Cool Collabo

Agmes x Conie Vallese

3 years ago by

Agmes x Conie Vallese

L’expression “art à porter” m’a toujours semblé tirée par les cheveux. Évidemment, l’esthétique est importante dans mon placard mais est-ce que c’est de l’art pour autant ? L’aspect pratique et le confort sont tout aussi importants et, le plus souvent, la mode plus abstraite et innovante, même si elle est belle, me donne l’impression d’être à l’opposé de ce que je pourrais porter.

Le seul endroit qui fait exception à la règle, selon moi, c’est le monde des bijoux. Il y a quelque chose dans les matériaux, le poids et la permanence des bijoux qui rend l’innovation et l’abstraction plus réfléchies et concrètes. Une de mes marques de bijoux préférées, Agmes, et leur collaboration avec l’artiste Conie Vallese, fournit l’exemple parfait.

Jaclyn et Morgan, le duo derrière la marque, ont d’abord rencontré Conie lorsqu’elle était mannequin pour leur catalogue et un partenariat s’est développé à partir de là. Dans cette collaboration, elles ont incorporé des visages abstraits, inspirés par certaines des sculptures les plus populaires de Conie, dans leurs boucles d’oreilles, colliers et broches. Artistique et abstrait ? Oui. Incroyablement portable et tentant ? Oui aussi. Je suis partante !

180506_Agmes_Holiday18_Look24_040-13

You can shop the collab here!

1 comment

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
accessorizing outerwear atelier dore coats and jewels

Put an Earring On It

Coats, Coats, Coats!

Coats, Coats, Coats!

Winter Skincare

Winter Skincare

Rebecca on Mercer

Rebecca on Mercer

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

Cool Collabo

Agmes x Conie Vallese

2 years ago by

Agmes x Conie Vallese

The expression “wearable art” often feels like a bit of a stretch to me. Of course my wardrobe is about aesthetics, but is it art? Functionality and comfort are equally important, and most of the time, more abstract and inventive fashion, though beautiful, feels like the opposite of something I would ever want to wear.

The one place where I find exception to this rule is in the jewelry world. Something about the materials, weight and permanence of jewelry makes innovation and abstraction feel thoughtful and more down to earth. For a perfect example, please see one of my favorite jewelry brands, Agmes, and their collaboration with artist, Conie Vallese.

Jaclyn and Morgan, the duo behind the brand, first met Conie when she modeled for their lookbook and, from there, a partnership grew. Through their collaboration, they incorporated abstract faces, inspired by some of Conie’s more popular sculptures, into earrings, necklaces and brooches. Artful and abstract? Yes. Insanely wearable and desirable? Also yes. Sign me up!

180506_Agmes_Holiday18_Look24_040-13

You can shop the collab here!

1 comment

Add yours

From the Archives

This or That
  • This or That
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
atelier dore this or that summer sandals chunky sandals vs. delicate sandals

This or That / Sandal Edition

This or That: American or Française?

This or That: American or Française?

atelier dore this or that lingerie lace or cotton sex month

This or That / Lingerie Edition

This or That / Blush vs. Bronzer

This or That / Blush vs. Bronzer

This or That: The Beanie

This or That: The Beanie

This or That: Nails

This or That: Nails

This or That

This or That

This Or That

This Or That

Silja Danielsen Photo

This Or That: Low Knot or Top Knot