People Making Things

Cj Hendry’s MONOCHROME

4 years ago by

Cj Hendry’s MONOCHROME

L’artiste Cj Hendry est fascinée par le fait que les gens considèrent l’art comme la touche finale à la décoration de leur intérieur, et pour détourner ce procédé, elle a créé un espace de vie où l’œuvre d’art guide le design dans son exposition MONOCHROME.

Cette exposition, on la retrouvera certainement sur nos réseaux sociaux ce week-end, grâce aux touches de couleur vives bienvenues en cet hiver sans fin ! Dans un espace organisé comme une maison, chaque pièce s’articule autour d’une couleur (d’où le nom MONOCHROME) avec des extraits de nuancier Pantone reproduits à la main. Cette expérience immersive débute par un patio bleu et nous fait découvrir un dédale de pièces qui regorgent de surprises.

Les visiteurs sont encouragés à avoir une participation active. Asseyez-vous à cette table cramoisie, sautez sur le lit de peluches roses, investissez le bureau orange, et livrez-vous à votre meilleure interprétation de Mad Men.

Comme l’explique Cj Hendry : « J’ai créé un espace où, au lieu de lire tout un blabla sur l’exposition et ses œuvres d’art, on a la possibilité de faire physiquement l’expérience de ce que je suis en train de dire. Du coup, le blabla, on le vit.  »

Allez y déambuler ce week-end après le brunch, “MONOCHROME” est ouvert au public du jeudi 5 au samedi 8 avril, de 10 h à 17 h, 276 Greenpoint Avenue. Bonus : C’est gratuit.

1 comment

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Holiday Gifting
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
Last Minute Gifts

Last Minute Gifts

A Gift Guide for Him

A Gift Guide for Him

A Gift Guide for Her

A Gift Guide for Her

Hill City

Hill City

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

lessons in gifting steven alan presents expert series garance dore photos

Lessons In… Gifting

People Making Things

Cj Hendry’s MONOCHROME

3 years ago by

Cj Hendry’s MONOCHROME

Cj Hendry is fascinated by the fact that most people put art on their walls as the final, finishing touch when designing a space; so to flip this idea on its head, for her solo exhibition MONOCHROME she’s created a home where her art drives the design.

The exhibition will grace all of our social feeds this weekend with the color pops we’re all in need of in this never ending winter! Set up in a mock home built in an empty warehouse, each room is color coordinated (hence the name MONOCHROME) with her hand sketched images of Pantone color cards. Which, for the record, are made with colored pencils (!!!!) How insane is that?! The immersive, hands on experience starts off with an all blue patio, and weaves through the home revealing a new surprise around every corner.

CJH_Monochrome_InstallationViews_032818_0397_preview

And attendees are encouraged to participate in the exhibit. Sit at the red, fuzzy dining table, jump in the bed of pink stuffed animals, sit at the desk in the orange office and give it your best Mad Men impersonation.

As Hendry explains, “I have created space where instead of reading a blurb about the show and artwork you can physically walk through what I am trying to say. So, you physically get to experience the blurb on the wall.”

If you’re in New York, stroll on over after brunch this weekend and visit “MONOCHROME,” open to the public on Thursday, April 5 through Sunday, April 8 from 10 a.m.-5 p.m. at 276 Greenpoint Ave. Bonus: It’s free.

Images by Andy Romer

1 comment

Add yours

From the Archives

Holiday Gifting
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

lessons in gifting steven alan presents expert series garance dore photos

Lessons In… Gifting