ATELIER_DORE_FASHION_KRISTEN_COLE_4510_-10

Forty Five Ten: Redefining the Retail Experience

2 months ago by

In Partnership With Forty Five Ten

Pendant son enfance, ma mère et ma grand-mère s’entassaient tous les mois dans la Cadillac de mon grand-père et roulaient une heure pour aller à I.Magnin, un grand magasin de luxe aujourd’hui disparu à Los Angeles. Ma mère se souvient encore avec nostalgie de I.Magnin quand elle va dans les grands magasins. Je n’ai jamais compris comment on pouvait éprouver de tels sentiments pour un vrai magasin (oui, je suis un peu cliché du millennial), mais maintenant que je connais Forty Five Ten à Hudson Yards, je comprends.

Kristen Cole, Présidente et Chief Creative Officer à Forty Five Ten et 4510/Six, a créé un nouveau modèle de grands magasins avec Forty Five Ten à Hudson Yards, en mêlant l’art et la mode dans quatre magasins distincts – designers femmes, designers hommes, Vintage, et 4510/SIX, un espace dédié aux marques émergentes.

Ok, pour être honnête, je dois avouer que je suis en adoration devant Kristen depuis notre shooting d’elle à Dallas en novembre dernier. J’étais surexcitée à l’idée de l’ouverture d’un Forty Five Ten à New York, pour pouvoir m’immerger dans la vision de Kristen dès que j’en ai envie. Et je dis “immerger” parce que rentrer dans Forty Five Ten donne l’impression de rentrer dans la tête de votre grande soeur, celle qui est cool – vous voyez, la soeur dont vous envahissiez discrètement la chambre pour essayer ses vêtements, regarder ses livres d’art et ses magazines en écoutant sa musique. Cette grande soeur cool a eu la gentillesse de répondre à nos questions, de nous parler de son inspiration, de son envie d’expérience de shopping moderne et de son travail avec son mari pour créer Forty Five Ten à Hudson Yards.

Je peux déjà dire que je partirai fréquemment en pèlerinage à Forty Five Ten ces prochaines années. Et si seulement j’avais une Cadillac pour le faire…

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

L’expérience client est très importante à Forty Five Ten. D’après toi, que recherchent les clients modernes quand ils rentrent dans une boutique, et comment est-ce que Forty Five Ten essaie de répondre à ces besoins ?

A une époque où l’expérience digitale est aussi importante que l’expérience physique, nous avons accentué nos efforts à Forty Five Ten. pour créer une expérience de shopping en boutique vraiment exceptionnelle. Notre partie digitale est notre colonne vertébrale, ce qui fait le lien entre notre client et notre produit, nos actualités et notre marque mais pour moi, c’est le vrai lien créé par les clients en personne qui surpasse tout. Je ressens toujours la pression (et le bonheur) d’offrir non seulement une sélection exceptionnelle et un bon mélange de designers mais aussi un excellent service et une expérience riche, inspirante et multi-sensorielle pour nos clients – je réfléchis aussi beaucoup à l’expérience de voir de l’art au bon endroit. Toutes les pièces que nous vendons devraient sembler uniques, utiles et sophistiquées. Rien ne m’énerve plus que de voir une commercialisation paresseuse. Je considère que la mode est un art donc je ne veux pas le voir diminué par une présentation absurde.

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

Kristen wears vintage Richard Tyler blazer, vintage t-shirt, Rianna + Nina robe (made of vintage silk scarves), vintage Levi’s 501’s, Brother Vellies boots, Andy Wolf glasses

Qu’est-ce qui, à Hudson Yards, semblait particulièrement attirant pour Forty Five Ten. ?

Eh bien, puisque nous parlons d’art, la proximité d’Hudson Yards avec la Highline, Chelsea et toutes les galeries que nous aimons – Dia, Whitney et d’autres – semblait s’aligner parfaitement avec notre marque et notre clientèle. Nous étions aussi séduits par l’énorme quantité de choses à voir et à faire à Hudson Yards. Les restaurants du cinquième étage sont à eux seuls une raison suffisante de venir à Hudson Yards. Forty Five Ten est situé entre la boulangerie Bouchon, Kawi, le nouveau concept de David Chang et la TAK Room de Milos et Thomas Keller. Chacun de nos sept magasins a d’excellentes possibilités pour dîner, soit dans la boutique soit à proximité, nous considérons que cet élément fait partie de notre approche de shopping expérientiel.

Les quatres espaces individuels qui constituent Forty Five Ten à Hudson Yards ont été créés en collaboration par toi et ton mari, Joe Cole. A quoi ressemblait votre collaboration ? Est-ce vous collaborez souvent pour partager votre inspiration ?

Joe et moi partageons la même vision et la même esthétique en matière de design et de beaux-arts. Notre collaboration créative est particulièrement bonne quand nous travaillons sur un projet précis, quelque chose qui nous parle à tous les deux. Nous savions intuitivement que Forty Five Ten New York devait être cool, neuf, innovant. Qu’est-ce qui pourrait nous motiver à faire du shopping ici ? Nous étions tous les deux d’accord sur le fait qu’il fallait créer un magasin moderne à l’aide d’influences et de matériaux un peu futuristes. Nous avons engagé de nombreux artistes et fabricants talentueux pour nous aider à réaliser notre vision. Nous sommes très heureux du résultat et, évidemment, nous faisons tous les deux du shopping ici…

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

Forty Five Ten propose une incroyable sélection d’objets “non mode” maison et beauté, en plus de la mode. Est-ce que tu utilises le même regard critique que tu as pour la mode quand tu fais ta sélection maison et beauté ? Ou est-ce une partie de ton instinct d’acheteuse qui intervient ?

Oui, le design, l’art et la beauté sont aussi importants pour moi que la mode. C’est une marque profondément lifestyle et je vis avec tout ce que nous vendons. Ma maison (et en particulier mon placard) sont pleins des designers, des artistes contemporains et des créateurs que nous vendons et exposons à Forty Five Ten. C’est un prolongement de mon esthétique et j’ai toujours adoré la réflexion et l’énergie créées grâce au mélange imprévu de produits. J’adore voir nos clients faire leur shopping en évoluant entre notre prêt-à-porter designer, nos imprimés, nos objets design… Cela permet de montrer plus de choses et j’espère que ça permet à tout le monde de découvrir quelque chose de neuf. J’adore le style moderne épuré – mais avec des textures riches, des pièces vintage et des oeuvres d’art.

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

Où trouves-tu l’inspiration, hors de la mode ? Est-ce qu’il y a certains artistes, des musiciens ou des personnalités vers lesquels tu te tournes toujours ? Ou même un ami ou un membre de ta famille ?

L’art, la littérature et la musique – toujours. Je visite régulièrement des galeries, des musées et des expositions et je vis avec l’art chez moi et dans mon bureau. Je lis beaucoup et je suis souvent inspirée par les biographies que je lis, la littérature féministe, la poésie et même de la fiction. Je suis très geek et je prends des notes dans tout ce que je lis. J’ai eu plein de super nouvelles idées pour le boulot grâce à ma nouvelle lecture (les mémoires de Bill Cunningham, Fashion Climbing). C’est tellement inspirant ! J’adore tous ceux qui ont une vision unique et sincère.

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

Forty Five Ten n’est clairement pas un magasin de grand-mère. On dirait plutôt que c’est un regard vers le futur, un mélange entre la mode, l’art et l’expérientiel. Qu’est-ce qui t’enthousiasme le plus quand tu réfléchis au futur de la mode ?

Merci ! Tu as tout compris ! J’essaie de créer une expérience de shopping indispensable pour la prochaine génération. Nous voyons tous les jours de plus en plus d’images et nous avons de plus hautes attentes. J’en attends beaucoup de moi-même pour créer une expérience et une sélection exceptionnelle. Pour qu’un client quitte son téléphone ou son ordinateur et se dirige vers un magasin, il faut offrir une vraie expérience. Voir des choses belles et inattendues, avoir un excellent service avec des vrais êtres humains, pouvoir toucher nos tissus et essayer les vêtements… Ce sont des plaisir indéniables et des opportunités pour que nos clients puissent élargir leurs horizons et, je l’espère, découvrir quelque chose de neuf. Même si nous allons peut-être voir de nouvelles technologies, de nouveaux outils se développer ou disparaître, je suis certaine que ce lien sera toujours au coeur de notre activité.

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
Forty Five Ten: Redefining the Retail Experience

Kristen wears Jil Sander jacket and dress, Ellery boots, Spinelli Kilcollin earring, Andy Wolf glasses

6 comments

Ajouter le votre
  • Jeffrey Douglas 9 mai 2019, 10:06 / Répondre

    I miss the original Forty Five Ten at 4510 McKinney Dallas. The intimacy, style and flair.

  • LOVE Forty Five Ten!! The Hudson Yards boutique is such a different feel than Dallas, thank you for this. xxxxxx

  • Jorge Alexandre Teixeira 10 mai 2019, 3:17 / Répondre

    *_* + *_* !!!

  • Beautiful

  • Lindsey Wagner 13 mai 2019, 11:28 / Répondre

    A beautiful looking store, but can it ever compete with the bigger department stores if it doesn’t carry women’s sizes above an 8?! Size inclusion is the wave of the future and will determine a store’s success.

  • Naydeline 15 mai 2019, 6:23 / Répondre

    Can’t wait to visit this shop next time I’m in Hudson Yards!

From the Archives

La Plage
  • La Plage
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned

Beach on the Brain

atelier dore market story hats summer swim

Summer Hats

The Surf Lodge

The Surf Lodge

Net A Porter Atelier Dore

A L.A. Holiday

Down to Earth Swim

Down to Earth Swim

The Sun

The Sun

Sun

Sun

body happy garance dore photo

Body Happy

Beach Bum

Beach Bum

ATELIER_DORE_FASHION_KRISTEN_COLE_4510_-10

Forty Five Ten: Redefining the Retail Experience

4 months ago by

In Partnership With Forty Five Ten

Every few months during my mom’s childhood, she and my grandmother would pile into my grandfather’s Cadillac and drive an hour to visit I.Magnin, a now defunct luxury department store in Los Angeles. My mom still wistfully recalls I.Magnin when referencing department stores. I never understood how one could attribute such longing to a brick and mortar store (yes, I’m on the cusp of millennialism), but after stepping into Forty Five Ten at Hudson Yards, I get it.

Kristen Cole, President and Chief Creative Officer of Forty Five Ten and 4510/ Six, has created the next generation of department stores with Forty Five Ten at Hudson Yards by blending art and fashion into four distinct store fronts — Women’s Designer, Men’s Designer, Vintage, and 4510/SIX, dedicated to emerging labels.

Okay, truthfully I was bitten by the bug of adoration for Kristen after we shot her in Dallas last November. I was giddy to have a Forty Five Ten open in New York so I could be immersed in Kristen’s vision whenever I please. I say “immersed” because stepping into any Forty Five Ten is like stepping into your cooler, older sister’s mind — you know, the sister whose room you snuck into to try on her clothes, thumb through her art books and magazines while listening to her records. That cooler, older sister was kind enough to answer a few questions for us about her inspiration, want for modern retail experiences, and working with her husband to design Forty Five Ten at Hudson Yards.

It’s not too early to say I will be making the pilgrimage to Forty Five Ten quite often in the upcoming years. If only I had a Cadillac to do so in…

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

The customer experience is so important to Forty Five Ten. What do you think modern shoppers are looking for when they step into a store and how is Forty Five Ten working towards meeting those needs?

In a time where the digital experience is as important as the in person experience, we have heightened our efforts at Forty Five Ten to create a truly exceptional in-store shopping experience. Our digital arm is the backbone and connects our client with our product, news and brand, but for me, the real connections clients make one-on-one with us trumps all. I always feel the pressure (and joy) to provide not only an exceptional edit and designer brand mix, but great service and a layered, inspiring, multi-sensory experience for our shoppers—I think a lot about the experience of seeing art in the right place. Every piece we sell should feel special, purposeful, and elevated. Nothing irks me more than seeing sloppy merchandising. I see fashion as art, so I don’t want to see it diminished by thoughtless display.

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

Kristen wears vintage Richard Tyler blazer, vintage t-shirt, Rianna + Nina robe (made of vintage silk scarves), vintage Levi’s 501’s, Brother Vellies boots, Andy Wolf glasses

What, specifically, about Hudson Yards was so appealing for Forty Five Ten.?

Well, on the note of art, Hudson Yards’ proximity to the Highline, Chelsea and all the galleries we love— the Dia, The Whitney Museum and more— felt like perfect alignment for our brand and our clientele. We were also compelled by the critical mass of things to do and see in Hudson Yards. The restaurants alone on our fifth floor are a fabulous reason to visit Hudson Yards. Forty Five Ten sits between Bouchon Bakery, David Chang’s new concept Kawi, Milos and Thomas Keller’s TAK Room. Each of our seven stores have great dining either within or around them, so we embrace that element of this experiential shopping approach.

The four individual spaces that comprise Forty Five Ten at Hudson Yards were designed by you in collaboration with your husband, Joe Cole. What was it like working together? Do you routinely collaborate and share inspiration?

Joe and I really have a shared vision and aesthetic when it comes to design and fine art. We collaborate best creatively when it is on a very specific project, that speaks to us both. We knew intuitively that Forty Five Ten New York needed to be cool, fresh and forward. What would compel us to shop there? We were in sync immediately to create a modern shop by way of lo-fi futuristic influences and materials. We hired a number of talented artists and fabricators to work with us to achieve the vision. We are so happy with how the spaces have turned out, and we both shop there, of course…

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

In addition to fashion, Forty Five Ten also curates an amazing selection of “not fashion” goods for the home and beauty. Do you use the same discerning eye you use for fashion, when curating for the home and beauty? Or is it a different part of your buying instinct that kicks into gear?

Yes, the design, art and beauty are just as important to me as the fashion. This is truly a lifestyle brand, and I live with everything we sell. My home (and closet in particular) is filled with the designers, contemporary artists and makers we sell and showcase at Forty Five Ten. It’s an extension of my aesthetic and I’ve always loved the concept and the energy created from the unexpected mix of product. I love watching how our client cross-shops between our designer ready-to-wear, our printed matter, our design objects… it expands the conversation and hopefully gives everyone something new to discover. I love clean modernism– but with rich textures, vintage nods, and artful expressions.

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

Where do you look to, outside of fashion, for inspiration? Are there certain artists, musicians or personalities you continually find yourself gravitating towards? Or even a personal friend or family member?

Art, literature and music—always. I regularly visit galleries, museums and exhibition spaces, and I live with art in my home and office. I read a lot, and am regularly inspired by the biographies I read, feminist literature, poetry, even fiction. I’m a super nerd and make notations in everything I’m reading. I have some great new work ideas from what I’m reading right now (Bill Cunningham’s memoir, Fashion Climbing). It’s so inspiring! I love anyone with a unique and sincere personal vision.

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole

Forty Five Ten is clearly not your grandma’s department store. Instead it’s looking to the future and blending fashion, art and experiential. What are you most excited about when you think of the future of fashion?

Thank you. You get it! I’m trying to create the must-see shopping for the next generation. As we see more and more images daily, we expect more. I hold myself to a high standard to create an exceptional experience and curation. To get a shopper off of mobile or a computer and to walk into a store, we want to deliver and offer a real experience. Seeing beautiful and unexpected things, having great service with real human beings, getting to feel our fabrics and try on our pieces… these are undeniable pleasures and opportunities for our shoppers to expand their horizons and hopefully discover something new. Though we may see new technology and tools come and go, I am confident this kind of connection will always be at the heart of what we do.

atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
atelier dore forty five ten nyc kristen cole
Forty Five Ten: Redefining the Retail Experience

Kristen wears Jil Sander jacket and dress, Ellery boots, Spinelli Kilcollin earring, Andy Wolf glasses

6 comments

Add yours
  • Jeffrey Douglas May, 9 2019, 10:06 / Reply

    I miss the original Forty Five Ten at 4510 McKinney Dallas. The intimacy, style and flair.

  • LOVE Forty Five Ten!! The Hudson Yards boutique is such a different feel than Dallas, thank you for this. xxxxxx

  • Jorge Alexandre Teixeira May, 10 2019, 3:17 / Reply

    *_* + *_* !!!

  • Beautiful

  • Lindsey Wagner May, 13 2019, 11:28 / Reply

    A beautiful looking store, but can it ever compete with the bigger department stores if it doesn’t carry women’s sizes above an 8?! Size inclusion is the wave of the future and will determine a store’s success.

  • Naydeline May, 15 2019, 6:23 / Reply

    Can’t wait to visit this shop next time I’m in Hudson Yards!

From the Archives

Career Stories
  • Career Stories
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
On Career…

On Career…

dore career profile elizabeth roberts architect

Career / Elizabeth Roberts

10 Rules of Being A Creative

10 Rules of Being A Creative

atelier dore 5 women on monetizing creativity shapes

5 Women on Monetizing Creativity

atelier dore jamia wilson career interview feminist press

Career / Jamia Wilson

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

Will Guidara Daniel Humm Atelier Dore

Will Guidara and Daniel Humm Make It Nice

private investigator atelier dore

Careers / Private Investigator

Career / BJ Topol

Career / BJ Topol