A Note From...

Cynthia Rowley’s 72 Hours in Senegal

2 years ago by

Cynthia Rowley’s 72 Hours in Senegal

Pour moi, les meilleures aventures se passent quand on connaît un local sur place. Donc, en partant à Dakar la semaine dernière, j’ai immédiatement pensé à mon amie Yodit qui a une ligne de maillots de bain, Bantu, basée à Dakar. J’ai abrité un pop-up de Yodit à Montauk il y a quelques années et nous sommes restées en contact depuis. Et, comme je l’ai découvert, elle est sur le point d’ouvrir une nouvelle boutique hôtel dans un quartier de Dakar appelé Seku Bi. Nous avons donc eu la chance d’avoir droit à une avant-première de son nouvel espace et d’avoir quelques conseils de locaux sur les indispensables à voir. Elle nous a aussi présenté un artiste extrêmement talentueux, Cheikh Ndiaye, qui peint des façades de vieux cinémas en Afrique.

Le Sénégal est un pays de gens extraordinaires, avec des merveilles naturelles qui valent bien le voyage – un paradis coloré au bord de la mer avec un peu plus qu’une pointe d’aventure rustique (il vaut mieux garder son sens de l’humour quand on se balade dans des taxis vieux et cassés… il a même fallu en sortir pour les pousser quelques fois). C’est un pays indépendant mais il a été colonisé par la France jusqu’en 1960, tout le monde parle donc français mais tout le reste dans le pays est plutôt traditionnellement ouest africain – la nourriture, la musique, les vêtements.

2

Nous avons commencé notre séjour par une excursion au marché africain à la recherche de tissus et de paniers ornés de perles puis nous avons pris la voiture pour le Lac Rose en faisant des pauses sur des spots de surf en chemin, nous avons conduit des véhicules tout-terrain dans les dunes de sable et nous avons logé dans une maison sur toute une petite île qu’il fallait rejoindre en bateau chaque jour. Chaque repas ressemblait à un épisode de l’émission d’Anthony Bourdain. Nous sommes allés dans ce restaurant de quartier, Chez Loutcha, pour dîner un soir et c’était comme si nous étions entrés dans une photo de Malick Sidibé, mais en couleurs. Des nappes à carreaux, des colonnes avec des carreaux noirs et blancs, un petit aquarium sur de hauts pieds au centre de la pièce – c’était stylé et chaleureux, un peu comme manger chez un ami. Et pour finir en beauté… dîner, musique et danse en haut d’un phare du 17e siècle sous une pleine lune parfaite.

3

4

Le Sénégal est un endroit magique et j’ai hâte d’y retourner.

Written by Cynthia Rowley

1 comment

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

French Gurus
  • French Gurus
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
French Guru / Christophe Robin

French Guru / Christophe Robin

French Guru / Martine De Richville

French Guru / Martine De Richville

french guru valerie espinasse garance dore photo

French Guru / Valerie Espinasse

laura nolte in her words garance dore photo

In Her Words: Laura Nolte

In Her Words georgia graham grarance dore photo

In Her Words: Georgia Graham

joelle ciocco garance dore photo

French Guru / Joelle Ciocco

In Her Words: Lauren Bastide

In Her Words: Lauren Bastide

French Guru / Laura Mercier

French Guru / Laura Mercier

marina khorosh dbag dating in her words

In Her Words: Marina Khorosh

A Note From...

Cynthia Rowley’s 72 Hours in Senegal

1 year ago by

Cynthia Rowley’s 72 Hours in Senegal

My favorite kind of adventure is when you know a local on the ground. So, when heading to Dakar last week, I immediately thought of my friend Yodit who has a swimwear line, Bantu, based in Dakar. I hosted Yodit for a pop-up in Montauk years ago and we’ve stayed in touch ever since. As it turns out, she’s about to open a new boutique hotel in an area of Dakar called Seku Bi, so we snagged a preview of her new spot and scored some local must-see tips. She also introduced us to a super talented artist, Cheikh Ndiaye, who makes paintings of old movie theater facades around Africa.

Senegal is a country of beautiful people and natural wonders well worth the journey – a colorful, seaside paradise with more than a touch of rustic adventure (it’s good to keep a sense of humor when riding in all the old and broken down taxis…we even had to get out and push a few times). It’s an independent country that up until 1960 was colonized by France, so everyone speaks French, but everything else about the country is traditionally West African – the food, the music, the clothing.

2

We hit the ground running with a trip to the African market for fabrics and beaded baskets, drove to Lac Rose (the pink lake) stopping at surf spots along the way, went dune bashing on ATVs, and stayed in a house on a tiny island that we traveled to by boat everyday. Every meal was like an episode of “Parts Unknown”. We went to this local spot Chez Loutcha for dinner one night and it was like stepping into a Malick Sidibé photograph, only colorized. Checkered tablecloths, black-and-white tiled columns, a mini fish tank on stilts in the center of the room – it was funky and homey like eating at a friend’s place. And for the grand finale…dinner, music, and dancing at the top of a 17th century lighthouse under a perfect full moon.

Senegal is a magical place and I can’t wait to go back.

3

4

Written by Cynthia Rowley

1 comment

Add yours

From the Archives

This or That
  • This or That
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
atelier dore this or that summer sandals chunky sandals vs. delicate sandals

This or That / Sandal Edition

This or That: American or Française?

This or That: American or Française?

atelier dore this or that lingerie lace or cotton sex month

This or That / Lingerie Edition

This or That / Blush vs. Bronzer

This or That / Blush vs. Bronzer

This or That: The Beanie

This or That: The Beanie

This or That: Nails

This or That: Nails

This or That

This or That

This Or That

This Or That

Silja Danielsen Photo

This Or That: Low Knot or Top Knot