J'aime

Flying Over New York City

7 years ago by

Flying Over New York City

Cet été, pour la première fois de ma vie, j’ai pris un hélicoptère.

C’était l’un des rêves de ma vie, je ne sais pas pourquoi – et c’est à l’occasion d’une visite de ma famille que ce rêve s’est réalisé. C’est très simple de prendre un hélico pour survoler New York, il suffit d’aller à l’héliport… Un peu cher, mais un chouette cadeau si on rêve de voir la ville comme on ne l’a jamais vue.

Helicopter NYC

Plein de gens m’avaient fait complètement flipper (“Tu vas t’écraser!!!” “Au moindre coup de vent ces trucs vont s’exploser contre un immeuble!!!”)(on peut dire que les gens qui ont peur de l’altitude n’y vont pas en douceur quand il s’agit de dissuader leurs amis de risquer leur vie) donc même si j’ai un côté un peu casse-cou, je n’en menais pas large.
Bon, c’est hyper organisé et réglementé, hein, et des hordes de touristes se pressent tous les jours pour en faire, donc niveau danger, on doit frôler le 0 risque. Mais quand même.

Vous allez me prendre pour une dingue, mais moi, ce qui me faisait le plus envie, c’était le décollage. J’ai toujours bloqué sur les hélices, le vent, le bruit… Et cette espèce de mouvement en avant que fait la machine quand elle quitte le sol. Je me disais qu’être à l’intérieur devait être comme un genre de Space Moutain. Et j’ADORE Space Mountain…

Mais j’ai été assez déçue, parce que c’est simple, on ne sent absolument rien. On se détache du sol comme par magie et, quelques secondes après, on survole la Statue de La Liberté.

Helicopter NYC Statue of Liberty

Et c’est là que ça commence à être génial. Je ne vais pas vous en dire beaucoup plus, mais partager quelques photos avec vous. C’est beau, c’est sublime, c’est magique. On se sent tout petit, on a l’impression de pouvoir attraper la ville dans sa main. On prend toute la mesure de Central Park, de la verticalité de la ville, la beauté des ponts et le romantisme incroyable de l’ensemble. C’est tout simplement sublime.

Helicopter NYC Skyline

À faire une fois au moins.

Si l’on n’a pas peur de l’altitude, hein.

Bisou !

26 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
accessorizing outerwear atelier dore coats and jewels

Put an Earring On It

Coats, Coats, Coats!

Coats, Coats, Coats!

Winter Skincare

Winter Skincare

Rebecca on Mercer

Rebecca on Mercer

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

J'aime

Flying Over New York City

7 years ago by

Flying Over New York City

This summer, for the first time in my life, I rode in a helicopter.

It had been one of my dreams in life, I don’t really know why – and it was when my family came to visit me in New York that I finally decided to go ahead and do it. It’s very easy to take a helicopter to fly over New York – you just have to go to the heliport… It’s a bit expensive, but a great gift if you dream of seeing the city like you’ve never seen it before.

Helicopter NYC

A lot of people totally scared the hell our of me before I went (“You’re going to crash!!!” “Those things will explode against a building if there’s even the tiniest bit of wind!!!”)(let’s just say that people who are afraid of heights don’t go easy on you when it comes to convincing their friends not to risk their lives) so even though I do have a little bit of a dare devil in me, let’s say I was quietly freaking out.
But hey, it’s very organized and regulated, ok, and hoards of tourists show up to do it every day, so in terms of danger, the risk is probably close to zero. But still.

You’re going to think I’m crazy, but the thing I was most excited about was the take off. I’ve always had a thing for the propellers, the wind, the noise… And that crazy forward motion the helicopter makes when it leaves the ground. I thought being inside must be kind of like riding Space Mountain. And I LOVE Space Mountain…

But I was a little disappointed, because you actually you don’t feel anything at all. You take off from the ground like it’s some kind of magic, and a few seconds later, you’re flying over the Statue of Liberty.

Helicopter NYC Statue of Liberty

And that’s when it starts to get really amazing. I won’t tell you much more about it – I’ll just share a few photos with you. It’s beautiful, it’s sublime, it’s magical. You feel so small and big at the same time, it’s like you could take the whole city in your hand. You can see the full expanse of Central park, the full height of the city, the beauty of its bridges, and the incredible romanticism of it all. It’s simply sublime.

Helicopter NYC Skyline

You have to do it at least once.

If you’re not afraid of heights, of course.

Big kisses!

Translated by Andrea Perdue

26 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
accessorizing outerwear atelier dore coats and jewels

Put an Earring On It

Coats, Coats, Coats!

Coats, Coats, Coats!

Winter Skincare

Winter Skincare

Rebecca on Mercer

Rebecca on Mercer

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter