Artboard

Ganni Girls

3 months ago by

In Partnership With GANNI

Garance nous explique toujours qu’il faut être féministe dans ses actes, plutôt que se contenter de beaux mots en le criant sur les toits. Sur les 15 personnes de notre équipe, on trouve 14 femmes et la grande majorité de nos freelancers sont aussi des femmes, sans même parler des centaines de femmes fantastiques que nous présentons sur le site. Inutile de dire que le niveau d’oestrogène est élevé dans nos bureaux.

Et donc, même si nous continuons à penser que les actes sont plus importants que les discours, en l’honneur du Mois des femmes, nous avons voulu dédier un moment à la beauté qu’il y a à être une femme. Nous avons conclu un partenariat avec une des marques que nous adorons en ce moment,GANNI, pour nous aider à vous présenter ces trois femmes extraordinaires : Arpana Rayamajhi, Marjon Carlos, et Pam Nasr (et les deux dernières sont aussi amies dans la vraie vie !).

Si vous ne connaissez pas encore cette marque basée à Copenhague, GANNI, nous sommes très heureuses de vous la faire découvrir. GANNI est née en 2000, le rêve initial était de créer le pull en cachemire parfait. En 2009, le couple Ditte et Nicolaj Reffstrup ont rejoint l’entreprise. Ils avaient l’impression qu’il y avait un manque d’esthétique spécifique dans la mode scandinave, et ils allaient le combler. Ce qu’ils ont créé, c’est une marque basée sur la personnalité, l’expérimentation et l’allégresse, tout en adhérant à un look facile à porter au quotidien pour les femmes.

Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls

Marjon Carlos | Journaliste, Editrice, Conférencière, Consultante créative

Comment vous êtes-vous rencontrées avec Pam Nasr ? Peux-tu nous décrire votre relation / amitié ?

En fait, j’ai rencontré Pammy en ligne, grâce à Instagram ! Notre amie commune, Carmen, m’a dit que j’allais adorer cette fille donc nous avons commencé à nous suivre mutuellement. Carmen avait tellement raison : nous nous sommes retrouvées à nous écrire des MP tous les jours, avant même notre rencontre, et un jour, elle est enfin venue à une fête chez moi avec son copain, Gogy, que j’adore aussi. Nous sommes toute de suite devenues amies. J’admire sa passion pour son art et son talent – elle est très ambitieuse mais aussi très aimante et chaleureuse. Elle illumine littéralement la pièce grâce à son style marqué et à sa classe. Elle me rappelle d’être sans peur dans mes projets créatifs, et de ne pas être trop dure avec moi-même. Notre amitié traverse les cultures et nous apprenons tant de l’autre. Nous passons notre temps à parler de cette expérience internationale d’être une femme de couleur. Comme après notre shooting, où nous sommes allées dîner et avons commencé à parler du fait que les mères noires et beurs nous embêtent gentiment de la même manière. C’était hilarant !

Quelle place ont les amitiés féminines à tes yeux ? As-tu l’impression de les prioriser, de t’appuyer sur elles pour évoluer dans le monde en tant que femme ?

En vieillissant, les amitiés féminines sont devenues très importantes pour moi et je fais vraiment des efforts pour en prendre soin. Je continue à rencontrer des femmes incroyables et inspirantes dans cette ville (et sur Instagram) mais je prends aussi le temps de parler avec mes meilleures amies qui vivent à l’autre bout du pays grâce à de très longs coups de téléphone thérapeuthiques (coucou à Dionica et Mia !). Je suis allée dans une école de filles quand j’étais petite, et cette atmosphère crée un environnement de compétition et de jalousie, je détestais ça. J’ai l’impression que mes amitiés avec les femmes aujourd’hui sont réparatrices et permettent de corriger cet horrible schéma qui pousse les femmes les unes contre les autres.

Qu’est-ce que tu préfères dans le fait d’être une femme ?

Je ne suis pas sûre que ce soit parce que je suis une femme, mais je me sens vraiment un sens inné de la protection des gens que j’aime, pour défendre ce qui est juste. J’adore ces qualités chez moi et je les développe de plus en plus.

Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls

Arpana Rayamajhi | Joaillère étudiant la technique Meisner Technique, actrice

Qu’est-ce que tu préfères dans le fait de créer pour des femmes ?

En ce qui concerne la joaillerie, mes inspirations principales sont les bijoux qui donnent l’impression d’exister depuis des années, sinon des dizaines ou des centaines d’années. J’adore les bijoux historiques antiques parce que, le plus souvent, ils ne sont pas minimalistes et ils n’imitent pas le minimalisme. Ces bijoux sont osés et ils m’évoquent un certain type de femme, de celle qui n’a pas peur de repousser ses propres limites. Elle est à l’aise avec sa propre autonomie, au lieu de suivre des tendances, ses pairs, ou une identité de groupe plus grande. Ce que je peux dire, c’est que mon travail n’est pas dicté par des chiffres ou la popularité. Et c’est crucial.

Comment d’autres femmes t’ont-elles aidée dans ta carrière ?

Ma mère sera toujours la numéro un, et ma soeur la numéro deux. Je dois dire que j’ai eu la chance de travailler principalement avec des femmes. Les femmes représentent la majorité de mes clients et les shootings que je fais sont surtout avec des femmes. Et quelques femmes à New York sont la raison pour laquelle je fais ça aujourd’hui. J’ai rarement travaillé avec des hommes, que ce soit des photographes, des vidéastes ou des directeurs de création, etc. , mais j’ai l’impression que les femmes ont montré beaucoup d’intérêt pour mon travail, mon style et, de manière générale, plus de curiosité sur la personne que je suis et d’où je viens. Je suis très chanceuse.

De quoi es-tu la plus fière dans le fait d’être une femme ?

Ma réponse à cette question a beaucoup changé dans les dix dernières années. En tant qu’adulte (ou plutôt, adulte en devenir, qu’est-ce que ça veut dire grandir après tout ?), ce qui me rend le plus fière, c’est que, même si c’est la population (humaine) la plus oppressée, je peux maintenant dire que les femmes et les hommes sont reconnus égaux. Nos corps sont la seule chose qui nous sépare. Je suis fière de dire que je suis aujourd’hui plus ouverte à toute l’humanité, hors des questions de genre, de race, de classe ou de n’importe quoi. Et surtout, je fais moins attention à ce que les gens pensent de mes opinions, si c’est populaire ou non. Je ne crois pas que les femmes soient meilleures que les hommes, ni que les hommes soient meilleurs que les femmes. Je crois au fait d’être une bonne personne, qui prend soin des animaux et de l’environnement, pas seulement de l’humanité.

Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls

Pam Nasr | Directrice de cinéma libanaise

Comment vous êtes-vous rencontrées avec Marjon ? Peux-tu nous décrire votre relation / amitié ?

Marjon et moi, nous nous sommes rencontrées sur Instagram – ma première amie en ligne ! A l’époque, je ne correspondais pas beaucoup par MP mais Marjon était tellement chaleureuse et gentille que nous ne pouvions pas nous arrêter de parler – de n’importe quoi ! Ensuite, elle m’a invitée chez elle pour une soirée taco au poisson et c’était comme si je la connaissais depuis longtemps. Marjon a été très ouverte avec moi, très inspirante et elle permet des conversations géniales, sans jugements – c’est quelque chose que j’adore chez elle. Nous nous faisons toujours découvrir des choses sur nos cultures, et nous parlons de comment nous pouvons inspirer d’autres à faire de bonnes choses dans ce monde.

Je t’ai entendu dire que tu n’aimais pas le fait qu’on demande toujours aux femmes “Qu’est-ce que ça fait d’être une femme dans le monde moderne ?” Peux-tu nous expliquer un peu pourquoi ce n’est pas forcément nécessaire (et peut même porter préjudice) de continuer à poser aux femmes des questions qu’on ne pose pas aux hommes ?

Je ne saurais pas comment répondre autrement à cette question, parce que je suis simplement une femme dans le monde moderne. On m’a aussi demandé ce qui me fait me sentir puissante en tant que femme. On ne demande jamais aux hommes comment ils vivent le fait d’être homme, ou ce qui les fait se sentir puissants en tant qu’hommes. Je comprends l’importance de ces questions étant donné l’ambiance, mais en normalisant ces questions comme une forme d’empouvoirement, nous nous retrouvons à perpétuer les stéréotypes contre lesquels nous luttons. Pour moi, nous sommes tout simplement aussi puissantes, sinon plus.

Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls

ATELIER_DORE_FASHION_GANNI_48040018

ATELIER_DORE_FASHION_GANNI_48040002

Ganni Girls

5 comments

Ajouter le votre
  • Wonderful feature, congratulations. It is important to remember Angela Davis words: feminism will be antiracism or it won’t be. Here is her talk in Madrid, in 2018. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ker6-fQxY4

  • Dear Veronica
    Congratulations on a wonderful article. It is inspirational in many ways. I am a big fan of Garance and her website ever since she started in France. I read about her in the book Parisian Chic by Ines de la Fressange. Another icon of mine. I am writing to you because you mention freelancers in your article. I am a freelance writer and I would love to write for Atelier Dore. Do you source freelancers form a specific platform? What is the process for choosing your freelancers? Thank you so much for your help. All the best to you, Garance and the whole team!
    Eve (email: [email protected])

  • Naydeline 27 mars 2019, 11:56 / Répondre

    Yay, it’s out!! Congrats to the team. This editorial is AMAZING~

  • « le niveau d’oestrogène est élevé dans nos bureaux »: savez vous que les femmes menopausées n ont plus d oestrogenes circulants…il n y a que des femmes entre 12 et 50 ans dans vos bureaux?

  • Thanks for the information.

    Check this for blogs to update your knowledge on social media .

From the Archives

Shoes!
  • Shoes!
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
DAD SNEAKERS

DAD SNEAKERS

The Shoes Have It

The Shoes Have It

Socks Atelier Dore

Sock It!

Mules Atelier Dore

Mules Made for Walking

If the Sneaker Fits

If the Sneaker Fits

Let it Slide

Let it Slide

fashion essential the espadrille atelier dore photo

The Espadrille

bye bye heels garance dore illustration

Bye Bye Heels

White Hot!

White Hot!

Artboard

Ganni Girls

3 months ago by

In Partnership With GANNI

Garance routinely speaks about simply being a feminist through actions, as opposed to relying on words and shouting about it from the rooftops. Of our 15 staff members, 14 are women, and the large majority of our freelancers are also women, not to mention the hundreds of phenomenal women we profile on the site. Needless to say, the estrogen in this office runs deep.

So while we still think actions speak louder than words, in honor of Women’s Month we wanted to take a moment to highlight the beauty in being a woman. We partnered with one of our favorite brands right now, GANNI, to help introduce you to three extraordinary women: Arpana Rayamajhi, Marjon Carlos, and Pam Nasr (the latter two also happen to be friends IRL!).

If you don’t already know about the Copenhagen based brand, GANNI, we’re thrilled to introduce you to them. GANNI was birthed in 2000 and originally started out with a dream to create the perfect cashmere knit. In 2009, husband and wife team, Ditte and Nicolaj Reffstrup joined the company. They felt that Scandinavian fashion was missing a particular aesthetic, and they were going to be the ones to fill it. What they created is a brand based on personality, experimentation and playfulness, while still adhering to a look that women can easily reach for and wear everyday.

Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls

Marjon Carlos | Journalist, Editor, Public Speaker, Creative Consultant

How did you and Pam Nasr meet? Can you describe your relationship / friendship?

I actually met Pammy on the internet through Instagram! Our mutual friend, Carmen, told me I would love this girl, and so we started following each other. Carmen was so right: we found ourselves DMing one another every day before we had even met, and then she finally through to one of my house parties with her boyfriend, Gogy, who I also adore. We hit it off immediately. I admired her passion for her craft and talent–she was super ambitious, but very loving and warm. She literally lights up a room with her obvious style and swag. She reminds me to be fearless in my creative endeavors and not to be so hard on myself. Our friendship is also cross-cultural and we learn so much from one another. We always wind up talking about the international experience of being a WOC. Like after our shoot, we had dinner and started talking about how black and brown moms lovingly nag on us in the same ways. It was hilarious!

What do female friendships mean to you? Do you find yourself prioritizing them, relying on them to help navigate the world as a woman?

Female friendships have become so important to me as I grow older and I really work to nurture them. I continually meet incredible and inspiring women in this city (and on the gram!), but I also make time to check in with my bffs who live across the country with really long, therapeutic phone calls (shout out to Dionica and Mia!). I went to an all-girls school growing up and that atmosphere creates an environment of competition and resentment, and I hated that shit. I feel like my friendships with women now are restorative and about correcting that ugly pattern that pits women against women.

What’s your favorite thing about being a woman?

I’m not sure if this can be attributed to being a woman, but I definitely feel an innate sense to protect the people that I care about, and to stand up for what’s right. I love those qualities about myself and I lean into them more and more.

Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls

Arpana Rayamajhi | Jeweler and Actress, studying Meisner Technique

What do you love most about designing for women?

In jewelry, my main inspirations are jewels that seem and feel like they have lived for years, if not decades and centuries. I love historical antique jewelry because, for the most part, they aren’t as minimal and don’t mimic minimalism. The jewels are bolder and it makes me think of a certain type of woman, one who is not afraid to push her own boundaries. She is comfortable being autonomous, rather than always catering to trends, or peers, or a larger group identity. The one thing I can say is that numbers and popularity do not dictate my work. And that is crucial.

How have fellow women helped you most over the course of your career?

My mom will always be number one and my sister will always be number two. I have to say that I have been very fortunate to work mostly with women. Most of my clients are women and the shoots I do are mainly with women. And a few select women in New York have been the reason why I do what I do. I have rarely worked with men, be it photographers, or videographers, or creative directors, etc., but I feel like women have shown a lot of interest in my work, my style, and just a general curiosity about who I am and where I am from. I’m very fortunate.

What are you most proud of about being a woman?

My answer to this has changed so much in the last 10 years. As an adult (or rather an adult in the making, because what is growing up anyway?), what makes me most proud is that despite being of the largest (human) oppressed demographic, I am now able to say that women and men are being recognized as equal. The only thing that separates us is our bodies. I am proud to say that I am now more open to all of humanity, irrespective of gender, race, class, whatever it might be. And most importantly, I care less about how people think about where I stand ideologically whether it is popular or not so popular. I do not think women are better than men and I do not think men are better than women. I believe in being a good person who can care for animals and the environment, not just humanity.

Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls

Pam Nasr | Lebanese Film Director

How did you and Marjon meet? Can you describe your friendship?

Marjon and I met on instagram – my first internet friend! At the time, I didn’t interact much via DM, but Marjon was so warm and personable, we just couldn’t stop talking – about everything! She then invited me over to her place for a fish taco night, and it was as if I had known her for a long time. Marjon has been super open with me, super inspiring, and allows for great conversation with no judgement – I love that about her. We constantly inform one another about our cultures and talk about how we can inspire others and do well in this world.

I overheard you saying that you dislike that women are always asked, “what’s it like being a woman in the modern world.” Can you speak a bit on why it might not be necessary (and may even be potentially harmful) to continue to ask women these questions that are not asked of men?

I really wouldn’t know how else to answer that question because I simply am a woman in the modern world. I was also asked what makes me feel powerful as a woman. We never ask men how they feel to be a man or what makes them feel powerful about being a man. I do understand the importance of these questions given the climate, but by normalizing these questions as a form of empowerment, we are perpetuating the same stereotypes that we often stand against. I see us just as powerful, if not more.

Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls
Ganni Girls

ATELIER_DORE_FASHION_GANNI_48040018

ATELIER_DORE_FASHION_GANNI_48040002

Ganni Girls

5 comments

Add yours
  • Wonderful feature, congratulations. It is important to remember Angela Davis words: feminism will be antiracism or it won’t be. Here is her talk in Madrid, in 2018. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ker6-fQxY4

  • Dear Veronica
    Congratulations on a wonderful article. It is inspirational in many ways. I am a big fan of Garance and her website ever since she started in France. I read about her in the book Parisian Chic by Ines de la Fressange. Another icon of mine. I am writing to you because you mention freelancers in your article. I am a freelance writer and I would love to write for Atelier Dore. Do you source freelancers form a specific platform? What is the process for choosing your freelancers? Thank you so much for your help. All the best to you, Garance and the whole team!
    Eve (email: [email protected])

  • Naydeline March, 27 2019, 11:56 / Reply

    Yay, it’s out!! Congrats to the team. This editorial is AMAZING~

  • “le niveau d’oestrogène est élevé dans nos bureaux”: savez vous que les femmes menopausées n ont plus d oestrogenes circulants…il n y a que des femmes entre 12 et 50 ans dans vos bureaux?

  • Thanks for the information.

    Check this for blogs to update your knowledge on social media .

From the Archives

Shoes!
  • Shoes!
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
DAD SNEAKERS

DAD SNEAKERS

The Shoes Have It

The Shoes Have It

Socks Atelier Dore

Sock it!

Mules Atelier Dore

Mules Made for Walking

If the Sneaker Fits

If the Sneaker Fits

Let it Slide

Let it Slide

fashion essential the espadrille atelier dore photo

The Espadrille

bye bye heels garance dore illustration

Bye Bye Heels

White Hot!

White Hot!