In The Know

Karley Sciortino

11 months ago by

Karley Sciortino

Karley Sciortino est connue pour avoir joué avec le thème de la sexualité et le lien qu’elle entretient avec l’identité. Elle continue d’informer le grand public avec sa docu-série Slutever – en tant que créatrice et présentatrice, son travail se concentre sur la réinvention du mot “slut” mais aussi sur l’acceptation et les enseignements que l’on peut tirer des hauts et des bas en matière de sexualité, et de toutes ses complexités.

Mais cette fois-ci, Sciortino ne sera pas seulement devant l’objectif. Elle sera aussi en coulisses. Vous avez sûrement vu les pubs pour Now Apocalypse dans votre quartier ou même dans un post sponsorisé sur votre feed Instagram, mais si vous n’en avez pas entendu parler, c’est une nouvelle série sur Starz et Sciortino la décrit comme un “Sex in the City Queer qui rencontre Twin Peaks avec des extraterrestres”. Si ça, ça n’éveille pas votre curiosité, honnêtement, je ne sais pas ce qui le fera.

En collaborant avec le créateur de la série, Gregg Araki, Sciortino se réjouissait à l’idée d’explorer un nouveau médium. “J’écris des articles sur des sujets personnels et je fais du journalisme depuis si longtemps que j’en étais arrivée à un point où j’en avais un peu marre de moi-même et d’écrire sur mes sentiments. J’adore l’idée de créer des personnages et de mettre des mots dans la bouche des autres”, précise-t-elle.

Sciortino et Araki avaient déjà travaillé ensemble sur un projet qui n’avait malheureusement pas vu le jour. Ils ont réuni leurs deux visions pour créer une série sur cette période de la vie, plus précisément le début de la vingtaine, où l’on n’a aucune certitude. Les discussions tournent autour de la quête de l’identité sexuelle et essayent de définir ce qu’une relation devrait être. On est tous passés par là, non ?

Mais Sciortino tient à souligner que la sexualité dans la série a un véritable intérêt narratif. “La sexualité de quelqu’un vous en dit tellement sur ce qu’il ou elle est. Dans la série, les moments où les personnages évoluent le plus sont les scènes de sexe, et on les découvre sous un jour nouveau, ça ne serait pas possible avec une scène de dîner au restaurant.”

Même si elle ne sait pas si une troisième saison verra le jour, elle a hâte de pouvoir se lancer dans l’écriture de nouveaux scénarios, pour la télé ou pour le cinéma. Alors chaque dimanche, prenez votre dose de Sciortino avec sa personnalité pleine d’esprit et ses créations. Vous pouvez retrouver les premiers épisodes de la saison 2 de Slutever (et découvrir les prochains) sur Viceland. Et pour Now Apocalypse, jetez un oeil sur Starz !

Écrit par Samaris Pagan

1 comment

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

This or That
  • This or That
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
atelier dore this or that summer sandals chunky sandals vs. delicate sandals

This or That / Sandal Edition

This or That: American or Française?

This or That: American or Française?

atelier dore this or that lingerie lace or cotton sex month

This or That / Lingerie Edition

This or That / Blush vs. Bronzer

This or That / Blush vs. Bronzer

This or That: The Beanie

This or That: The Beanie

This or That: Nails

This or That: Nails

This or That

This or That

This Or That

This Or That

Silja Danielsen Photo

This Or That: Low Knot or Top Knot

In The Know

Karley Sciortino

6 months ago by

Karley Sciortino

Karley Sciortino is known for playing with the theme of sex and its connection to identity. She continues to inform the masses with her docu-series Slutever–as creator and host, she looks to reinvent the word “slut,” but also to accept and learn from the ups and downs of sex and all of its complexities.

This time around though, Sciortino won’t just be on the in front of the camera – she’ll also be behind the scenes. You’ve probably seen the ads for Now Apocalypse around your neighborhood or even sponsored on your Instagram feed, but if you haven’t, it’s a new show on Starz that Sciortino describes as a “Queer Sex in the City meets Twin Peaks with aliens.” If that doesn’t spark your interest, I honestly don’t know what will.

Collaborating with creator Gregg Araki, Sciortino was excited to explore a new medium for herself. She elaborates, “I’ve been writing personal essays and doing journalism for so long that I was a bit sick of myself and writing about my feelings. I love the idea of creating characters and putting words into other people’s mouths.”

Having previously worked together on a project that, unfortunately, didn’t see the light of day, Sciortino and Araki united their perspectives to create a show about that period in your life, specifically your early 20’s, where everything is a question mark. Discussions revolve around trying to figure out one’s sexual identity, and working through what relationships should look/ feel like. Haven’t we all been there?

But Sciortino wants to emphasize that the sex in the show isn’t just filler. “Someone’s sexuality tells you so much about who they are. A lot of the character development that happens in the show is during the sexual moments, and you see a different side of them that you wouldn’t necessarily see in a restaurant scene.”

Although she doesn’t know if a third season of Slutever will happen, she’s looking forward to explore more screenwriting opportunities, both for TV and movies. Every Sunday, get your dose of Sciortino with her witty personality and writings. You can catch up on Season 2 of Slutever (and expect new episodes) on Viceland. And for Now Apocalypse, check it out on Starz!

Written by Samaris Pagan

0 comment

Add yours

From the Archives

Career Stories
  • Career Stories
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
On Career…

On Career…

dore career profile elizabeth roberts architect

Career / Elizabeth Roberts

10 Rules of Being A Creative

10 Rules of Being A Creative

atelier dore 5 women on monetizing creativity shapes

5 Women on Monetizing Creativity

atelier dore jamia wilson career interview feminist press

Career / Jamia Wilson

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

Will Guidara Daniel Humm Atelier Dore

Will Guidara and Daniel Humm Make It Nice

private investigator atelier dore

Careers / Private Investigator

Career / BJ Topol

Career / BJ Topol