Tub Thoughts

A Scent-ual Escape

3 months ago by

A Scent-ual Escape

Je me souviens très précisément de la première fois où j’ai compris que mon nez ultra-sensible ne servait pas seulement à renifler ce qui était bon et à éviter ce qui ne l’était pas, mais qu’il pouvait aussi me permettre de m’échapper un moment.

Pendant que nous étions en train de travailler sur la deuxième saison de Pardon My French, la série de vidéos, je me souviens être entrée dans la cuisine de la maison de production parisienne où nous étions installés pour travailler et j’ai été immédiatement transportée dans la maison de ma grand-mère. L’odeur de cigarettes et de vieux café m’a touchée d’une manière qui m’a complètement bouleversée et j’ai été prise de nostalgie pour mon enfance. Dans ce stress de la fashion week et du chaos de la production, je me réfugiais dans la cuisine à chaque fois que je me sentais bouleversée, pour prendre une pause, et pour trouver le réconfort que seule une grand-mère peut apporter.

Et ce qui était encore plus fort, c’est que mon cousin John était avec nous à ce moment-là – il éditait nos vidéos à l’époque – et il ressentait la même chose, le même souvenir. La première fois que nous sommes entrés dans la cuisine ensemble, nous avons pris une profonde inspiration et nous nous sommes regardés avec de grands yeux. Oui, nous avions été immédiatement transportés ; l’odeur était une sensation que nous pouvions partager dans le présent, et dans nos souvenirs. C’était un moment incroyable à partager.

Et quelques mois après notre retour de notre première retraite au Maroc, j’ai découvert un parfum chez Aesop en me baladant dans Londres – Marrakech intense – dont l’odeur épicée m’a transportée à nouveau dans la Médina, vers la lune et les liens profonds que nous avions tissés avec les femmes pendant ce voyage, un voyage qui a marqué le début d’une nouvelle définition de la manière dont nous travaillons. Je porte ce parfum au quotidien pour me souvenir des raisons qui nous motivent à faire ce que nous faisons.

Quelques années après mon expérience parisienne, et avec ce moment intense en tête, j’ai prêté attention au conseil que mon amie Caroline m’a donné pendant le tournage de notre projet Calvin Klein Obsessed. Elle et son mari Michael se sont créés mutuellement des parfums sur mesure à porter le jour de leur mariage. Ils ont gardé leurs parfums mutuels et ils les portent pour leurs anniversaires de mariage. C’était une idée émouvante et après mon intense expérience olfactive à Paris, j’ai pensé que c’était une idée brillante à emprunter pour mon propre mariage.

Donc, quand Josh et moi sommes allés à Florence pour planifier notre mariage en février l’année dernière, nous sommes allés à la pharmacie Santa Maria Novella et nous avons chacun choisi un parfum pour l’autre. Nous sommes retournés en Italie en septembre pour notre mariage, nos parfums dans nos bagages et nous les avons portés le weekend de notre mariage et pendant notre lune de miel. Nous nous sommes promis de ne les porter que pour les grandes occasions et pour nos anniversaires et la semaine dernière, à mon retour de Californie, un voyage où Josh et moi nous nous manquions beaucoup tous les deux, il a prévu une soirée spéciale et j’ai immédiatement reconnu sur lui le parfum musqué dès que j’ai passé la porte. C’était enivrant, et j’ai de nouveau été transportée vers la nuit de notre conte de fées italien.

Donc, dans les moments où j’ai l’impression que la journée se fait trop lourde, ou que j’ai besoin de quitter New York, ou que j’ai besoin d’un câlin réconfortant de ma grand-mère, je recherche des odeurs qui me transportent, qui me permettent de m’évader. Parfois c’est une bougie, parfois c’est un thé mais un souvenir qui peut être réveillé par une chose aussi simple qu’un parfum est beaucoup plus puissant qu’un souvenir déclenché par la vue de quelque chose.

4 comments

Ajouter le votre
  • La madeleine de Proust……

  • What are the two scents you choose from Santa Maria Novella? I love their perfumes

  • Emily Note 14 mars 2019, 5:36

    Hi Hera!

    I got the Cinquanta scent for myself and Josh got the Opoponax!

    xx Emily

  • We once stayed at Casa Angelina in Priano and I bought their yummy room scent. I use it sparingly and it definitely transports me back to that holiday.

From the Archives

Shoes!
  • Shoes!
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
DAD SNEAKERS

DAD SNEAKERS

The Shoes Have It

The Shoes Have It

Socks Atelier Dore

Sock It!

Mules Atelier Dore

Mules Made for Walking

If the Sneaker Fits

If the Sneaker Fits

Let it Slide

Let it Slide

fashion essential the espadrille atelier dore photo

The Espadrille

bye bye heels garance dore illustration

Bye Bye Heels

White Hot!

White Hot!

Tub Thoughts

A Scent-ual Escape

6 months ago by

A Scent-ual Escape

I can vividly remember the first time I realized that my very sensitive nose was not just for sniffing out the good and avoiding the bad, but that it could provide me with momentary escape.

When we were working on our second season of Pardon My French, the video series, I remember stepping into the kitchen at the Parisian production house we were working in and instantly being transported to my Grandmother’s house. The scent of cigarettes and stale coffee hit me in a way that totally overwhelmed me and made me long for childhood. In the stress of fashion week and production chaos, I would sneak away to the kitchen anytime I felt overwhelmed to give myself a moment of pause, and of comfort, that only a grandmother can give.

What was even more powerful was that my cousin John was there with us—he was editing our videos at the time—and he had the same sensation, the same memory. The first time we walked into the kitchen together, we took a big inhale and looked at each other with wide eyes. Yes, we both had been instantly transported; scent was a sensation to be shared in the present, and in memory. What an incredible moment to share.

And a few months after returning from our first retreat in Morocco, I discovered a fragrance at Aesop while I was walking around London—Marrakech Intense—whose spiciness took me back to the Medina and the moon and the powerful bonds with women that were formed on that first trip, a trip that would be the beginning of what would come to define the way we work. I wear that fragrance every day as a reminder of why we do what we do.

Several years after my Paris experience, and with this powerful moment in my back pocket, I heeded my friend Caroline’s advice that she shared during the filming of our Calvin Klein Obsessed project. She and her husband Michael had created custom fragrances for each other to wear at their wedding. They both still have the fragrance and wear it on their anniversary. What a touching idea, and after my strong scent experience in Paris, I thought a brilliant idea to borrow for my own wedding.

So when Josh and I went to Florence to do our wedding planning in February of last year, we went to the Santa Maria Novella pharmacy and picked a scent for each other. We traveled back to Italy in September for our wedding, with our fragrances in tow, and wore them throughout our wedding weekend and our honeymoon. We promised to only wear them on special occasions and anniversaries, and just last week, after I came back from a trip to California where Josh and I were really missing each other, he planned a special evening and I instantly recognized the muskiness on him when I first walked in the door. It was intoxicating, and again I was transported, this time to the night of our Italian fairytale.

So in moments when I’m feeling like the day is too much, or I just need to get out of New York, or could use a proverbial hug from my grandmother, I seek out scents to take me back, to allow me to escape. Sometimes it’s a candle, other times it’s a blend of tea, but even more powerful than seeing something is triggering that memory we’ve made for ourselves, one that can be sparked by something as simple as a smell.

4 comments

Add yours
  • La madeleine de Proust……

  • What are the two scents you choose from Santa Maria Novella? I love their perfumes

  • Emily Note March, 14 2019, 5:36

    Hi Hera!

    I got the Cinquanta scent for myself and Josh got the Opoponax!

    xx Emily

  • We once stayed at Casa Angelina in Priano and I bought their yummy room scent. I use it sparingly and it definitely transports me back to that holiday.

From the Archives

Career Stories
  • Career Stories
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
On Career…

On Career…

dore career profile elizabeth roberts architect

Career / Elizabeth Roberts

10 Rules of Being A Creative

10 Rules of Being A Creative

atelier dore 5 women on monetizing creativity shapes

5 Women on Monetizing Creativity

atelier dore jamia wilson career interview feminist press

Career / Jamia Wilson

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

Will Guidara Daniel Humm Atelier Dore

Will Guidara and Daniel Humm Make It Nice

private investigator atelier dore

Careers / Private Investigator

Career / BJ Topol

Career / BJ Topol