The Vent

The New Sex and the City?

3 months ago by

The New Sex and the City?

Avant même d’emménager à New York, j’avais entendu plein d’histoires – “À la minute où tu quittes New York, tu rencontres la bonne personne et tu vis heureux avec beaucoup d’enfants.”

Mais, qu’est-ce qui se passe quand on vit encore à New York et qu’on essaie d’affronter le monde de la drague ? Eh bien, beaucoup de choses…

La vie à New York est, dès le début, pleine de challenges. Trop de monde, des odeurs désagréables, des petits appartements avec des loyers déments. Et si on rajoute la drague en plus ? Ça peut faire parfois faire trop. Et, avec la drague, on retrouve les facteurs de stress habituels : “Mon dieu, qu’est-ce que je vais mettre ?” “Est-ce que je peux lui envoyer ça par texto ?” “Il vient de m’envoyer ce texto, qu’est-ce que je réponds ?!” et le manque de confiance en soi qui peut vite vous étouffer s’il ne répond pas en moins d’une heure (et en vrai, ce n’est rien une heure, ça prouve juste que tout le monde est en permanence accroché à son téléphone).

Toujours les mêmes questions. Quand vous êtes dans un bar avec vos copines, que vous êtes très célibataire et que vous vous demandez où sont les mecs célibataires. Dans un bar relax à Brooklyn ? Où est-ce qu’ils traînent, comment faire pour les rencontrer ? Et pourtant, que ce soit grâce à des amis d’amis, la chance, une appli de rencontre ou d’une autre manière, vous allez finir par fréquenter quelqu’un, et c’est ce qui m’amène à mon point suivant.

Pendant les 4 années que j’ai passées à New York, j’ai fréquenté environ 5 mecs, aucun n’est resté mais ils m’ont tous appris quelque chose sur le monde de la drague.

Cas #1 : Celui qui n’est pas disponible émotionnellement
Je l’ai rencontré il y a deux ans, grâce à des amis d’amis. Ça faisait un an que je n’avais rencontré personne. Il était génial. Il m’envoyait des messages mignons, il est venu à ma soirée d’anniversaire avec tous mes amis, il a passé la Saint Valentin avec moi et il m’a offert un cadeau. Je me suis dit que j’étais très chanceuse, j’avais enfin rencontré à New York quelqu’un qui me plaisait (et à qui je plaisais ?) ! Si on accélère à quelques mois plus tard, on nous retrouve assis sur son perron et il me dit “Je ne peux pas et je ne serai jamais” en couple. Comme si j’étais une sorte de négociation d’affaires qui aurait planté.

Ce n’était pas du tout la fin de notre histoire. Bien sûr, j’ai immédiatement rompu avec lui. Mais non, ce n’est pas la dernière fois dont j’ai entendu parler de lui. Il m’a même dit que je lui plaisais plus que sa copine avec laquelle il était resté quatre ans mais il ne pouvait tout simplement pas être en couple. Connard.

Cas #2 : Souvent, ils reviennent
Il y a quelques semaines, j’étais avec des amis dans un bar, nous parlions rencontre et nous avons parlé de tous les mecs qui sont revenus. Il ne s’était rien passé de sérieux avec eux, nous avions perdu contact, les choses s’étaient tassées toutes seules ou bien l’un d’entre nous n’avait jamais répondu à l’autre. Ça laissait les choses ouvertes, et donc la possibilité pour eux de revenir dans nos vies. Il peut se passer toute une année sans entendre parler de cette personne et puis un jour, vous regardez votre téléphone et BAM, les voilà. Oui, ils sont toujours en vie. La dernière fois, c’était un texto de quelqu’un dont je n’avais pas entendu parler depuis plus de 9 mois qui disait “Toujours envie de toi…” Hummm??

Case #3 : Le satellite
Il a cessé de vous écrire sans raison apparente mais il continue à être très intéressé par ce que vous faites. Il va liker toutes vos photos sur Instagram, regarder toutes vos stories mais sans jamais vous contacter. Sa présence est en orbite, mais il n’est pas là. Et c’est ce qui m’amène à mon dernier coup de coeur, qui a duré 2 mois. Tout avait commencé avec des dîners et des verres, ce qui avait conduit à un mariage dans les Hamptons, à la rencontre de son frère, à une soirée avec lui et mes amis et ainsi de suite. Et puis un jour, il cesse de vous contacter mais il est toujours là… en orbite, mais silencieux.

Et j’en viens aussi à la constatation que les gens à New York adoooorent les fins ouvertes. Peut-être parce qu’ils ne rencontrent personne d’autre, ils s’ennuient à un moment et pensent à vous (la liste des raisons est infinie). Et, comme rien ne s’était jamais passé entre vous et qu’il n’y avait jamais eu de fin, il peut revenir sans problème dans votre vie.

Avec les options infinies d’activités dans cette ville qui ne dort pas, de nouvelles personnes à rencontrer, de nouveaux restaurants à essayer, de nouveaux bars à découvrir, et les fêtes où il faut aller… je me posais la question : est qu’il n’y aurait tout simplement pas trop d’options et que, pour finir, ça ne nous en laisse aucune ?

2 comments

Ajouter le votre
  • Jorge Alexandre Teixeira 8 mai 2019, 2:45 / Répondre

    Anonymous member of the Atelier Doré community,you’re funny as hell and i think in a way or another, we all relate to what you said being from a city always on the moove! Boy or Girl !!!

    Beijinho de Lisboa !!!

  • siramanga 9 mai 2019, 9:40 / Répondre

    totally in line with the Jorge’s comment : who are you anonymous member of the Atelier Doré? I enjoyed your writing so much ! witty, fun. It’s not even sarcastic. Maaaan, guys in NYC are so weird. I don’t know if it’s something related to NYC but they sound or look like quite undecided little boys/teenagers, who think they may be funny or irressistible ? Well, I hope that they can decide which underpant they will wear on mornings

From the Archives

La Plage
  • La Plage
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned

Beach on the Brain

atelier dore market story hats summer swim

Summer Hats

The Surf Lodge

The Surf Lodge

Net A Porter Atelier Dore

A L.A. Holiday

Down to Earth Swim

Down to Earth Swim

The Sun

The Sun

Sun

Sun

body happy garance dore photo

Body Happy

Beach Bum

Beach Bum

The Vent

The New Sex and the City?

6 months ago by

The New Sex and the City?

Before I even moved to New York, I’d already heard countless stories– “once you leave the city, you meet the one and live happily ever after.”

But, what happens when you still live in New York and are trying to tackle the dating scene?? Well, there’s a lot…

Living in New York comes with challenges already. There’s too many people, the terrible smells, the tiny apartments with the sky rocket rents. Now, adding dating into the mix?! It can sometimes feel overwhelming. With dating, comes the usual stressors: “omg what do I wear?” “Can I text this?” “He just texted me this, what do I say back?!” and the constant self-doubt that can easily wash over you should he not text you back in under an hour (which is actually nothing and this is just a testament to how everyone is overly glued to their phones).

There’s the same old questions. When you’re sitting with your girlfriends at a bar very single and wondering, where are the single men? Are they in Brooklyn at some chill bar? Where do they hang out and how can I meet them? Eventually though, whether it be through friends of friends, chance, a dating app or some other way, you’ll end up dating someone, which in turn brings me to my next point.

In the 4 years that I’ve lived in New York, I’ve dated 5 or so guys, none of whom lasted, but all of whom taught me something about the dating scene.

Case #1: The Emotionally Unavailable
About 2 years ago, I met him through friends of friends. I hadn’t met anyone in a year. He was great. He sent me cute text messages, came to my birthday party with all my friends, took me out on Valentine’s Day and bought me a present. I thought to myself, I’m so lucky, I finally found someone in New York that I actually like (and likes me?)! Flash forward a few months, we’re sitting on his stoop when he tells me, “I can’t and I won’t” be in a relationship. As if I’m some business deal gone wrong.

This wasn’t the end of our story by any means. Yes, I did break it off right then and there. And no, that’s not the last time I heard from him. He even told me he liked me more than his ex girlfriend of four years, but he just couldn’t be in a relationship. Fucker.

Case #2: More often than not, they come back.
I was sitting at a bar with my friend a few weeks ago, discussing dating and all the guys who have come back. Nothing serious ever happened with them, we lost touch, things fizzled out or one of us never answered the other. This leaves things open ended and thus, the ability for them to come back into our lives. Even a year can go by without hearing from this person, yet one day, you look down at your phone and BAM, there they are. Yes, they’re still alive. Latest case in point was a text from someone I hadn’t heard from in over 9 months saying, “Still craving you…” Ummmm??

Case #3: The Oribter
He stopped texting you for no apparent reason, yet he’s still very interested in what you’re doing. He’ll like all your pictures on Instagram, he’ll watch all your stories, yet he’ll never reach out. His presence is orbiting you, but he’s not there. This brings me to my latest fling of 2 months. It all started over dinner and drinks, which led to a trip to the Hamptons and meeting his brother, which led to him going out with my friends, and so on. Then one day, you never hear from him again, yet he’s still there… he orbits you, but stays silent.

This also brings me back to the point that people in New York just loooove to leave things open ended. Perhaps, they don’t meet anyone else, or are bored one day and think of you (the reasons are endless). Yet, since nothing ever happened between you two and you never had an ending, they can waltz right back into your life.

With the countless options of things to do in this sleepless city, new people to meet, new restaurants to try, new bars to check out and more parties to hit… I couldn’t help but wonder: are there just too many options that it actually leaves us with none at all?

*This piece was written by an anonymous member of the Atelier Doré community.

2 comments

Add yours
  • Jorge Alexandre Teixeira May, 8 2019, 2:45 / Reply

    Anonymous member of the Atelier Doré community,you’re funny as hell and i think in a way or another, we all relate to what you said being from a city always on the moove! Boy or Girl !!!

    Beijinho de Lisboa !!!

  • siramanga May, 9 2019, 9:40 / Reply

    totally in line with the Jorge’s comment : who are you anonymous member of the Atelier Doré? I enjoyed your writing so much ! witty, fun. It’s not even sarcastic. Maaaan, guys in NYC are so weird. I don’t know if it’s something related to NYC but they sound or look like quite undecided little boys/teenagers, who think they may be funny or irressistible ? Well, I hope that they can decide which underpant they will wear on mornings

From the Archives

Holiday Gifting
  • Holiday Gifting
  • DORÉ x THE OUTNET
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Hill City: The Gift That Keeps On Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

lessons in gifting steven alan presents expert series garance dore photos

Lessons In… Gifting