Monthly Good

Beauty for Freedom

2 years ago by

Beauty for Freedom

Pour poursuivre notre série mensuelle Mini Good, on a eu envie de vous parler de Beauty For Freedom. Cette organisation à but non lucratif a été créée et est soutenue par d’illustres noms de la mode qui se servent de leurs relations dans les domaines de l’art, de la beauté et de la mode pour aider les jeunes qui grandissent dans des environnements à risque ainsi que les survivants des trafics d’enfants grâce à l’éducation artistique. Cette dernière permet de transmettre un savoir à ces enfants mais également de leur redonner confiance en eux en leur offrant la possibilité de s’exprimer. En outre, Beauty for Freedom sensibilise l’opinion et collecte des fonds pour les équipes de sauveteurs et les refuges abritant les enfants issus des trafics en Inde, au Ghana et aux Etats-Unis.

En ce moment, ils travaillent sur Project Ghana qui associe Beauty for Freedom et Challenging Heights, un programme d’aide et un refuge basés au Ghana. L’un des ateliers proposés par Beauty for Freedom est un atelier photo parrainé par Inside Out Project, l’initiative du célèbre artiste JR. 19 appareils photo ont été distribués aux enfants afin qu’ils produisent une série de portraits utilisée ensuite sur plusieurs supports médias en collaborations avec des artistes de renom. L’intégralité des bénéfices de la vente de ce travail reviendra aux enfants de Challenging Heights au Ghana et au développement du programme d’art-thérapie proposé par Beauty for Freedom.

Beauty for Freedom avait déjà travaillé sur un projet similaire avec de jeunes Indiens en difficulté intitulé “Illuminate.” Les photos prises par les enfants ont été réunies dans un livre (sans avoir été modifiées ni retouchées !) que vous pouvez acheter ici.

Beauty for Freedom Atelier Doré

Les œuvres des enfants débordent de vitalité et donnent à observer la situation à hauteur d’enfant, une perspective rafraîchissante. Les images ci-dessus ont toutes été prises par ces enfants, et je crois qu’elles expliquent très bien pourquoi on croit en Beauty for Freedom.

Vous en apprendrez plus sur Beauty for Freedom ici, vous pouvez les suivre sur Instagram et consulter leur vidéo de présentation ici.

Main Photo: Erica Simone

2 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

La Plage
  • La Plage
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
Clémentine. In Her Own Body.

Clémentine. In Her Own Body.

dore swim beach rockaway summer imani randolph

Monochrome Swim

Beach on the Brain

atelier dore market story hats summer swim

Summer Hats

The Surf Lodge

The Surf Lodge

Net A Porter Atelier Dore

A L.A. Holiday

Down to Earth Swim

Down to Earth Swim

The Sun

The Sun

Sun

Sun

Monthly Good

Beauty for Freedom

3 years ago by

Beauty for Freedom

We wanted to continue our monthly Mini Good series by spotlighting the organization, Beauty For Freedom. It’s a non-profit founded and supported by some pretty illustrious names from the modeling industry that are using their resources in art, beauty, and fashion to support at-risk youth and survivors of trafficking through eduction in artistic fields. Eduction in artistic fields gives these kids life skills and promotes self-confidence through self-expression. On top of all that, Beauty for Freedom is bringing awareness and much needed funds for the rescue teams and trafficking shelters in India, Ghana and here in the U.S.

They are currently working on Project Ghana which involved Beauty for Freedom partnering with Challenging Heights, a rescue team and shelter based in Ghana. One of the workshops put on by Beauty for Freedom was a photography workshop sponsored by acclaimed artist JR’s Inside Out Project. The kids were given 19 cameras with which they produced a series of portraits that have been turned into mix-media pieces in collaboration with some of the most illustrious global artists. All proceeds from the sales of the artwork will go to back to the kids at Challenging Heights in Ghana and an expansion of the Beauty for Freedom art therapy programming for survivors.

Beauty for Freedom’s previous endeavor was a similar project with at-risk youth and survivors of trafficking in India called, “Illuminate.” The photos produced by the kids were compiled into a a book (unedited and un-retouched!), which can be purchased here.

Beauty for Freedom Atelier Doré

The artwork the kids produced is brimming with vitality while bringing a refreshing kid’s perspective to the lens. The above images were all shot by said kids and I think it’s pretty obvious why we are putting our belief in Beauty for Freedom.

You can find out more about Beauty for Freedom here and follow them on Instagram and checkout their programming video here.

Main Photo: Erica Simone
Girl in pink dress: Theophilus, age 16
Portrait of boy: Isaac, age 16

2 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Red Lips
  • Red Lips
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
An Ode to Lipstick

An Ode to Lipstick

Sealed With a Kiss (and a Toast!)

Sealed With a Kiss (and a Toast!)

La Bouche Rouge

La Bouche Rouge

red makeup atelier dore beauty

Seeing Red

Whip Lash

Whip Lash

A Beauty Minute with Cyndle Komarovski

A Beauty Minute with Cyndle Komarovski

Bare All

Bare All

maiko kyoto japan geisha beauty makeup garance dore photos

Beauty with a Maiko, Mamefuji

women at work garance dore street style photos

Women At Work