DORE_FASHION_TIE_DIE_1

Tie-Dye: What’s Old is New Again… and Again

4 months ago by

Photos KATIE + JOE

Pour respecter le thème de “grandir”, nous avons chargé Christina de prendre une des pièces préférées de notre enfance, et de composer avec un look élégant et sophistiqué – le tie and dye !

Pour accompagner cet article, nous avons demandé à notre chère amie Amelia de nous parler du retour de la mode du tie and dye. Avec le style spirituel qui la caractérise, elle se plonge dans son histoire et remet en contexte notre toquade d’adulte pour ce motif apparemment adolescent.

_______________
Je suis certaine que mon premier t-shirt tie and dye était une chose affreuse que j’avais faite à un anniversaire d’enfant, mais le premier dont je me rappelle vient du parking derrière un concert de Phish en 1999. Pour nous payer un roadtrip pour suivre le groupe pendant leur tournée en été, nous avions imaginé avec mon frère un super plan pour vendre des objets de marché noir dans les parkings des salles de concert – je mettais l’argent dans des canettes et il avait un sac à dos plein de t-shirts de concert de contrebande.

Tout s’est bien passé… pendant au moins 45 minutes. Mais ensuite, à notre tout premier concert, nous avons été chopés par la sécurité pour travail sans permis et ils ont confisqué tout notre stock. Ils m’ont laissé les $12 que j’avais gagnés et, environ 12 minutes plus tard, j’ai dépensé mon argent pour acheter un t-shirt tie and dye à un autre vendeur à la sauvette. D’un point de vue commercial, c’était absurde : j’avais une dette de $3 (sans compter que j’étais assoiffée), et l’été avait à peine commencé. Mais je m’étais acheté un ticket d’accès en coton pour le monde de la contreculture, et ça me semblait un investissement valable.

dore tie dye fashion editorial

dore tie dye fashion editorial

Au vu de cette première expérience avec le tie and dye, j’étais surprise d’observer les tourbillons psychédéliques sur les podiums et dans les collections de haute couture cette année. Prada, R13, Paco Rabanne, et Proenza Schouler ont tous mis du tie and dye dans leurs collections de printemps. La directrice artistique de Dior, Maria Grazia Chiuri, a même créé des robes de haute couture en soie tie and dye. Un t-shirt tie and dye Stella McCartney se vend facilement $395 sur Net-a-Porter (on pourrait donc dire que j’avais fait une bonne affaire en 1999).

Évidemment, même dans les années 90, j’étais déjà en retard sur la mode kaléidoscopique. D’à peu près 3 000 ans. Les premières traces de teinture datent de la dynastie Tang en Chine entre 618 et 906 avant JC. Le tie and dye, tel qu’on l’imagine, la technique qui consiste à nouer des pièces de tissus entre elles pour créer des motifs blancs sur un fond coloré, date du 8ème siècle au Japon et en Indonésie. C’est une forme d’art nommé shibori ou teinture par nouage, une expression poétique étant donné l’aspect rebelle du tie and dye dans les années 60.

dore tie dye fashion editorial

Et puisqu’on en parle, le tie and dye est d’abord associé aux années 60, même si la tendance était déjà forte dans les années 20 et 30 (les femmes se sont tournées vers le tie and dye maison pendant la Grande Dépression pour se créer de nouvelles maisons et un nouveau décor intérieur bon marché). Janis Joplin, Joe Cocker et John Sebastian portaient tous du tie and dye sur scène à Woodstock en 1969. Jerry Garcia le portait aussi en t-shirt, ainsi que des hordes de fans de Grateful Dead, des Deadheads, qui considéraient le tie and dye quasiment comme une religion.

Cet été va marquer les 50 ans de Woodstock, un anniversaire important qui est peut-être partiellement responsable du retour de ces couleurs hallucinogènes dans nos vies. Difficile d’ignorer aussi les parallèles politiques – mettez Trump à la place de Nixon, eh bien la bataille pour les droits civiques est aussi à fond en ce moment qu’à l’époque. Dans les années 60, le tie and dye était un symbole de protestation et d’individualité autant qu’un symbole d’espoir. Et l’espoir version prêt-à-porter est tout aussi bienvenu qu’avant.

dore tie dye fashion editorial

A un niveau personnel, cet anniversaire marque aussi les 20 ans de ma découverte du monde du tie and dye. Ça m’a donc semblé parfaitement approprié quand je me suis retrouvée, lors d’un récent voyage au Salvador, à Hacienda Los Nacimientos, une ferme d’indigo bio juste à la limite de la ville coloniale de Suchitoto. La ferme est ouverte au public et les visiteurs peuvent la visiter pour apprendre comment cette superbe teinte était cultivée et extraite, et suivre un atelier sur les méthodes shibori. Cette zone est célèbre pour son indigo et les locaux en sont fiers, ce qui explique pourquoi vous verrez partout dans Suchitoto des hommes et des femmes vêtus de bleus de différentes teintes. Même les bâtiments de l’époque coloniale, dont beaucoup ont des façades de couleur pastel estompée, ont un air de tie and dye. “C’est une ville tie and dye”, s’est exclamé un de mes compagnons de voyage. “C’est la cité perdue de l’Atlantide du tie and dye.”

Rhina de Rehmann, la propriétaire de l’Hacienda Los Nacimientos, a ouvert la ferme en 1995, peu après la fin de la violente guerre civile qui a duré 12 ans au Salvador. Elle avait un double but : employer de nombreux anciens militants – beaucoup d’entre eux se battaient depuis leur adolescence et ils ne connaissaient que la guerre – et leur apprendre de nouvelles compétences en matière d’agriculture et de tissus. Elle voulait aussi faire revivre un peu de l’ancienne gloire du Salvador. A l’époque coloniale, l’indigo était tellement précieux qu’on parlait “d’or bleu” et le Salvador était un des plus grands producteurs au monde. Tout s’est arr?té quand les teintures synthétiques ont été introduites et la version naturelle a été abandonnée. Mais ça a changé aujourd’hui, selon Rehmann. Grâce à la montée en puissance de la mode écolo dans les dernières années, les marques ont fait preuve d’un intérêt renouvelé pour les teintures naturelles. L’Hacienda Los Nacimientos fournit maintenant des couleurs à des grandes marques comme Levi’s, Gap, ou Benetton. Et grâce au boom de l’industrie de la teinture, Rehmann peut soutenir sa communauté en créant des postes.

dore tie dye fashion editorial
dore tie dye fashion editorial

Voilà peut-être la vraie raison du retour de la mode des arcs-en-ciel colorés tie and dye : alors que la mode fait plus attention aux pratiques durables, les clients rêvent de vêtements organiques et réels. Et qu’est-ce qui pourrait être plus réel que le tie and dye – une forme d’art que beaucoup d’entres nous avons pratiquée, en nous salissant littéralement les mains au passage ? C’est une tradition rare qui séduit à la fois les fans de haute couture dans les couloirs sacrés de Dior et les gamins turbulents dans le tourbillon des colos.

Jerry Garcia chantait une chanson intitulée “Standing on the Moon”, en référence aux enfants du Salvador et aux misères de la guerre civile. Est-ce qu’il n’aimerait pas savoir aujourd’hui que certains de ces enfants produisent aujourd’hui des teintures à faire pâlir d’envie des Deadheads ? Le cercle est bouclé. Et peut-être mieux, peut-être que ce n’est pas un cercle mais une glorieuse, vibrante torsade.

dore tie dye fashion editorial
dore tie dye fashion editorial
dore tie dye fashion editorial
dore tie dye fashion editorial

dore tie dye fashion editorial

dore tie dye fashion editorial

dore tie dye fashion editorial

(English)

T-Shirt and Pants, Stella McCartney; Shoes, Tibi

Jumpsuit, John Elliott; T-Shirt, Collina Strada

Top, Collina Strada; Skirt, Proenza Schouler; Shoes, Tibi

Hoodie, Polo Ralph Lauren; Briefs, Land of Women

Shirt, Proenza Schouler; Dress, SVNR

Dress, John Elliott; Necklace, Wald Berlin

 

5 comments

Ajouter le votre
  • Oh dear, I love this look and this haircut… You just made me want to have my hair cut this way for the summer, it’s gorgeous.
    Model, dancer, beautiful young woman, I just love these pictures… I wish I was 20 again (in my dreams). But being 20 in my head is basically the same, right?

  • yes Tie Dye Chic. we are LOVE TANJANE and hand dye in OJai California since 1998. love the story beautiful tie dye!

  • La slip dress : facile a porter et tres feminine. Les deux en photos sont magnifiques. (Le modele y contribue !) :-)

  • Tie dye is cool but that HAAIIIRRRCUUT! Screenshotting to bring to my stylist.

  • ilona 14 juin 2019, 8:05

    same! :)

From the Archives

Career Stories
  • Career Stories
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
On Career…

On Career…

dore career profile elizabeth roberts architect

Career / Elizabeth Roberts

10 Rules of Being A Creative

10 Rules of Being A Creative

atelier dore 5 women on monetizing creativity shapes

5 Women on Monetizing Creativity

atelier dore jamia wilson career interview feminist press

Career / Jamia Wilson

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

Will Guidara Daniel Humm Atelier Dore

Will Guidara and Daniel Humm Make It Nice

private investigator atelier dore

Careers / Private Investigator

Career / BJ Topol

Career / BJ Topol

DORE_FASHION_TIE_DIE_1

Tie-Dye: What’s Old is New Again… and Again

3 months ago by

Photos KATIE + JOE

In the spirit of “growing up,” we tasked Christina with taking a favorite clothing item of ours from childhood and styling it in an elevated and mature way–tie-dye!

To accompany the editorial, we enlisted our good friend, Amelia, to share her thoughts on the resurgence of the tie-dye trend. In her ever-witty way, she dives into its history, providing context for our adult infatuation with this seemingly adolescent design.

_______________
I’m sure my first tie-dye shirt was some monstrosity I made at a childhood birthday party, but the one I remember came from a parking lot at a Phish concert in 1999. To finance a multi-state road trip following the band on their summer tour, my brother and I concocted a plan to sell black-market goods in arena parking lots – I’d deal in dollar cans of soda and he had a backpack full of bootleg concert tees.

It was smooth sailing… for at least 45 minutes. But then, at our very first concert, security busted us for operating without a permit and confiscated both of our inventories. They let me keep the $12 I’d made and about 12 minutes later I used the cash to buy a $15 tie-dye tee from another illegal vendor. From a business perspective, it made no sense: I was in the hole $3 (not to mention pretty parched) and the summer had just begun. But I had bought myself a cotton ticket into the counterculture and that felt like a worthwhile investment.

dore tie dye fashion editorial

dore tie dye fashion editorial

Considering my intro to tie-dye, I was surprised to see psychedelic swirls all over runways and high-fashion collections this year. Prada, R13, Paco Rabanne, and Proenza Schouler all included tie-dye in their spring collections. Dior’s creative director, Maria Grazia Chiuri, even crafted couture tie-dye dresses in silk. A Stella McCartney tie-dye tee goes for a cool $395 on Net-a-Porter (so actually, I’d say I got a pretty good deal in 1999).

Of course, even in the 90s I was late to the kaleidoscopic party. Late by almost 3,000 years. The earliest records of dying come from the T’ang Dynasty in China between 618 and 906 BC. Tie-dye as we recognize it, the practice of tying off pieces of fabric to create white designs on a colorful background, dates back to 8th century Japan and Indonesia. This artform is actually called shibori or resist-dying, a phrase that’s especially poetic considering the rebellious nature tie-dye embodied in the 1960s.

dore tie dye fashion editorial

Speaking of which, the 60s is the decade most of us associate with tie-dye, though it did have a moment in the 1920s and 30s (women turned to DIY dying during the Great Depression as an affordable way to create new clothes and home decor). Janis Joplin, Joe Cocker, and John Sebastian all wore tie-dye onstage at Woodstock in 1969. Jerry Garcia not only had the tees, he also had legions of Grateful Dead fans, or Deadheads, that practically treated tie-dye as a religion.

This summer marks 50 years since Woodstock, a momentous anniversary that may be partially responsible for bringing hallucinogenic hues back into our lives. It’s hard to ignore the political parallels as well – swap in Trump for Nixon and, well, the battle for civil rights rages on now just as it did back then. In the 60s, tie-dye was a symbol of protest and individuality as well as a token of hope. Wearable hope is just as welcome today as ever before.

dore tie dye fashion editorial

On a personal note, this summer is also the 20th anniversary of my own entry into tie-dyedom. So it felt right that on a recent trip to El Salvador I found myself at Hacienda Los Nacimientos, an organic indigo farm just outside the colonial town of Suchitoto. The farm is open to the public and visitors can tour the grounds to learn how the brilliant blue dye is grown and extracted, as well as take a workshop in shibori methods. The area is famous for its indigo and the locals are proud, which is why all over Suchitoto you’ll find both men and women decked in blue tie-dye garbs. Even the colonial-era buildings, many of them with pastel facades that have faded over the decades, have a dip-dyed appearance. “It’s a tie-dye town!” I exclaimed to one one of my travel mates. “It’s tie-dye’s lost city of Atlantis.”

Rhina de Rehmann, the owner of Hacienda Los Nacimientos, started the farm in 1995, shortly after the end of El Salvador’s brutal 12-year civil war. Rehmann’s goal for the farm was twofold: First, she wanted to employ former militants – many of whom had been fighting since they were teens and knew nothing but war – to teach them new skills in farming and textiles. Second, she hoped to revive a bit of El Salvador’s former glory. Back in colonial times, indigo was so valuable, it was called “blue gold” and El Salvador was one of the world’s great producers. That all ended, however, when synthetic dye was introduced and the natural version dropped off. But it’s another story today, Rehmann says. Thanks to the rise of conscious fashion in recent years, brands have a renewed interest in organic dye. Hacienda Los Nacimientos now supplies color to labels as large as Levi’s, Gap, and Benetton. And because dye business is booming, Rehmann is able to support her local community with jobs.

dore tie dye fashion editorial
dore tie dye fashion editorial

Perhaps this is really the heart of tie-dye’s rainbow-colored return: as the fashion world becomes more attune to sustainable practices, the consumer craves clothing that is organic and real. And what could be more real than tie-dye – an artform that so many of us have practiced ourselves, literally getting our hands dirty in the process? It’s the rare tradition that delights both couturiers in the hallowed halls of Dior as well as rambunctious crowds of kids in the mess halls of summer camps.

Jerry Garcia used to sing a song called “Standing on the Moon,” which references the children of El Salvador and their civil war woes. Wouldn’t he like to know that some of those kids are now producing dyes that would make a Deadhead weak in the knees. We’ve come full circle. Or better yet, maybe it’s not so much of a circle, but a glorious, vibrant swirl.

dore tie dye fashion editorial
dore tie dye fashion editorial
dore tie dye fashion editorial
dore tie dye fashion editorial

dore tie dye fashion editorial

dore tie dye fashion editorial

dore tie dye fashion editorial

T-Shirt and Pants, Stella McCartney; Shoes, Tibi

Jumpsuit, John Elliott; T-Shirt, Collina Strada

Top, Collina Strada; Skirt, Proenza Schouler; Shoes, Tibi

Hoodie, Polo Ralph Lauren; Briefs, Land of Women

Shirt, Proenza Schouler; Dress, SVNR

Dress, John Elliott; Necklace, Wald Berlin

 

5 comments

Add yours
  • Oh dear, I love this look and this haircut… You just made me want to have my hair cut this way for the summer, it’s gorgeous.
    Model, dancer, beautiful young woman, I just love these pictures… I wish I was 20 again (in my dreams). But being 20 in my head is basically the same, right?

  • yes Tie Dye Chic. we are LOVE TANJANE and hand dye in OJai California since 1998. love the story beautiful tie dye!

  • La slip dress : facile a porter et tres feminine. Les deux en photos sont magnifiques. (Le modele y contribue !) :-)

  • Tie dye is cool but that HAAIIIRRRCUUT! Screenshotting to bring to my stylist.

  • same! :)

From the Archives

Career Stories
  • Career Stories
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
On Career…

On Career…

dore career profile elizabeth roberts architect

Career / Elizabeth Roberts

10 Rules of Being A Creative

10 Rules of Being A Creative

atelier dore 5 women on monetizing creativity shapes

5 Women on Monetizing Creativity

atelier dore jamia wilson career interview feminist press

Career / Jamia Wilson

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

Will Guidara Daniel Humm Atelier Dore

Will Guidara and Daniel Humm Make It Nice

private investigator atelier dore

Careers / Private Investigator

Career / BJ Topol

Career / BJ Topol