In The Know

Balenciaga On Show

5 years ago by

Balenciaga On Show

Le monde de la mode ne parle que de Balenciaga ces derniers temps, notamment avec la première collection réalisée par Demna Gvasalia en tant que nouveau directeur artistique de la marque lors de la dernière PFW. C’est donc le moment idéal pour se replonger dans la genèse de la marque.

Une exposition présentée à Anvers, ville de création par excellence, revient avec précision sur le travail de celui par qui tout a commencé, Cristobal Balenciaga en personne. Monsieur Balenciaga a révolutionné les volumes dans la mode. Il a joué un rôle capital en détournant l’attention de la traditionnelle silhouette en sablier pour obliger les gens à envisager des formes plus sculpturales et avant-gardistes.

L’exposition “Game Changers: Reinventing the 20th Century Silhouette” débute ce 18 mars au Modemuseum et durera jusqu’à la mi-avril. On n’y verra pas que ses créations mais aussi celles de créateurs qui furent influencés par son travail tout au long du 20ème siècle ; notamment Coco Chanel, Iris Van Herpen, et Issey Miyake.

Des noms qui vous diront peut-être quelque chose…

Plus d’informations par ici !

9 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

La Plage
  • La Plage
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
The Swimsuit

The Swimsuit

Clémentine. In Her Own Body.

Clémentine. In Her Own Body.

dore swim beach rockaway summer imani randolph

Monochrome Swim

Beach on the Brain

atelier dore market story hats summer swim

Summer Hats

The Surf Lodge

The Surf Lodge

Net A Porter Atelier Dore

A L.A. Holiday

Down to Earth Swim

Down to Earth Swim

The Sun

The Sun

In The Know

Balenciaga On Show

6 years ago by

Balenciaga On Show

The fashion world has been casting a spotlight on Balenciaga of late, especially with Demna Gvasalia showing his first collection as Creative Director at this past Paris Fashion Week. So there seems no time more appropriate to reflect back on the company’s beginning.

An upcoming exhibit in design-centric Antwerp will closely examine the work of the man who started it all, Cristobal Balenciaga. THE Balenciaga was an innovator of form in the fashion world. He played a lead role in shedding the industry’s loyalty from the traditional hourglass figure, forcing the masses to consider the possibility of more sculptural and avant-garde shapes.

The exhibition, “Game Changers: Reinventing the 20th Century Silhouette” will open March 18th at the Modemuseum, ongoing until mid August. And it won’t just be his designs on show, but also the work of other designers throughout the century who were influenced by his work; including Coco Chanel, Iris Van Herpen, and Issey Miyake.

So, you know, just a few names you might know…

More information here!

9 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
accessorizing outerwear atelier dore coats and jewels

Put an Earring On It

Coats, Coats, Coats!

Coats, Coats, Coats!

Winter Skincare

Winter Skincare

Rebecca on Mercer

Rebecca on Mercer

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter