People Making Things

McBride Sisters

3 years ago by

McBride Sisters

Le mois dernier, on a pendu la crémaillère dans notre nouvel Atelier, et pour accompagner le repas cuisiné avec talent par Alison Roman, il nous fallait quelques bons crus. Etant la spécialiste en vin ici, (un rôle que je prends très au sérieux), je me suis donné pour mission de trouver un producteur qui serait parfait porter des toasts mais aussi pour accompagner les plats… et je voulais que ce soit une maison spéciale, compte tenu de l’occasion. Grâce aux conseils de mes amis foodies, j’ai fait la connaissance des McBride Sisters, qui produisent de délicieux vins mais ont aussi une histoire assez spéciale.

Les sœurs McBride, Andréa et Robin, ont grandi séparément, l’une en Californie, l’autre en Nouvelle-Zélande, et n’ont appris leur existence réciproque qu’en 1999. Le truc encore plus fou c’est que chacune d’elle, de son côté, avait développé une passion pour le vin… et après avoir fait connaissance, elles ont su qu’il fallait qu’elles créent une maison inspirée par la rencontre de leurs deux univers… ce qu’elles font à travers leur collection, un mélange d’élégance à l’ancienne et de finesse contemporaine.

Parmi leur sélection actuelle, un Sauvignon blanc et un brut rosé (qui ont fait un tabac pendant le dîner !) de Nouvelle-Zélande, un Chardonnay et un rouge (mon préféré) de Californie. Moi, je pense qu’il faut toujours boire des vins qu’on aime… mais quand ils racontent une belle histoire, c’est encore plus fabuleux (et ça donne le droit de boire un verre de plus, non ?).

Un grand merci aux McBride Sisters pour leur contribution à cette occasion spéciale !

Pour découvrir leur histoire et shopper leur sélection, c’est par ici.

2 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

This or That
  • This or That
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
atelier dore this or that summer sandals chunky sandals vs. delicate sandals

This or That / Sandal Edition

This or That: American or Française?

This or That: American or Française?

atelier dore this or that lingerie lace or cotton sex month

This or That / Lingerie Edition

This or That / Blush vs. Bronzer

This or That / Blush vs. Bronzer

This or That: The Beanie

This or That: The Beanie

This or That: Nails

This or That: Nails

This or That

This or That

This Or That

This Or That

Silja Danielsen Photo

This Or That: Low Knot or Top Knot

People Making Things

McBride Sisters

3 years ago by

McBride Sisters

Last month we hosted a housewarming party here at the Atelier and needed complementary wine to round out Alison Roman’s home-cooked meal. As the Atelier’s resident wine snob (a job I take quite seriously, btw), I made it my mission to find a producer that’d be perfect for not only countless toasts but also course pairings — and I wanted one that was special, given the occasion. With a little guidance from my foodie friends, I was introduced to the McBride Sisters, who not only produce a beautiful wine collection but have an incredible story of their own.

The McBride sisters, Andréa and Robin, grew up in separate worlds – one in California, the other in New Zealand – not knowing about each other until they were united in 1999. The crazy thing about their story is that they had each developed a knack for winemaking independently, and after meeting they knew they were meant to create a wine collection inspired by their own history of worlds colliding…. which they do with their collection – an amazing blend of old elegance and new world finesse.

Their current collection includes a Sauvignon Blanc and Brut Rosé (a huuuuuge hit at our dinner!) from New Zealand; and a Chardonnay and Red Blend (my own personal fave) from California. Now, I’m a big believer that you should always love the glass of wine you’re drinking… but knowing there’s an inspiring story behind it just gives you that little extra wine-glow (and makes it OK to have just one more glass, right?).

Special Thanks to the McBride Sisters for being a part of our celebration!

Check out their story and shop their collection here.

2 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Morocco!
  • Morocco!
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
Vicki Archer Atelier Dore

Vicki in Morocco

Style Story/ Cyrielle & Julien

Style Story/ Cyrielle & Julien

Georgia on the Go

Georgia on the Go

Atelier Doré à Marrakech

Atelier Doré à Marrakech

Printed Paradise

Printed Paradise

Marrakech Style!

Marrakech Style!

The Art of Storytelling in Marrakech

The Art of Storytelling in Marrakech