Cultish

Aether Beauty

2 years ago by

Aether Beauty

Il y a cinq ans, si vous m’aviez expliqué en détail à quel point l’industrie de la beauté était polluante et non-durable, j’aurais sans doute gloussé et tout oublié 5 minutes plus tard. Des expressions comme “durable” ou “zéro déchet” ne signifiaient rien pour moi à l’époque, mais aujourd’hui, je comprends à quel point il est important d’en parler. Tout particulièrement dans le cas de l’industrie de la beauté qui a un impact énorme sur notre environnement, à tous les niveaux, de la création à l’emballage et même dans les ingrédients et les produits chimiques utilisés.

Tiila Abbitt l’a découvert alors qu’elle s’occupait du développement de produits pour la collection maison de Sephora. Elle a découvert quelque chose d’énorme, que je ne savais absolument pas avant aujourd’hui. Aux Etats-Unis, il n’y a que 11 produits chimiques qui sont interdits pour les couleurs du maquillage, tandis qu’en Europe, il y en a 1 300. MILLE TROIS CENTS ! C’est une différence hallucinante, et ça me fait vraiment remettre en question ce que je mets tous les jours sur mon visage.

Abbitt a donc décidé de s’en occuper elle-même et a créé Aether Beauty, une marque de produits de beauté qui ne fait pas de compromis. En général, quand on pense à des marques qui sont durables, bios, naturelles, recyclables,… on imagine des produits qui ne proposent qu’un look naturel. C’est-à-dire, pas de couleurs vives, pas de paillettes, pas de brillant. Quelque chose de pas très marrant quoi. Alors qu’avec Aether Beauty, vous avez tout ça et plus encore.

Ils sortent une nouvelle palette d’ombres à paupières pour la Journée de la Terre. Elle s’appelle Summer Solstice et elle est superbe. Il y a tout ce qu’il faut dans une palette d’ombres à paupières : des couleurs chaudes idéales pour la journée, des couleurs plus froides qui ajoutent une dimension à vos yeux, et les couleurs plus sombres indispensables pour transformer votre look le soir.

Mates, brillantes, satinées et même métalliques, ces ombres sont composées de pigments chargés de cristaux comme l’ambre, le rubis ou la topaze. Cela permet de donner à vos yeux beaucoup de reflets, ce qui vous donne l’air plus éveillé. Parfait, non ? Et il y a encore plein d’autres bonnes choses dans la composition, comme de l’huile de coco bio, du beurre de karité bio et de l’huile de figue de barbarie, pour assurer une application facile et rapide. Un autre avantage : ces ingrédients garantissent l’hydratation de votre peau autour des yeux.

Les détails de l’emballage sont incroyables, particulièrement quand on sait qu’ils sont durables, entièrement recyclables et zéro déchet, une première dans l’industrie. Un grand bravo à Aether !

______

Si la perspective d’avoir une palette d’ombres à paupières avec des cristaux dans votre trousse de maquillage et d’aider la planète en même temps vous intéresse (vous savez que j’en suis fan), vous pouvez la commander ici ET elle sera disponible à Sephora en mai.

Une partie des ventes sera reversée à 1% for the Planet.

______

Par Samaris Pagan

Photo par Adele Makulova

2 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

The Hair Diaries
  • The Hair Diaries
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
10 Years of Messy Hair

10 Years of Messy Hair

The Update #5

The Update #5

haircstasy hair ari westphal curls beauty garance dore photo

Haircstasy!

beanie or bust winter running garance dore photos

Beanie Or Bust

neada jane the chop and change bumble and bumble garance dore photos

Chop & Change

hairprint garance dore beauty hair product photo

Hairprint

Now Hair This!

Now Hair This!

red braid bumble and bumble anthony turner proeza scholar fashion week hair garance dore photos

The Braid Debate

the impossible hair cut isabella emmack opening ceremony

The Impossible

Cultish

Aether Beauty

5 months ago by

Aether Beauty

If you would’ve told me 5 years ago all of the gritty details about how incredibly wasteful and non-sustainable the beauty industry is, I probably would’ve let out a chuckle and forgotten all about it 5 minutes later. Words like sustainability or zero waste meant nothing to me around that time but today, in the here and now, I understand just how important it is to have the conversation, especially within the beauty industry and how big of an impact it has on our environment. Everything from how it’s created, to the packaging and even the ingredients and the chemicals that are used.

Tiila Abbitt learned all about this during her time as product developer for Sephora’s in-house collection. She discovered something quite monumental that even I didn’t know about until today! In the United States, there’s only 11 banned chemicals in color cosmetics, whereas in Europe, there are 1,300. ONE THOUSAND THREE HUNDRED! That’s an insane difference and it pretty much makes me question exactly what I’m putting on my face on a daily basis.

So Abbitt decided to take matters into her own hands and created Aether Beauty, a sustainable beauty line that doesn’t compromise on your favorite things about beauty. Usually, when we think about brands that are sustainable, organic, natural, recyclable… we think that the only products they’ll offer are the ones that’ll provide you with a natural look. This means no bold colors, no glitters, no shimmers, in other words, no fun. With Aether Beauty, you can expect all of that fun stuff and more.

In celebration of yesterday’s Earth Day, they’ve released a brand new eyeshadow palette. This one is called Summer Solstice and she is a STUNNER. You get everything you need in an eyeshadow palette: warm shades that work perfectly for daytime, some cooler tones that help bring dimension to the eyes and your essential darker shades to transition any look into night time.

A mix of mattes, shimmers, satins and even metallics, these shadows are formulated with crystal charged pigments like amber, ruby and topaz. This helps to give your eyes a super light reflective look, which actually makes you look more awake. Who doesn’t want that!? You can find more goodness in the eyeshadow formula like organic coconut oil, organic shea butter and prickly pear oil for easy and swift application. They feel creamy and delightful. Another plus: these ingredients help to keep the skin around the eyes moisturized.

The details on the packaging are amazing, especially knowing it’s sustainable, fully recyclable and zero waste, which just so happens to be the first in the industry. All of the applause to Aether for that!

______

If you’re interested in having a crystal-infused eye shadow palette on your vanity (you know I’m going to be all over this) and helping the planet at the same time, you can order yours here AND it’ll be available in Sephora starting in May.

A portion of all sales will be donated to 1% for the Planet.

______

Written by Samaris Pagan

Photo by Adele Makulova

2 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Career Stories
  • Career Stories
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
On Career…

On Career…

dore career profile elizabeth roberts architect

Career / Elizabeth Roberts

10 Rules of Being A Creative

10 Rules of Being A Creative

atelier dore 5 women on monetizing creativity shapes

5 Women on Monetizing Creativity

atelier dore jamia wilson career interview feminist press

Career / Jamia Wilson

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

Will Guidara Daniel Humm Atelier Dore

Will Guidara and Daniel Humm Make It Nice

private investigator atelier dore

Careers / Private Investigator

Career / BJ Topol

Career / BJ Topol