Mini City Guide

Portsmouth, New Hampshire

3 months ago by

Portsmouth, New Hampshire

Ça fait onze ans que je passe mes étés dans le New Hampshire. Loin de la vie citadine, le New Hampshire est endroit plein de nature et en plus, c’est là qu’il y avait ma colo d’été quand j’étais enfant.

Enfant, quand j’arrivais en colo, je rentrais dans une bulle et j’étais très heureuse de ne jamais en sortir. Mais plus tard, quand j’y travaillais (et si certains d’entre vous ont déjà été animateurs de colo, vous savez à quel point ça peut être épuisant et usant !), j’ai commencé à rechercher désespérément un peu de liberté hors de la bulle. Je savourais mes précieux jours de liberté et je les utilisais pour explorer les villes environnantes.

Portsmouth est ma ville préférée au New Hampshire. Portsmouth est une ville balnéaire historique et une destination populaire auprès des touristes sur la rivière Piscataqua, à la limite avec le Maine. Mais c’est vraiment un autre monde, où de grands amateurs de granola en short et sandales Teva viennent savourer la cuisine, l’artisanat local et une ambiance de ville balnéaire un peu désuète. C’est très loin des clichés désagréables sur la vie dans les petites villes, avec une riche communauté progressive et une impression de culture et de population locale unique.

Et commençons par mon sujet préféré, la nourriture ! Le meilleur restaurant à Portsmouth, et, j’irais même jusqu’à dire dans tout l’état (peut-être même le meilleur restaurant au monde, mais certains pourraient ne pas être d’accord, ahah), c’est The Green Elephant. Décrit comme “un bistrot et bar d’inspiration asiatique, fait avec amour”, The Green Elephant offre à la population locale des produits et des saveurs venus de Thaïlande, de Malaisie, de Chine et d’Inde, le tout dans un menu végétarien où chacun peut trouver son bonheur. Chaque plat est tellement savoureux et riche en textures que même les plats les plus ennuyeux semblent enthousiasmants… comme les choux de Bruxelles, un favori du public de manière surprenante.
Parmi mes autres spots préférés pour manger : The Friendly Toast, Elephantine Bakery (en continuant sur le thème éléphant) et Annabelle’s Natural Ice Cream.

Je voudrais aussi mentionner deux boutiques incroyables. Ces deux-là m’ont tout de suite attirée avec leur superbe collection d’art et de produits soigneusement sélectionnés.

Nahcotta est une boutique / galerie qui abrite des artistes contemporains et originaux du monde entier, en plus de cadeaux modernes, innovants et bien conçus. Nahcotta abrite l’Enormous Tiny Art Show et une très belle collection de bijoux, papeterie, produits pour la maison et d’oeuvres d’art qui mérite largement une visite.

Gus & Ruby est une autre perle de Portsmouth, un studio de design et d’impression et un magasin. Quand je suis passée devant leur boutique à Portsmouth, j’ai vraiment fait une pause. L’entrée est décorée avec mon péché mignon, des fleurs et des cadeaux, et je n’arrivais pas à ne pas rentrer (même si nous étions en retard et malgré mes amis qui me pressaient). Cette boutique est pleine de jolis produits de beauté et de beaux stylos… Je n’ai pas pu m’empêcher de repartir avec un carnet Moglea et un set de stylos Tombow.

Même si on approche de la fin de l’été et que les nuages sombres de la réalité s’approchent, vous avez encore le temps de partir en voyage avec des copines ou un partenaire. Et si vous songez à partir en voyage et que vous voulez profiter pleinement de votre été avec une dernière expérience de plage relaxante et pittoresque, alors je vous recommande vivement de partir à Portsmouth, dans le New Hampshire. Et tant que vous y êtes, passez la nuit dans un bus scolaire et allez vous balader dans les White Mountains. Ça semble peut-être un peu fou mais je crois que c’est à faire ! Et pourquoi pas ? C’est le but de la Slow Life, non ? :)

0 comment

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Holiday Gifting
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
Hill City

Hill City

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

lessons in gifting steven alan presents expert series garance dore photos

Lessons In… Gifting

Mini City Guide

Portsmouth, New Hampshire

1 month ago by

Portsmouth, New Hampshire

For the past eleven years, I’ve spent my summers in New Hampshire. An escape from city life, not only is New Hampshire filled with nature, it is also home to my childhood summer camp.

As a camper, I would arrive at camp and enter a bubble that I was more than happy to never leave. But, as a staffer (and if any of you have ever worked as a camp counselor before, you’ll know how exhausting and draining it can be!), I began to desperately crave freedom from the bubble. I’d savor my precious days off and use them to explore the surrounding towns.

My absolute favorite New Hampshire town to visit is Portsmouth. Portsmouth is a historic seaport and a popular summer tourist destination on the Piscataqua River, bordering the state of Maine. But really, it’s a whole other world where crunchy-granola folks in cut-offs and Teva sandals come to enjoy cuisine, local crafts, and the quaint beach-town vibes. It veers far from the negative stereotypes of small-town life, with a vibrant and perogressive community with a unique feeling of local culture and local people.

Let’s begin with my favorite topic, food! The best restaurant in Portsmouth, and I would venture to say in the whole state (maybe even the best restaurant ever, but some may argue with me on that one, haha), is The Green Elephant. Described as an “Asian-inspired vegetarian bistro and bar, made with love,” The Green Elephant sources and provides local produce uniting ingredients and flavors from Thailand, Malaysia, China and India, into a meat-free menu with something for everyone. Each dish is so packed full with flavors and textures that even the most seemingly boring dishes are exciting… like the brussel sprouts, which are an unexpected favorite.
Other favorite bite spots are: The Friendly Toast, Elephantine Bakery (to go along with the elephant theme) and Annabelle’s Natural Ice Cream.

I also want to mention two amazing stores. These two, in particular, immediately drew me in with their beautifully curated collection of art and products.

Nahcotta, is a gallery/ boutique which provides a space for original, contemporary art from artists all over the world, alongside modern, innovative, well-designed gifts. Home to the Enormous Tiny Art Show, Nahcotta hosts a beautifully sleek collection of jewelry, stationary, homegoods and art that is so worth a visit in its own right.

Another Portsmouth gem is Gus & Ruby, a custom design/ print studio and duo of brick & mortar retail stores. When I passed by their store in Portsmouth, I literally did a double take. The entrance is decorated with my greatest weaknesses, flowery stationery and gifts, and I couldn’t be stopped from walking in (even though we were running late and my friends were rushing me). The store is packed full with charming beauty products and pretty pens… I couldn’t help but leave with a notebook by Moglea and a set of Tombow pens.

Although the summer is coming to an end, and the dark clouds of reality are looming, there is still time for one last trip with your girlfriends or your significant other. And if you are considering taking a trip and want your summer to culminate in one last relaxing, beachy, and quaint experience, then I highly recommend you take a trip to Portsmouth, NH. And while you’re at it, spend the night in a school bus and take a hike in the white mountains! It may sound crazy, but I think it’s something worth doing! Why not? Isn’t that what “Slow Living” is all about, anyways? :)

Written by Nina Sivan
Photo by Ronan Donovan for National Geographic

0 comment

Add yours

From the Archives

Career Stories
  • Career Stories
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
On Career…

On Career…

dore career profile elizabeth roberts architect

Career / Elizabeth Roberts

10 Rules of Being A Creative

10 Rules of Being A Creative

atelier dore 5 women on monetizing creativity shapes

5 Women on Monetizing Creativity

atelier dore jamia wilson career interview feminist press

Career / Jamia Wilson

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

CAREER / LYDIA FENET

Will Guidara Daniel Humm Atelier Dore

Will Guidara and Daniel Humm Make It Nice

private investigator atelier dore

Careers / Private Investigator

Career / BJ Topol

Career / BJ Topol