Monthly Good

March for Our Lives

2 years ago by

March for Our Lives

J’ai regardé le discours d’Emma Gonzales “We Call BS,” les larmes aux yeux, et lu avec émotion chaque mot de Cameron Kasky dans son article pour CNN. Je me suis souvenue des exercices de confinement dans mon école, avec cette peur sourde qui vous étreint de savoir que « cette fois, c’est peut-être la bonne. »

Quand le massacre de Columbine a eu lieu, des mesure radicales auraient dû être prises immédiatement, pour réformer les lois sur le port d’armes aux Etats-Unis, comme ça avait été fait après le massacre de Dunblane en Grande-Bretagne. Mais au lieu de ça, cette conviction que les mots « sécurité » et « école » sont deux concepts qui coïncident forcément a été mise à mal de façon cauchemardesque.

Après la tuerie de Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School le mois dernier, les élèves et familles touchés par cette tragédie nous demandent à tous de participer à une March For Our Lives (Marche pour nos vies). Ces tragédies qui se succèdent ne doivent plus constituer l’ordinaire de la vie aux Etats-Unis. Des milliers de personnes défileront donc dans les rues de Washington et d’autres villes du monde le 24 mars pour que la vie et la sécurité deviennent une priorité et que soit mis un terme à cette épidémie de massacres.

On s’est tous déjà réfugié derrière l’excuse « Mais moi, toute seule, je ne peux pas changer les choses ». En 2018, je pense qu’on sait tous que c’est possible. Une fois encore, à Emma Gonzales et aux autres voix héroïques qui s’élèvent, je voudrais envoyer mes applaudissements, mes félicitations, mes accolades, mes remerciements pour avoir osé vous exprimer avec tant de maturité en faveur d’un changement positif pour que les écoles restent des lieux sûrs pour nos élèves et professeurs. Il y aura 658 marches dans le monde, je vous invite à cliquer ici pour trouver celle qui se tiendra près de chez vous.

Cienna Fernandez
____________________

Cienna est l’une de nos fabuleuses stagiaires, en dernière année à The New School. Toute l’équipe de l’Atelier marchera samedi pour elle et tous les élèves qui méritent de se sentir en sécurité à l’école.

0 comment

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Bags!
  • Bags!
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
An Ode to… the Little Black Bag

An Ode to… the Little Black Bag

atelier dore lo & sons napa Michele Ouellet

When in Napa…

Hayward House

Hayward House

ATELIER DORÉ X FEED

ATELIER DORÉ X FEED

At the Market

At the Market

L.O.N.B.

L.O.N.B.

Mini Bag, Big Bang

Mini Bag, Big Bang

The Envelope Clutch

The Envelope Clutch

goods the rounded bag alyssa digiovanna garance dore photo

The Rounded Bag

Monthly Good

March for Our Lives

3 years ago by

March for Our Lives

A note from our intern, Cienna…

I sat with tears in my eyes from every word spoken by Emma Gonzales during her speech, “We Call BS,” and every word written by Cameron Kasky in his article on CNN. I remembered what it was like being on lockdown in school, and the freight that came with thinking ‘maybe it’s real this time.’

When mass-tragedy struck the Columbine High community, immediate, radical actions should have been made towards reforming U.S. gun laws like what was done after the Dunblane Massacre in Great Britain. Instead my understanding that “safe” and “school” are two words that would always coincide with one another has turned to a nightmare in which they don’t.

In wake of the Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School shooting last month, the kids and families affected by this tragedy have asked us all to come out and March For Our Lives. All of these tragedies can no longer be just another day of reality in the United States of America. Many will take to the streets of Washington DC and other cities around the globe on March 24th to demand that their lives and safety become a priority and that we end this epidemic of mass school shootings.

I’m sure we’ve all used the “I’m just one person, I can’t make a difference” excuse before. But in 2018, I think we all know we can. So one more time, to Emma Gonzales and every other heroic voice, I send you snaps and claps, hugs and praise for speaking out with a resilience to encourage positive change and thus keeping our students, teachers, and schools safe. There will be 658 marches worldwide, so I encourage you to click here to find the march nearest you.

Cienna Fernandez

____________________

Cienna is one of our phenomenal interns and a senior at The New School. The Atelier will be marching on Saturday for her and all other students who deserve to feel safe in school.

0 comment

Add yours

From the Archives

This or That
  • This or That
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
atelier dore this or that summer sandals chunky sandals vs. delicate sandals

This or That / Sandal Edition

This or That: American or Française?

This or That: American or Française?

atelier dore this or that lingerie lace or cotton sex month

This or That / Lingerie Edition

This or That / Blush vs. Bronzer

This or That / Blush vs. Bronzer

This or That: The Beanie

This or That: The Beanie

This or That: Nails

This or That: Nails

This or That

This or That

This Or That

This Or That

Silja Danielsen Photo

This Or That: Low Knot or Top Knot