From The Beauty Closet

Disco Shine

5 years ago by

Disco Shine

Dans les coulisses de la NYFW, j’ai vu pas mal d’ongles métallisés.
 
Un petit souvenir de mon penchant pour le pailleté extra-brillant des années 90 à effet maximum garanti… qui s’est peu à peu mué en goût pour les teintes pastel plus subtiles ou même les ongles nus (simple, facile à entretenir, idéal pour une fille sans chichi qui ne supporte pas de voir un vernis écaillé).
 
Mais je reconnais que j’ai eu un coup de cœur pour ce détail un peu décadent en backstage du défilé Marc Jacobs… et j’aime bien l’idée d’une teinte métallique qui soit une forme de teinte neutre. A une époque où on mélange le métal, on peut facilement mixer l’argent et l’or pour en faire une teinte aussi fiable et polyvalente qu’un taupe ou un nude. Avec juste un petit peu plus de second degré, comme un clin d’œil à l’âge d’or du disco ou à la pop des 90s…
 
Quand vous avez envie d’une couleur de vernis un peu plus rigolote, vous choisissez quoi ? Et vous trouvez que c’est une façon plus facile d’oser la couleur ? Madeline Poole me disait qu’elle pense que le vernis est une façon toute simple de s’amuser avec les couleurs, d’essayer de nouvelles teintes sur sa peau… avant de sauter le pas et d’acheter une vraie pièce dans cette nuance, comme un manteau ou une robe. Malin, non ?

Vernis à ongle, Marc Jacobs.

6 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Holiday Gifting
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
Hill City

Hill City

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

lessons in gifting steven alan presents expert series garance dore photos

Lessons In… Gifting

From The Beauty Closet

Disco Shine

5 years ago by

Disco Shine

Backstage during NYFW, I noticed a lot of metallics on nails.

It’s reminiscent of my 90s penchant for sparkles with extra shimmer, the maximum effect… Which has slowly over the years diminished to subtle pastels or even just bare nails (simple, easy to maintain – perfect for a no fuss kind of girl like me who freaks out over chipped polish).

But, I have to admit that I was a little in love with the decadent touch of these backstage at Marc Jacobs – and I like the idea of a metallic as a different kind of neutral. In an age of mixing metals, it’s easy to blend silvers and golds, and consider them as versatile as a reliable soft grey or nude. Just a little more fun – and a throwback to the golden days of disco, or 90s pop…

When you go for more of a fun nail color, what do you opt for? And do you feel as though it’s an easy way to access color trends right away? Madeline Poole was telling me the other day that she thinks of nail polish as the easiest way to be playful with color, and try out new hues on skin tone… Before going out and buying a bigger invest item in that color, like a coat or dress. Smart, no?

Nail polish, Marc Jacobs.

6 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Holiday Gifting
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

lessons in gifting steven alan presents expert series garance dore photos

Lessons In… Gifting