People Making Things

HommeGirls

2 months ago by

HommeGirls

Malgré les nombreuses déceptions (et nous savons tous qu’il y en a beaucoup), de temps en temps, je trouve l’inspiration en passant le temps sur Instagram. C’était le cas l’autre jour. J’étais dans le métro, je regardais mon téléphone et je suis tombée sur un shooting de Cass Bird et Elissa Santisi. Je les adore toutes les deux (elles sont respectivement photographe et styliste) et j’ai vraiment adoré ces images. J’ai cédé et pris plein de captures d’écran pour m’en souvenir et m’en inspirer !

Ce n’est que le lendemain, quand Emily me l’a dit, que j’ai compris que ma nouvelle série de photos préférée était issue de ce qui allait rapidement devenir un de mes nouveaux magazines préférés (eh oui ! Un nouveau magazine !). Ça s’appelle HommeGirls et j’adore.

unnamed-1

HommeGirls a été fondé par le créateur Thakoon Panichgul, par passion (c’est un projet distinct de la ligne du même nom qu’il prévoit de lancer cette année aussi). C’est un magazine trimestriel, assorti d’un site, dédié aux femmes qui adorent porter des vêtements d’homme (c’est-à-dire moi !!!). Comme le dit le créateur lui-même, “HommeGirls cherche à représenter un mouvement qui s’adresse à une communauté de femmes qui trouvent les vêtements pour hommes séduisants. L’idée, ce n’est pas de s’habiller comme un homme, il s’agit plus de confiance en soi version garçon manqué, à la fois féminine et sexy.”

Cette idée me parle tellement, j’ai hâte de voir ce qu’ils vont faire. Apparemment, une collection de vêtements pour hommes vintage retravaillés pourrait faire son apparition. Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur HommeGirls ici.

unnamed-2

Photos by Cass Bird for HommeGirls

2 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

La Plage
  • La Plage
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
dore swim beach rockaway summer imani randolph

Monochrome Swim

Beach on the Brain

atelier dore market story hats summer swim

Summer Hats

The Surf Lodge

The Surf Lodge

Net A Porter Atelier Dore

A L.A. Holiday

Down to Earth Swim

Down to Earth Swim

The Sun

The Sun

Sun

Sun

body happy garance dore photo

Body Happy

People Making Things

HommeGirls

8 months ago by

HommeGirls

Despite all of its drawbacks (and we all know there are many), every once in a while my endless scrolling on Instagram leads me to major inspiration. This happened the other day. I was riding the subway and browsing at the same time, and I stumbled upon a shoot by Cass Bird and Elissa Santisi. They’re two of my favorites (photographer and stylist, respectively) and I really loved these images. I started screenshotting with abandon, for reference and inspiration!

It wasn’t until the next day, when Emily mentioned it to me, that I realized that my new favorite shoot was from what would quickly become one of my new favorite magazines (that’s right! A new magazine!). It’s called HommeGirls and I love it so much.

unnamed-1

HommeGirls was founded by the designer, Thakoon Panichgul, as a passion project (it’s separate from his namesake line which he also plans to relaunch this year). It’s a quarterly magazine and website dedicated to all the women out there who love to wear men’s clothes (a.k.a. me!!). In his own words the designer says, “HommeGirls is meant to represent a movement that speaks to a community of women who find appeal in men’s clothing. It’s not about dressing like a man; but rather, it’s about tomboy confidence that’s still feminine and sexy.”

The idea couldn’t speak to me more and I’m excited to see what they do next. Apparently some reworked vintage menswear could be entering the mix. You can find out more about HommeGirls, here.

unnamed-2

Photos by Cass Bird for HommeGirls

2 comments

Add yours
  • This magazine sounds dreamy. HommeGirls sound like such a great concept, and I know there are tons of ladies out there that do find confidence in rocking menswear. Beautiful artistic editorial!

  • Jorge Alexandre Teixeira June, 14 2019, 5:06 / Reply

    SuperCool !!!

From the Archives

Bags!
  • Bags!
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
An Ode to… the Little Black Bag

An Ode to… the Little Black Bag

atelier dore lo & sons napa Michele Ouellet

When in Napa…

Hayward House

Hayward House

ATELIER DORÉ X FEED

ATELIER DORÉ X FEED

At the Market

At the Market

L.O.N.B.

L.O.N.B.

Mini Bag, Big Bang

Mini Bag, Big Bang

The Envelope Clutch

The Envelope Clutch

goods the rounded bag alyssa digiovanna garance dore photo

The Rounded Bag