People Making Things

Talking Film with Director Jerusha West

8 months ago by

Talking Film with Director Jerusha West

Nous venons de lancer le mois de la créativité à l’Atelier, et personnellement, je suis toujours du genre à être plus intéressée par le processus de production de film que par le film lui-même. J’ai toujours envie de poser des millions de questions sur les sources d’inspiration, les raisons qui ont poussé à choisir un médium plutôt qu’un autre, comment faire pour rester organisé, etc.

Le produit fini ressemble à une récompense, le reflet du travail acharné de quelqu’un et de toutes les décisions qui y ont conduit. Donc, quand j’ai eu la chance de rencontrer la réalisatrice Jerusha West pour parler de son travail, j’ai sauté sur l’occasion.

Je connais Jerusha depuis plusieurs années. Artiste née à Londres, avec son accent britannique et ses robes féminines en soie, elle ressemble à l’image de la personne que je voudrais être si je vivais à Londres (un de mes rêves d’enfant, merci Sir Arthur Conan Doyle).

Elle est actuellement en train de travailler sur son nouveau projet, un court-métrage intitulé “Solidago”. Je n’ai donc bien sûr pas pu résister à un interrogatoire amical sur la créativité.

___________

Décris-toi (d’où tu viens, où tu vis, ce que tu fais).

Je suis née dans le Sud-Est de Londres et j’y ai grandi. Je suis allée à la Thomas Tallis School à Kidbrooke, avant d’étudier l’art à Central St Martins. J’ai ensuite étudié la peinture à la Slade School of Fine Art, où j’ai eu mon diplôme en 2017. Je vis toujours à Londres où je suis artiste et réalisatrice. Je travaille actuellement sur un court-métrage intitulé Solidago.

Tu viens d’une famille incroyablement créative, étroitement liée au monde du théâtre à Londres. Que t’ont-ils appris ?
J’ai une grande famille, qui comprend des acteurs ainsi que des gens de professions très différentes. J’ai passé du temps dans les théâtres quand j’étais plus jeune. Il y a une part de théâtre dans mon travail. Par exemple, dans Solidago, il y aura des sets en bois et le film comprend même une scène de théâtre… même si, honnêtement, je vais très rarement au théâtre !

Qu’est-ce qui t’a poussée à choisir une autre voie créative et à te tourner vers l’art/les films ?

A 4 ans, je voulais être sage-femme et peu après, j’ai décidé de devenir artiste ! Je dessinais et je peignais avec acharnement. En vieillissant, je me suis passionnée pour la photographie mais j’ai eu l’impression que l’arrivée des smartphones avait un peu ruiné ce médium. J’ai commencé à écrire et à esquisser des idées de film vers 15 ans mais à l’époque, je ne savais absolument pas comment les transformer en vrais films.

J’ai appris énormément de choses dans le département de peinture à Slade. Mes premières années là-bas, j’ai pratiqué la peinture figurative mais cela m’a toujours semblé un peu limité. Mes tuteurs m’ont beaucoup encouragée à accepter le fait que j’avais une pratique multidisciplinaire.

Je me suis vite rendu compte que les films étaient ce que je préférais – une pratique si large et flexible. Je trouve la relation entre les films et la peinture très intéressante, il y a beaucoup de liens entre les deux médiums. Je trouve aussi l’aspect collaboratif des films enthousiasmant – on peut créer des choses magnifiques quand il y a des musiciens, des chorégraphes, des acteurs, etc. qui travaillent ensemble.

Quand as-tu ressenti pour la première fois le besoin de créer ? Qu’as-tu ressenti ?

J’ai toujours créé des choses, je crois que c’est un sentiment très satisfaisant de finir quelque chose quand on est enfant et d’être félicité pour ça. Quand j’étais à l’école, ça me semblait très clair qu’il fallait que je le fasse. Je crois qu’un diplôme de beaux-arts peut ruiner ce sentiment de magie qui existe quand on manque de conscience critique. J’ai passé 4 bonnes années à la Slade à assister à la dissection, à la destruction de tout – on développe une relation plus forte, plus complexe et turbulente avec son travail. C’est parfois difficile mais pour finir, cela rend meilleur dans son travail.

Tu as déjà dirigé quelques courts-métrages. Est-ce qu’il y a des thèmes spécifiques que tu aimes montrer ? Pourquoi ?
Produire quelque chose qui explore le folklore, le ritualisme et l’occultisme m’intéresse beaucoup. Notre relation avec les paysages et la nature, tout particulièrement les femmes dans les paysages, m’intéresse aussi. Solidago est né d’une enquête en cours sur ces sujets, et aussi d’un intérêt sur les communautés après 1900, la mémoire, le traumatisme et l’interaction humaine. Mes recherches évoluent et changent, et j’ai aussi plein d’autres idées pour de futurs films qui pourraient finir par être très différents de ce projet, même si on dirait que certains thèmes et motifs se répètent et réapparaissent.

Comment est née ton envie de travailler sur ces thèmes ?

J’ai mené beaucoup de recherches sur les troubles culturels et sociaux. J’ai écrit mon mémoire sur la révolution industrielle et son influence sur le genre de la peinture féerique, en le comparant à la révolution digitale. J’ai l’impression qu’on assiste aujourd’hui à une évolution similaire avec un élan dans l’art et les films vers quelque chose de surnaturel, qui possède un certain mysticisme, quelque chose “d’autre”. Cet intérêt vient en partie d’une envie d’échapper à un monde chaotique et déroutant, plein d’instabilité politique et environnementale, et de la rapidité folle avec laquelle les technologies ont changé. Je pense que la révolution digitale a apporté des avantages mais elle affecte gravement le cerveau, particulièrement chez les jeunes. J’espère qu’en tant que société, nous apprendrons bientôt à la contrôler.

Dans ton dernier film, Solidago, qui est en pré-production, j’ai observé beaucoup de solitude et de mélancolie dans le script et dans tes notes. C’est souvent comme ça que je ressens la féminité. Est-ce délibéré ?

La vie peut être incroyablement triste et solitaire, peu importe le genre. Solidago se concentre sur l’expérience perturbante d’une jeune femme dans les années 1960 et donc, naturellement, il y aura beaucoup de tristesse et je suis heureuse qu’on le ressente à la lecture du script. Le film insistera sur le misérable corps féminin, et les traumatismes et la vulnérabilité qui accompagnent inévitablement le fait d’être femme.

Quel rôle joue pour toi l’inspiration, et à quel point t’appuies-tu dessus dans ton travail ?

Je crois que l’inspiration peut naître de partout. Je crois que c’est important de voir autant d’art et de films que possible. Je passe beaucoup de temps au Barbican et dans les cinémas BFI. Je vois beaucoup de spectacles et d’expositions dans les musées – une source constante d’inspiration. Je me retrouve à retourner en permanence dans les salles Turner et William Blake à la Tate Britain, et vers la collection de pierres du Natural History Museum. En plus de mon travail sur des films, je continue ma pratique en studio où je travaille avec une variété de médiums (dessins, peinture, sculpture). Les relations et les interactions humaines m’intéressent vraiment. Je garde souvent des notes sur les interactions que j’ai avec les gens, des écrits que j’ai vus, des choses que j’ai entendues.

Le film est un médium tellement manipulateur, et il peut être tellement touchant en dévoilant un sous-texte, avec toutes les communications significatives et subtiles, toutes les tensions qui existent entre nous.

Quels sont les artistes et les réalisateurs qui t’inspirent le plus ?

Il y en a beaucoup, mais entre autres :
Réalisateurs : Tarkovsky, Deniz Gamze Ergüven, Paul Wright, Lynne Ramsay, Sergei Parajanov.
Artistes : Louise Bourgeois, Kai Althoff, Carol Rama, Franz West, Carolee Schneemann, Jonathan Meese, Valerie Kong.
Et je regarde en boucle les TateShots de Maurice Sendak sur YouTube, tellement bien !

Est-ce que l’endroit où tu vis influence ton processus créatif ? Y a-t-il des endroits en particulier qui t’inspirent davantage ?

J’ai la chance de vivre à Londres, où je suis exposée à beaucoup d’art et de films intéressants. J’ai aussi tendance à y devenir claustrophobe et j’adore voyager et être à la campagne. J’aime passer du temps dans le Suffolk et le Dorset – c’est tellement libérateur, ça me remet les idées en place. Le fait de grandir en ville m’a un peu donné une image romantique de la campagne ! Le Louisiana Museum, juste à côté de Copenhague, fait partie des lieux les plus inspirants où je suis jamais allée ! La manière dont l’architecture, le paysage et l’art se fondent les uns dans les autres est tellement utopique.

D’où vient ton sens de la mode et du style, et est-ce que ton travail l’influence parfois ?

La plupart de mes vêtements sont d’occasion et viennent de magasins vintage et de charité. Je suis passée par une phase où j’ai collectionné beaucoup de robes à fines bretelles des années 1920 et j’adore trouver des vêtements vintage beaux et élégants, pour moi ou pour avoir des costumes à utiliser dans mon travail. J’aime aussi m’habiller parfois de manière plus décontractée. J’ai une énorme collection de pulls en cachemire, ils vont avec tout et ils sont très confortables et chauds ! Les soirées sont géniales, parce que bien s’habiller dans des robes bien taillées et faire des expériences maquillage peut être très drôle.

1 comment

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • Holiday Gifting
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
dore the outnet sophie auster

A Creative Life: Sophie & Spencer

Julie Houts Atelier Dore

The Crown Julie

Sag Harbor Summer

Sag Harbor Summer

A Brand and a Soul: Phillip Lim

A Brand and a Soul: Phillip Lim

Pardon my french pat cleveland garance dore photo

Embracing Your Freedom: Pat Cleveland

Mating in Captivity: Esther Perel

Mating in Captivity: Esther Perel

Friendship, Support and Self-Deprecation: Rose & Laura

Friendship, Support and Self-Deprecation: Rose & Laura

Episode 5: Art of Entertaining: Gad Elmaleh and Alireza Niroomand

Episode 5: Art of Entertaining: Gad Elmaleh and Alireza Niroomand

Pardon My French Garance Dore Isabel Marant Caroline de Maigret photo

Episode 4: La Parisienne with Isabel Marant & Caroline de Maigret

People Making Things

Talking Film with Director Jerusha West

3 months ago by

Talking Film with Director Jerusha West

We just launched Creativity Month here at the Atelier, and personally, I’m always the one who’s more interested in the making of a film than the actual film itself. I always want to ask a million questions about what prompted someone to create, why they picked one medium and not another, how they’re staying organized, and so on.

To look at the end piece feels like a reward, a reflection of a person’s hard work and all the decisions that went into it. So, when I got the opportunity to chat with, Filmmaker, Jerusha West about her work, I jumped on it.

I’ve known Jerusha for several years. An artist and London native, with her British accent and feminine silk dresses, she painted a picture of someone I wanted to be if I were ever to live in London (which was a childhood dream of mine, thanks to Sir Arthur Conan Doyle).

Now she’s working on her next project, a short film titled, “Solidago.” So of course, I couldn’t resist a friendly interrogation about all things creativity.

___________

Describe yourself (where you’re from, where do you live, what do you do).

I was born in South East London and grew up there. I went to Thomas Tallis School in Kidbrooke, before studying Art Foundation at Central St Martins. I then studied Painting at the Slade School of Fine Art, and graduated in 2017. I still live in London and work as an artist and filmmaker. I’m currently working on a short film called Solidago.

You are coming from an incredibly creative family with close ties to the theater world in London. What did you take from them?

I have a very big extended family, which includes some actors, as well as people with very different professions. I spent some time in theatres when I was younger. There is a theatrical element to some of my work, for instance in Solidago, there will be wooden set designs, and the film actually includes a theatre scene… however, I very rarely go to the theatre to be honest!

What prompted you to pick a different creative path and do art/film?

I wanted to be a midwife when I was 4 and shortly after that I decided on being an artist! I obsessively drew and painted. As I became older I got very into photography, but the medium became a bit ruined for me when the smartphone came along. I started writing a lot and sketching out film ideas when I was about 15, but had no idea then how I could turn them into actual films.

I learned so much in the painting department at the Slade. I spent the first few years there painting figuratively, however it always felt a little restricted. My tutors really encouraged me to embrace the fact that my practice was multidisciplinary.

I soon realised film was the thing that excited me the most – having such a broad and flexible practice. I find the film and painting relationship really interesting, there’s so many crossovers between the two mediums. I also find the collaborative part of film really exciting – amazing stuff can be created when you have musicians, choreographers, actors etc. all working together.

When did you feel the first urge to create art? How did that make you feel?

I’ve always made things, I guess it can be a very satisfying feeling when you finish something as a child and receive praise for it! When I was at school, it was very clear to me that I needed to be doing it. I think a degree in Fine Art can ruin that magical feeling that exists when you lack critical awareness. I spent a solid 4 years at the Slade having everything dissected and torn apart constantly – so you develop a much stronger, but way more complex and turbulent relationship with your work. It can be difficult at times, but ultimately makes you better at what you do.

You’ve already directed a few short films. Are there specific themes you like to portray? Why?

I am very interested in making work that explores folklore, ritualism and occultism. I’m also interested in our relationship with landscape and nature, particularly women in landscapes. Solidago stems from an ongoing investigation into these subjects, and also an interest in post 1900 communities, as well as memory, trauma and human interaction. My research shifts and changes though, and there’s lots of other ideas I have for future films, which could end up being quite different from this project, although certain themes and motifs always seem to repeat and reappear.

Where does your desire to work with those themes come from?

I’ve undertaken a lot of research into cultural and social disturbances; I wrote my dissertation on the Industrial Revolution and how it influenced the genre of Fairy Painting, comparing it to the Digital Revolution. I feel like there is a similar shift happening today with a surge in art and film, which is somewhat otherworldly or possesses some kind of mysticism or ‘otherness’. This interest partly comes from a desire to escape such a chaotic and confusing world, with so much political and environmental instability, and the madness of how quickly technology has evolved. I think the Digital Revolution has brought some benefits, but is really damaging to the brain, especially in younger people. I hope as a society we soon learn to control it.

In your most recent film, Solidago, which is in pre-production, I noticed so much solitude and melancholy in the script, and in your notes. This is essentially what womanhood feels like a lot of the time. Is this intentional?

Life can be incredibly sad and lonely, whatever your gender. Solidago focuses on a quite upsetting experience one particular woman goes through in the 1960s, and so naturally there will be a lot of sadness, and I am glad this comes through in the script. The film will focus on the abject female body, and how by being a woman, that inevitably comes with a lot of trauma and vulnerability.

There is so much focus on mainstream feminism in the Western world, which is wonderful as there are still so many issues with gender inequality over here, but I really hope the changes that are being made here can spread and improve situations for women in countries where being female is incredibly dangerous.

What does inspiration mean to you and how much do you rely on it in your work?

I think inspiration can come from anywhere. I find it important to see as much art and film as I can. I spend a lot of time at the Barbican and BFI cinemas. I often find museum shows and exhibits – a constant source of inspiration. I always find myself returning to the permanent Turner and William Blake rooms at the Tate Britain, and the mineral collection at the Natural History Museum. Alongside my film work, I continue a studio practice where I work with a range of mediums (drawing, painting, sculpture). Human relationships and interactions really interest me. I often keep notes of interactions I’ve had with people, bits of writing I come across, things I’ve heard.

Film is such a manipulative medium and can be so affecting at conveying subtext and all the meaningful and subtle communications and tensions that exist between us.

Which artists and filmmakers inspire you the most?

So many, but some include:
Filmmakers: Tarkovsky, Deniz Gamze Ergüven, Paul Wright, Lynne Ramsay, Sergei Parajanov.
Artists: Louise Bourgeois, Kai Althoff, Carol Rama, Franz West, Carolee Schneemann, Jonathan Meese, Valerie Kong.
I keep watching Maurice Sendak’s TateShots on YouTube, it’s so good!

Does the place you live affect your creative process? Are there particular places that inspire you the most?

I’m fortunate to live in London where I am exposed to so much interesting art and film. However, I do get claustrophobic here and really enjoy travelling and being in rural places. I love spending time in Suffolk and Dorset – it feels so liberating and really clears my head. Growing up in the city has made me romanticize the countryside a bit! One of the most inspiring places I’ve ever been to is the Louisiana Museum just outside Copenhagen. It’s so utopic in the way that it blends together architecture, landscape and art.

Where does your sense of fashion and style come from, and does your work ever influence it?

Most of my clothes are second hand, from vintage shops and charity shops. I went through a phase of collecting lots of 1920s slip dresses, and love finding beautiful and elegant bits of vintage clothing, for myself as well as costumes that could feature in my work. I also like to dress more casually sometimes. I have a big collection of cashmere jumpers that go with everything and are so comfortable and warm! I love the evening as it can be very fun to dress up in beautifully made dresses and really experiment with makeup.

___________

You can find more information on Jerusha’s upcoming film ‘Solidago’ and a fundraising campaign via this link. And, you can also find Solidago on Instagram here and Jerusha here!

0 comment

Add yours

From the Archives

Shoes!
  • Shoes!
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
DAD SNEAKERS

DAD SNEAKERS

The Shoes Have It

The Shoes Have It

Socks Atelier Dore

Sock it!

Mules Atelier Dore

Mules Made for Walking

If the Sneaker Fits

If the Sneaker Fits

Let it Slide

Let it Slide

fashion essential the espadrille atelier dore photo

The Espadrille

bye bye heels garance dore illustration

Bye Bye Heels

White Hot!

White Hot!