People Making Things

Joel Mesler’s Impromptu Portraiture

1 month ago by

Joel Mesler’s Impromptu Portraiture

Que ce soit dans les galeries de Chelsea, les murs du Met ou les trottoirs, il y a de l’art partout à New York. On trouve des artistes partout, même s’ils ne se présentent pas comme tels. A quelques kilomètres de la ville, on trouve un des artistes les plus radicaux et les plus prometteurs du milieu, Joel Mesler.

Mesler est un peintre et un galeriste installé à East Hampton. Ancien marchand d’art avec une galerie dans le Lower East Side, Mesler connaît bien le monde des artistes à New York puisqu’il a travaillé avec des artistes comme Henry Taylor ou Rashid Johnson au début de sa carrière.

Il y a deux ans, Mesler était présent à la NADA à Miami et c’est là que sa passion pour les portraits impromptus est née. Sa galerie était vide parce qu’il avait réussi à vendre rapidement toutes les oeuvres exposées. Pour décorer les murs blancs, Mesler a commencé à peindre des portraits des visiteurs de la foire, pour environ $100-$250 le portrait. Mesler organise maintenant des sessions de portraits pour le public dans les galeries, événements artistiques, et autres endroits bizarres.

Ce printemps, Mesler a rassemblé certains de ses portraits impromptus dans un livre avec une couverture blanche à $100, qui a servi de guide pour une session personnalisée de portraits pendant le trajet en ferry pour aller à Frieze.

Quelques jours avant, il a organisé une session de portraits dans le lobby du Mark Hotel, sur la base du premier arrivé, premier servi. Mesler est connu pour contredire ses capacités de peinture : “Je ne peins pas très bien, donc la ressemblance peut varier et je ne peux pas garantir que ça vous plaira. Merci de votre attention”, dit-il sur Instagram. Mesler a un style de peinture frais et non conventionnel, il poursuit la peinture moins comme une profession que comme une passion. Il a pour but de rendre son expérience artistique interactive et ses oeuvres accessibles à tous, pas seulement au 1% du monde de l’art mais à une nouvelle audience.

Suivez Joel Mesler sur Instagram pour connaître ses dernières oeuvres et avoir des nouvelles sur les prochaines séances de portraits !

Par Florence Finkelstein
Painting: Feelings par Joel Mesler

0 comment

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Shoes!
  • Shoes!
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
DAD SNEAKERS

DAD SNEAKERS

The Shoes Have It

The Shoes Have It

Socks Atelier Dore

Sock It!

Mules Atelier Dore

Mules Made for Walking

If the Sneaker Fits

If the Sneaker Fits

Let it Slide

Let it Slide

fashion essential the espadrille atelier dore photo

The Espadrille

bye bye heels garance dore illustration

Bye Bye Heels

White Hot!

White Hot!

People Making Things

Joel Mesler’s Impromptu Portraiture

2 years ago by

Joel Mesler’s Impromptu Portraiture

Whether it’s in the galleries of Chelsea, the walls of the MET, or on the sidewalk, New York City is erupting with art. Artists are everywhere, even if they don’t refer to themselves as artists. A few miles east of New York City is one of the most radical up-and-coming artists of the moment, Joel Mesler.

Mesler is a painter and gallerist based in East Hampton. Formerly an art dealer with a Lower East Side gallery, Mesler is very familiar with the New York art scene having worked with artists like Henry Taylor and Rashid Johnson in their early careers.

Two years ago, Mesler attended NADA Miami and his passion for impromptu portraiture began. His gallery’s booth was empty because he had quickly sold all of the works on display. To adorn the white walls of his booth for the remaining four days of the fair, Mesler began painting portraits of fair attendees for around $100-$250 a pop. Mesler now holds portrait sessions for the public at galleries, art events, and other quirky locations.

This spring, Mesler compiled some of his impromptu portraits into a book with a blank cover, where for $100, it acted as a canvas for a bespoke watercolor portrait available on the ferry ride to Frieze New York.

A few days before, he held a portrait painting session in the lobby of the Mark Hotel on a first-come-first-serve basis. Mesler is known for disclaiming his painting skills by saying, “I can’t paint so well, so likenesses vary and I can not guarantee you will like it either. Thank you for listening,” seen via Instagram. Mesler embraces his untrained, unconventional painting style and pursues it not as a profession but merely as a passion. His goal is to make his interactive art experience and works accessible to anyone, not solely the 1%, expanding the art world to a whole new audience.

Follow Joel Mesler on Instagram to keep up with his work and get updates on upcoming portrait sessions!

Written by Florence Finkelstein
Painting: Feelings by Joel Mesler

0 comment

Add yours

From the Archives

Friends!
  • Friends!
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
Holiday Gift Guide, For Your Girlfriends

Holiday Gift Guide, For Your Girlfriends

Magogodi Makhene, Wayétu Moore, female friendship, dore

How to Make Grown Woman Friendships—A Conversation with Wayétu Moore

Curating Copenhagen’s Art Scene: Kunstsalonen

Curating Copenhagen’s Art Scene: Kunstsalonen

atelier dore clothing renewal

Clothing Renewal

Carte Blanche: Turning a Creative Passion into a Business - Clare Vivier, Tina Frey and Ellen Marie Bennett garance dore pardon my french

Carte Blanche: Turning a Creative Passion into a Business

A Weekend With Disposable Magazine

A Weekend With Disposable Magazine

atelier dore 6 designers on creativity moodboard

7 Designers on When They Feel Most Creative

Sophie On Tour

Sophie On Tour

atelier dore studio visit streicher sisters striiike beauty

Three Sisters on Creative Entrepreneurship