DORE_FASHION_THREE_LOOKS_ANNINA_HEE_12

Three Looks with Anina Hee

2 months ago by

Photos Asia Typek

Nous sommes incroyablements fans de la collection de basiques élégants d’Anina Hee, Refine. Et ceux qui connaissent son style de design ne seront pas surpris de découvrir que son style personnel est tout aussi élégant, sensuel et… raffiné. Nous avons retrouvé Anina pour discuter de ses sources d’inspiration pour la collection, de son amour du design intemporel et de ce qu’elle aime…

Three Looks with Anina Hee

DORE_FASHION_THREE_LOOKS_ANNINA_HEE_11

DORE_FASHION_THREE_LOOKS_ANNINA_HEE_2

Ton style en trois mots ou phrases.

Je n’en ai besoin que d’un : intemporel.

Ta tenue ou ton uniforme idéal ?

En général, j’aime associer les contraires. Par exemple, j’adore porter une veste en jean sur une petite robe en soie à fines bretelles. Ou porter des talons avec un cycliste. J’ai un look plutôt classique. Depuis que j’ai lancé REFINE, je porte le plus souvent une jupe Lydia avec un t-shirt ou le caraco Kate avec un jean taille haute et une veste.

Où as-tu trouvé l’inspiration pour créer Refine ? Par qui, ou par quoi as-tu été influencée en tant que designer ?

On m’a toujours appris à acheter des vêtements de qualité. Mes parents ont une entreprise de textile centrée sur des tissus de luxe produits en Suisse et en Italie, et ils m’ont donc appris à faire très attention, en tant que consommatrice, à l’origine des produits.

Quand j’étais éditrice chez Net-a-Porter, j’avais accès à des vêtements et des accessoires de luxe – c’est-à-dire que j’avais une réduction quand j’achetais les pièces de qualité dans lesquelles je voulais investir. Je me suis rendu compte que c’était difficile de trouver des vêtements de qualité à un prix abordable – je me suis demandé comment je ferais pour me permettre ces pièces si je ne travaillais pas dans le milieu. C’est comme ça que j’ai décidé de lancer Refine. L’idée était de faire des vêtements beaux, durables et accessibles, avec les tissus de la meilleure qualité possible, produits en Italie.

La même idée s’applique en design. Nos styles sont faits pour durer pendant encore des années, ce sont des pièces qui méritent l’investissement, des classiques vestimentaires. Le but n’est pas d’inventer quelque chose de neuf mais de peaufiner des formes qui existent déjà et ont résisté au test du temps.

Three Looks with Anina Hee

Qu’est-ce qui est le plus important à tes yeux : le confort, la beauté ou l’innovation ?

Le confort. C’est quand je porte des vêtements qui me vont, que j’ai depuis longtemps, que je me sens le mieux – j’ai confiance en moi et je crois que c’est ce qui rend une personne belle ! C’est essentiel pour les pièces que nous créons à REFINE. C’est quelque chose d’essentiel dans nos vêtements à REFINE. Ils sont faits pour les femmes. Je veux créer des pièces qui mettent en valeur la beauté d’une femme, pas la masquer. Le but est de lui donner confiance en elle.

En ce qui concerne l’innovation, je crois que c’est plus important de l’utiliser pour la production que le design. Mon but est de rendre le cycle de production plus écolo que le précédent à chaque collection. C’est difficile d’essayer d’être aussi que durable que possible, surtout pour une petite marque avec des ressources limitées. Mais je suis sûre que nous y arriverons, petit à petit.

Qu’est-ce qui t’enthousiasme dans la mode en ce moment ?

C’est une période très excitante pour la mode en ce moment. C’est une période de grand changement positif. Et il y a deux choses qui m’enthousiasment tout particulièrement en ce moment.

Pour commencer, le secteur de la mode commence à prêter plus attention au développement durable. Je crois sincèrement que je n’aurais pas réussi, il y a cinq ans, à lancer une entreprise de vente directe aux clients, avec une chaîne de production de qualité et transparente. Aujourd’hui, les clients se soucient de demander l’origine et la méthode de production d’un produit, et ils sont prêts à payer un peu plus cher pour quelque chose qui va durer.

La re-définition des standards de la beauté est un autre mouvement d’importance. Je pense à la prochaine génération de filles qui vont, j’espère, grandir avec une nouvelle définition de la beauté en tête. Je suis l’aînée de quatre filles et j’aurais aimé que nous puissions traverser cette période de l’adolescence en ayant des normes de beauté plus inclusives.

Il y a encore beaucoup de progrès à faire mais ce qui est génial, c’est que les choses sont en train de changer.

Three Looks with Anina Hee

Magazine préféré ?

Vogue Paris, Porter et Unconditional

La dernière chose qui a influencé ton style ?

Le lancement de REFINE, je quitte très rarement la maison sans en porter au moins une pièce.

La dernière lecture que tu as aimée ?

Je ne lis pas beaucoup. Je préfère écouter des podcasts. Et le dernier que j’ai adoré, c’était le podcast Goop avec Gwyneth Paltrow qui interviewait Brené Brown.

Ta vie de rêve en quelques mots ?

Être comblée.

new image 10

DORE_FASHION_THREE_LOOKS_ANNINA_HEE_7

DORE_FASHION_THREE_LOOKS_ANNINA_HEE_4

DORE_FASHION_THREE_LOOKS_ANNINA_HEE_9

Premier souvenir mode ?

Des chaussures en cuir noir verni, ma mère disait : “Tu peux porter des chaussures vernies ce soir.” et je savais que c’était une grande occasion !

Ton meilleur investissement ?

Mon sac Two for One Tote de The Row

Quand te sens-tu le plus toi-même, en vêtements élégants ou décontractés ?

Entre les deux

Le cadeau que tu fais tout le temps ?

Des fleurs

Parfum ou odeur fétiche ?

Gypsy Water de Byredo

Three Looks with Anina Hee
Three Looks with Anina Hee

5 comments

Ajouter le votre
  • Cool, but how does this relate to friendship, the theme of the month?

  • Veronica McCarthy 8 octobre 2019, 9:41

    Hi Mary! Not everything we post is directly tied to the theme of the month. We used it to guide our long form features. Our franchises like style stories and street styles are then peppered in. Thank so much for reading! x Veronica

  • What a beautiful young woman. I also love wearing opposites but I must say I don’t look nearly as good as Anina. Just like her my patent shoes are my childhood first favourite items. Seems like fashion is an endless circle. I should definitely keep stuff for my daughters!
    The silk dress are so Kate Moss in the nineties. Timeless.

  • Lindsey Wagner 9 octobre 2019, 8:23 / Répondre

    I just get so sad everytime I see a brand advertised that only goes up to a US 8!

  • Mamavalveeta03 14 octobre 2019, 3:58 / Répondre

    I guess “timeless” means something different for the kids. Bike shorts?

From the Archives

DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • Holiday Gifting
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
dore the outnet sophie auster

A Creative Life: Sophie & Spencer

Julie Houts Atelier Dore

The Crown Julie

Sag Harbor Summer

Sag Harbor Summer

A Brand and a Soul: Phillip Lim

A Brand and a Soul: Phillip Lim

Pardon my french pat cleveland garance dore photo

Embracing Your Freedom: Pat Cleveland

Mating in Captivity: Esther Perel

Mating in Captivity: Esther Perel

Friendship, Support and Self-Deprecation: Rose & Laura

Friendship, Support and Self-Deprecation: Rose & Laura

Episode 5: Art of Entertaining: Gad Elmaleh and Alireza Niroomand

Episode 5: Art of Entertaining: Gad Elmaleh and Alireza Niroomand

Pardon My French Garance Dore Isabel Marant Caroline de Maigret photo

Episode 4: La Parisienne with Isabel Marant & Caroline de Maigret

DORE_FASHION_THREE_LOOKS_ANNINA_HEE_12

Three Looks with Anina Hee

1 month ago by

Photos Asia Typek

We’re major fans of Anina Hee‘s line of elevated essentials, Refine. Given her design aesthetic, it’s no surprise that her personal style is just as elegant, sensual, and… refined. We caught up with Anina to hear more about her inspiration for the line, her love of timeless design, and a few of her other favorite things…

Three Looks with Anina Hee

DORE_FASHION_THREE_LOOKS_ANNINA_HEE_11

DORE_FASHION_THREE_LOOKS_ANNINA_HEE_2

Describe your style in three words or phrases.

I only need one: Timeless.

What is your ideal outfit or uniform?

I generally like to combine opposites. For example, I love wearing a denim jacket over a silk slip dress. Or, wearing a heel with cycling shorts. My look is pretty classic. Since I launched REFINE, I usually either wear the Lydia skirt with a t-shirt or the Kate camisole with high waisted jeans and a blazer.

What inspired you to launch Refine? Who or what are you influenced by as a designer?

I have always been trained to buy into quality. My parents run a textile business focused on luxury fabrics that are made in Switzerland and Italy, which meant they educated us on how important it is, as a consumer, to be aware of where things are made.

Working as a fashion editor at Net-a-Porter, I had access to luxury clothes and accessories – meaning I would get a discount when buying the high-quality pieces I wanted to invest in. I realized how hard it was to find good quality at an affordable price – I asked myself how I would be able to afford these pieces without working in the industry. So that’s how I decided to start Refine. The idea was to make beautiful, long-lasting garments accessible using the highest quality materials and limiting production to Italy.

In terms of design, the same idea applies. Our styles are meant to last for years to come, they are investment pieces, wardrobe classics. It’s not about inventing something new, but about refining existing shapes that have stood the test of time.

Three Looks with Anina Hee

What is most important to you: comfort, beauty, or innovation?

Comfort. I feel my best in clothes that fit me, that are worn in – this gives me confidence, which in my opinion, makes a person beautiful! That’s key to the pieces we are creating at REFINE. It is all about the woman. I want to create pieces that accent a woman’s beauty, not outshine her. It’s all about giving her confidence.

In terms of innovation, for me, it’s more important to apply this to production than design. I have set a goal to make the production cycle for each collection more sustainable than the one before. Trying to be as sustainable as possible is complex, especially for a small brand with limited resources. But, I am confident that we will get there step by step.

What are you excited about in fashion right now?

It’s an incredibly exciting time in fashion right now. A huge shift is happening in a very positive way. There are two things I feel most excited about.

One is the industry becoming mindful of sustainability. I honestly think I wouldn’t have been able to start a direct-to-consumer business with quality and a transparent supply chain at its core five years ago. Now, the customer is asking and caring about where and how the product is made, and willing to pay that extra bit for something that will endure.

Re-defining beauty standards is the other important movement. I am thinking about the next generation of girls, who will hopefully be growing up with a new definition of beauty. I am the oldest of four girls and wished we had been able to go through our teenage years with more inclusive beauty norms.

There is still a long way to go, but the exciting thing is that things are shifting.

Three Looks with Anina Hee

Now, rapid fire!

Favorite magazine?

Vogue Paris, Porter and Unconditional

Most recent thing that has influenced your style?

Launching REFINE, I hardly ever leave the house not wearing at least one piece now

Best thing you’ve read recently?

I am not a big reader. I prefer listening to podcasts. The last one that I loved was the Goop Podcast with Gwyneth Paltrow interviewing Brené Brown

Fantasy life in three words?

To be fulfilled

new image 10

DORE_FASHION_THREE_LOOKS_ANNINA_HEE_7

DORE_FASHION_THREE_LOOKS_ANNINA_HEE_4

DORE_FASHION_THREE_LOOKS_ANNINA_HEE_9

First memory of fashion?

Black patent leather shoes, my mum would say, “you can wear your patent shoes tonight,” which meant that it was a special occasion!

Best investment piece?

My Two for One Tote by The Row

Do you feel most yourself dressed up or dressed down?

Somewhere in between

Your go-to thing to gift?

Flowers

Signature perfume or scent?

Byredo’s Gypsy Water

Three Looks with Anina Hee
Three Looks with Anina Hee

5 comments

Add yours
  • Cool, but how does this relate to friendship, the theme of the month?

  • Veronica McCarthy October, 8 2019, 9:41

    Hi Mary! Not everything we post is directly tied to the theme of the month. We used it to guide our long form features. Our franchises like style stories and street styles are then peppered in. Thank so much for reading! x Veronica

  • What a beautiful young woman. I also love wearing opposites but I must say I don’t look nearly as good as Anina. Just like her my patent shoes are my childhood first favourite items. Seems like fashion is an endless circle. I should definitely keep stuff for my daughters!
    The silk dress are so Kate Moss in the nineties. Timeless.

  • Lindsey Wagner October, 9 2019, 8:23 / Reply

    I just get so sad everytime I see a brand advertised that only goes up to a US 8!

  • Mamavalveeta03 October, 14 2019, 3:58 / Reply

    I guess “timeless” means something different for the kids. Bike shorts?

From the Archives

Holiday Gifting
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

lessons in gifting steven alan presents expert series garance dore photos

Lessons In… Gifting