniel Humm Make It Nice

private investigator atelier dore

Careers / Private Investigator

Career / BJ Topol

Career / BJ Topol